We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and helpful”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Central and helpful”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very comfortable four star hotel right in the of the city. Convenient for all the sights and public transport. Many good restaurants close at hand. Large well appointed rooms,great choice at breakfast, didn't try the restaurant but the menu didn't inspire me. Staff spoke good english and were very helpful

Room Tip: rooms not overlooking street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    246
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
143
567
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a very central location. Rooms really nice and comfortable, staff really friendly & helpful. Breakfast was so good with a great choice and very very relaxed.
Hotel fronts onto a beautful square, with shops 2mins away and nightlife in bario alto less than a 5min walk...cant fault it and would highly recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PDPatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As far as central hotels go this is as good as you would want.
We stayed three nights and got around the city by tram and metro.
Nice room, comfortable nights sleep and a shower that was good if you let it run first.
Reception personnel were smart and friendly with some good tips for places to eat.
Buffet breakfast was hot and the eggs were done fresh whatever time we arrived.
Perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pthemadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I chose this hotel due to its brilliant reviews. We found the hotel ok but we were slightly disappointed. We paid a little extra for a city and river view and were placed on the second from top floor. We did have a city view if you looked to your far right and over the roof tops, but I would not have classed the room as a city and river view. There was also a hole in the bed linen and marks on the walls. The wardrobes left side and draw at the bottom could not be opened due to the close proximity of the bedside table. But overall the breakfast was very good and the location was excellent. I would still recommend this hotel for a city break in Lisbon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a great time at this lovely hotel in the center of Lisboa. Situated right on a peaceful square with thousands of restaurants and bars just a short stroll away. For longer trips, the metro and the trams and even long-distance trains were also within walking distance. The hotel was very clean, modern and comfortable with great service, and fine views over the castle when staying on one of the top floors. The breakfast was something special with freshly made bread, juices, and more every morning. I see no reason staying elsewhere the next time I am in Lisbon.

Room Tip: High floor for nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stansted
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel well located for central Lisbon shops and restaurants. We stayed for 6 nights. It is a short walk up and down cobbled pavements from the nearest metro station, either that or take a taxi. The staff are really friendly, especially the reception staff. We stayed in room 405 which had a fantastic view of the castle. The room was a bit small, but ok, the bed was 2 singles pushed together. The bathroom was modern and clean. The heating didn't work, we had it on at the maximum but it didn't seem to heat up the room at all, it wasn't a major problem so we didn't bother mentioning it. The bathroom had no heating. The hotel has 2 modern fast lifts. Buffet breakfast was included, a wide choice of really nice cakes, hot food was scrambled eggs, bacon and mushrooms, then a spread of fruit, cured meat and cheese, cereals, different bread, all in all a good breakfast, plus freshly squeezed real orange juice. The staff need to clear the tables when guests leave because the room quickly filled up with used tables which we and other guests had to clear ourselves one day. The evening restaurant had a limited choice, best value was the burger, octopus starter was really nice, sausage starter not so nice. We ate twice at the restaurant but it was quite pricey compared to other places and the service was a bit slow. If we ever go back to Lisbon I would be happy to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: top 2 floors have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantabria2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice, clean and well-located hotel. Pleasant staff, nice breakfast buffet and a lovely room with a very comfortable bed. The shower head was broken, so you had to hold it up yourself, and the breakfast buffet could have had better variety, but all in all minor things, and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone going to Lisbon and wanting to stay close to everything.

Helpful?
Thank LoLun
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,496 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
802 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Property: Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing