We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #24 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of Sept-13. Hotel is in an excellent location, clean modern rooms, lovely buffet breakfast and good value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful and even printed our boarding cards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin18_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Spent three nights here on a weekend break and it was lovely. Room was great...clean , modern etc. Everything in order. Agree completely with others that the breakfasts are really, really good, with plenty of choice for anyone. Definitely worth having. Didn't use the hotel restaurant though.We took the metro from the airport (less than 3 euros 50 ), then a five minute walk to the hotel. The Elevador de Santa Justa is just across the square outside the hotel. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and all spoke really good English. The location of the hotel is excellent as a base for sightseers. It was also very quiet at night, facilitating a good night's sleep in the comfy beds! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and me spent 5 nights in this so new hotel where everything was perfect: the location (it is in the centre of the city and close to its main attractions, it is close to 2 metro-stations and to the Rossio railway station, from which you can go almost everywhere), the room (clean, elegant, modern and well designed), the bed (super-large and super-comfortable), the bathroom (with a "rain-effect" shower..), the breakfast (wih a huge selection of eveything), the staff (young, friendly, kind and efficient).
Ask for a room on the upper floors - if possible with balcony - from which you can enjoy a nice view of the city, and of the castel (specally at night), and of the so pleasant square below.
On our arrival we were invited to a welcome-drink in their bar/resturant located in the facing square. This square is very quiet (no cars) and very nice at night when musicians played pleasant musics. In the square you can find one of the most suggestive building of Lisbon: the Igreja do Carmo and close to it, in the below rua Garrett, Santini where we tasted one of the most delicious ice cream we have ever eaten.
I reccommend this hotel: if again in Lisbon, this will be again my first choice!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones on the 3rd floor (the 3rd one above the groung floor) which have a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Carmo hotel is on one corner of the Largo do Carmo, with the Elevador de Santa Justa at the other corner, and the Rossio station a five minute walk away - a great location and a lovely place to rest after a hard day of sightseeing. The staff were consistently friendly and attentive, even booking us a table for dinner. We had a room on the third floor which had a small balcony and a curious 'glass wall' to the bathroom! Extremely comfortable beds, and the breakfast buffet was fresh and had good variety. In summary, an excellent base for exploring this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We started well, our taxi driver said it was an excellent hotel and very central, and he was spot on. The room was well appointed, very comfortable, good wifi reception and quiet considering this hotel is on a square with lots of activity. The great idea of giving a complimentary welcome drink and taken on the Largo do Carmo watching the people was a good way of getting acclimatised on our first visit to this city. The position here is good because everything is within walking distance and the hills were not as bad as expected. The breakfast was lovely with everything fresh and the freshly baked pasteis were excellent, and plentyful. The reception was efficient and english speaking. Will stay here next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here recently. Super location, staff was amazing and pretty much everyone spoke English. they were super attentive and helpful (which seemed pretty consistent across Portugal with folks we came in contact with) Close to elevator, shopping, street cars, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wende N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Don't let the exterior fool you, this hotel is a pearl! This is a 4 star hotel, and deserves every one of them. We were 5 couples staying for 3 nights, and had a wonderful time. The hotel is "squeesed in" on a corner between old appartment houses, but when inside, you'll see why it's a 4 star. Our rooms were generous in size, and discreet, but elegant decorated, To be a town hotel, the streets were very quiet, and no noise from outside reached our rooms. The AC was very effective and quiet.

On arrival we were invited for a welcoming drink in their outdoor bar/restaurant across the street. We had breakfast at the hotel, but no other meals. The breakfast was close to outstanding. The staff was, like all over Portugal, very friendly, serviceminded and professional.

The hotel is situated by a square a 10 mn walk up hill from the Rossio square, in the very centre of Lisboa. If you find the walk up from Rossio too steep, you may take the Santa Justa elevator almost up to the hotel's level. Within 10-15 mn walk from the hotel you will find every kind of restaurant you could wish for.

This is a hotel we would love to visit again, and can give our best recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#35 of 255 in Lisbon
846 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#53 of 255 in Lisbon
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 255 in Lisbon
1,523 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#62 of 255 in Lisbon
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £106 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing