We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from Rossio metro station and square (where the aerobus stops), and is fairly central for accessing the main areas of Lisbon, either by walking or taking some of the bus tours.

The rooms are nicely done out and comfortable, with slippers, robes and bottled water supplied. We also received a voucher for a welcome drink upon arrival, which you can use at any time during your stay. We had our drinks a few days later sitting in the small square opposite the hotel, which is nice in good weather. Due to the poor weather on our 1st evening we ate in the hotel restaurant, and the food was comparable in quality and cost with other Portugeuse restaurants we visited during our stay. On the evening we ate there the owner was celebrating a family birthday and the grandchildren brought large pieces of a very nice cake around to all the diners, which I thought was a very nice gesture.

The breakfast buffet was nice with enough choices to suit the majority of people, including a good variety of fresh fruit and pastries.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon, providing you don't have problems with steps or short hills.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelbod04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    239
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
138
544
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel in downtown Lisbon. It is located between the Baixa and Chiado districts which are central to everything in Lisbon. Both the metro and the train station are within a 5 minute walk.

The hotel staff spoke English very well and were extremely helpful with directions and things to see and do. Upon check in we were given a voucher for 2 free drinks as awelcome gesture. We used them on our 3rd night after returning from a guided tour to Fatima. There is a restaurant in the hotel which is open to the public offering typical Portugese food. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was very good. We would load up on breakfast in the morning and would be good until dinner time. It included scrambled eggs, bacon, a large variety of clod cuts, cereal, bread and roles.

The room was great. It was large and contained 2 double beds with memory foam mattresses. The bathroom was also large and the shower contained both a hand held shower arm and a ceiling mounted rain head.

The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. I can recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: If you take the Metro from the airport, send an email to the hotel asking for directions from the Me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was wonderful! Great location to get to tourist sites by foot or train. THE FRONT DESK staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful . The beds were great. Would stay there again. GREAT HOTEL!





  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank teacherof1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
292 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is really central, especially to the vibe of the city that surrounds you. On arrival we were given a voucher for two large drinks from their restaurant to welcome us to the hotel, an appreciated jesture on a hot day. The hotel is on the corner of a street which is adjacent to the Carmo Square, taxi drivers and others may not recognise the hotel but just mention the square.
The food in the restaurant is first class, and Karter, the lady who runs it is excellent and rarely stops smiling. They have an area closest to the hotel in the square where they serve food, highly recommend it.
The staff at this hotel are very helpful and pleasant. The room we had 403 looked out over the corner of the square. Can be a little noisy but not a real problem - you are in the city. Taxi from the airport should be 10 - 15 euro, pick it up from outside the Departure area and across the road where they line up. Wifi was very erratic and kept dropping out, quite annoying. The hotel does not have a gym, which would have been handy, and no pool which is understandable.
All in all, this is a great hotel and I will certainly book it again on my next visit to Lisbon.

Room Tip: There is probably no great advantage in specifying any particular room, away from the road probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

perfectly located in the heart of lisbon you will find this nice and cosy hotel. The staff is really friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and offered a variety of food. The room was ok, clean maybe a bit small but the street is very quiet so you get a good sleep (just the rooms to the side street)

You can easily explore the city by feet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urlauberin_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was an excellent hotel in the main square where the 1974 Carnation Revolution took place. Rooms were very good, clean and well serviced daily. Good size double room with excellent large shower room and toilet. Breakfast was included in our deal and was of a very good standard with a good range of hot and cold food. Staff were very helpful and all spoke good English.For people who have not been to Lisbon then they need to be aware that there are a lot of steep, cobbled streets and it was quite a climb to reach our hotel. Not a city suitable for all people with mobility issues. If going, check out carefully the location of the hotel. However, a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a side street. Not a problem. It's a quiet area with not a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frencyrainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our third trip to Portugal and we have stayed in six hotels in Lisbon. Finding the hotel that is perfect for you and where you want to be can be difficult. Last time we stayed in a lovely specialty hotel in the Chiado and very much liked the location. We decided to mix it up and try another hotel in what has become of favorite area of Lisbon.
All I can say is WE have found our favorite hotel in Lisbon even though we have stayed in much higher rated on Trip Advisor hotels.
Location is just about the most important thing when you select a hotel. Next comes quality of room and service. All of which this hotel supplied.
We stayed in Room 503. It was a masterpiece of design with delightful views of city from each window. There was a drop down mini desk under one of the windows that allowed me to have a marvelous view over the river while I worked on email with a perfectly located power connection right under the mini desk. There were plenty of outlets that allowed me to charge my tablet, smartphone and laptop. The wireless was flawless and easy to connect to.
The room design might not be for everyone. I love big soaking tubs and the soaking tub is part of the room and not hidden away. After you have married for over thirty five years, climbing into a soaking tub in the room is NO problem. The rain shower is another corner of the room and was one of the best rain showers we have experienced in Europe, Yes, you don't have a great deal of privacy but IS this needed when you are doing a couple kind of thing??
The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows which is another issue I have with some hotels.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. For us, one of the biggest pluses was the lunch spot on the plaza in front of the hotel. We had three delightful lunches sitting in the shade with attentive wait staff that gave us great recommendations as to what might be best to order each day.
While we spent much time climbing the hills of Chiado, you do have options. 3 minutes away is the Rossio Station. About a minute away is Elevador de Santa Justa. About six minutes away is Elevador da Gloria. Also keep in mind there are many restaurants within an short walking distance too.
We plan to return to this special hotel on our next stay in Lisbon which I am already plotting. If you are a seasoned Lisbon traveler or new to Lisbon, I can not more highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: STAY in room 503. Great views and neat layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
9HOTEL MERCY
9HOTEL MERCY
#66 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#40 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Property: Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing