We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Picton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Even though the hotel is in a busy area of town the room was quiet. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. All of the staff spoke some English so it was easy to be understood. The breakfast was included and was excellent with hot and cold buffet, as well as lots of fruit, which you don't usually get. We ate one supper there, which was very good.
The only negative was the room size. But I understand European rooms are typically small.
We were able to walk to some of the attractions and got on a hop on hop off bus not far from the hotel? I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. There are other restaurants near by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mplegere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    248
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
152
580
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have just got back from spending four days in Lisbon, staying at this hotel. We spent ages choosing the right hotel and decided to go for this one as it looked great online and had good reviews and after all it is a 4 star!
The reviews do not warn you that if you catch the airport shuttle bus to the main square and decide to walk to the hotel that there are some incredibly steep hills to climb with your luggage!
We were given room 105 which was extremely small for a twin room - the beds were touching and there was no room to walk around. There was next to no storage in the room - the wardrobe looked promising but due to poor workmanship the two drawers would not open because the door wasn't aligned properly.
The big disappointment was the bathroom as it looked amazing - very stylish..... sadly the shower was tricky to operate which meant that you got soaked from the rain style shower from above as you tried to work out which dial worked which handset! Once working the shower was good - apart from the fact that it soaked the bathroom floor.
The toilet also leaked.....
Lovely hotel - polite staff - just disappointing room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Golfgirlie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 4 nights in mid-February in a room with 2 twin beds. The room is your average size hotel room. The bathroom has a shower and is a little bigger than I expected. So that was a pleasant surprise. The room is very clean. The beds are ok for me, but a bit on the soft side for my friend. The room has a great view of the surrounding area as well as Castelo De Sao Jorge.

Breakfast and WiFi are included in the price. I didn’t use the WiFi so I can’t say how fast or reliable it is. But it was fine for my friend. Breakfast is served (buffet style) in the restaurant of the hotel. There is a large selection for breakfast, including scrambled eggs, bacon, hams, cheese, a variety of cereals, freshly cut fruits, pastries, etc. We ate dinner the first night at the hotel restaurant and the food was fine. The price wasn’t too expensive. Of all the restaurants/cafes we ate at in Lisbon, this was the only one that took credit/debit card.

The hotel is ideally located. The Carmo Ruins, one of the sights we wanted to see, is right next door, which we weren’t aware of when we booked our room. Rossio square is about 2-3 blocks from the hotel at the bottom of the hill. The Rossio metro station is right off the square, as is a stop for the aerobus so taking public transportation from and to the airport is a breeze. The Rossio train station is about 1 block from the hotel (between the hotel and Rossio square). So if you have to take the train for a day trip to Sintra or some other places, you don’t have to go very far. There are also tons of restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. When we were walking around Rossio square on the first night, a couple of guys offer to sale us illegal drugs on two different occasions right in the open! Despite that, we didn’t feel unsafe at any time in this area or other parts of Lisbon that we visited. The hotel sits at the top of a hill, so keep that in mind, especially if you have a lot of luggage or difficulty walking. The escalators in the train station should take you half way up the hill if you don’t want to walk the entire way.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Check in and out took no time at all.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly, brilliant location, situated near a sweet square, nothing too much trouble as I had forgotten our plug adaptor. Great welcome, room immaculate, wide variety for breakfast and nice to sit in the bar area after full day sight seeing. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this 4* hotel at such a reasonable price much like all of Lisbon.
Eating at nearby Sacremento upmarket food and wonderful setting or try Cafe Brasileira by Chiado. Fab atmosphere

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lovely hotel, great service from reception, clean rooms and a nice large double bed which was also very comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good but had to poke the staff to keep the buffet topped up if you wanted eggs or bacon.

In all, a very nice stay, only metres from the centre of the city and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our stay in Lisbon was greatly enhanced by the attentive staff at Lisboa Carmo hotel. Situated steps away from the famous Santa Justa elevator and very near the Rossio, we felt at home there. The Largo do Carmo, where the hotel holds some tables, is an oasis in the city life. Small but beautiful room (with an enormous bathroom), staff with answers to all queries of a tourist, loads of good restaurants nearby - who could wish for more. Good price/service relation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I booked this hotel based on other reviews and was not disappointed....it was fantastic! It is a new modern hotel in a great location yet quiet and very comfortable. It is walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. The front desk staff were very helpful and spoke good English. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: We booked a premium room and had lots of room, a very comfortable king size bed, shower and separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan78339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#20 of 251 in Lisbon
1,528 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 251 in Lisbon
798 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Property: Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing