We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Lisbon City Centre”
Review of Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Ranked #24 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Location ideal for walking around the tourist parts of the city. We arrived late in the evening after walking up the hill from the Metro a bit tired but was soon refreshed when we saw our room which was lovely. Really comfy bed with lovely soft bedding. The room had everything that you could want all of a high standard. Reception were helpful and following their advice had a great tapas meal at nearby Wine Lover B.A. restaurant. This hotel is also ideally situated for colourful bars and restaurants so if you just want to relax its ideal. The nearby Carmo square is also a good place to watch the world go by as it is opposite a building which has a uniformed guard during the day. We had a very enjoyable breakfast which should suit most people and it was extremely good value, considering its in a popular area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
There are newer reviews for Lisboa Carmo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a good value for the money. It has a great location. The rooms are large and comfortable. Everything was kept impeccably clean. The hotel is very close to everything right in the heart of Lisbon. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was great - a wide variety of fresh fruit, tasty pastries, scrambled eggs and bacon, etc.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and tried to get a higher room, but the hotel was full. I didn't min...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUBear_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of the historic part of Lisbon & perfect for exploring the city. The continental breakfast supplemented by scrambled, eggs,bacon & mushrooms was delicious. Our bed was really comfy - perfect for a good night's rest. A safe, coffee machine, hair dryer, small fridge & wi-fi are provded free of charge in our room. After a hard day's sightseeing, it was lovely to return to the square just outside the hotel for a refreshing drink. The highlight of the hotel was it's staff. Everybody was so helpful & pleasant & spoke many different languages. If we return to Lisbon, we will defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: 504 is on the top floor & has brilliant views over the rooftops to the city & the river
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveholidaysuk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good location, nice and modern room, excellent breakfast, excellent room service, staff helpful and the most important it was clean!
I was with my husband and 2 kids 6 and 8 yo and I felt very confortable as at home.
The parking place is a little bit difficult to get in and out but we had rent a big car and we were at Lisbon old city

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really good location for the metro and airport buses and for the city centre attractions and shops. We arrived early and wanted to leave our bags so we could wander around, when we arrived they got our room done asap and gave us a complimentary drink which was really nice and expected. Our bags were taken up to our room as well. Room was nice and modern and had a nice view. Everything was really clean including the bathroom, one of the walls between the shower and bedroom was glass with a fancy electronic blind for privicy. It was a nice touch and well designed for all types of guest. Staff were eager to help and were friendly. Really enjoyed our stay :)

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm88001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Loved this Hotel. Arrived after getting off cruise ship early for check in Luggage stowed then brought to our room before we came back. Room was good size with a great view. Shower spacious and bed comfortable. Hair dryer, safe & small refrigerator in room. Free WiFi in room, complimentary breakfast was very good. I cannot say enough about the staff, polite and extremely helpful. They were Excellent! They arranged for taxi to take us to airport and helped with the luggage.
Location was ideal. We didn't see a pool or fitness center but the hills and stairs took care of that! We wouldn't have taken time for a pool, just a lengthy hot shower. Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGoulart303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful hotel with my husband. I picked it based on the brilliant reviews on Tripadvisor and was extremely pleased with my choice!

Check in was quick and the staff on the front desk were extremely friendly - a special mention goes to Sara who was so helpful to us during our stay but all the front desk staff we encountered were first class.

I normally struggle when I stay in European hotels with the comfort of the beds, usually finding them too hard - this bed was the best bed I've ever slept in! It was a super king bed - the standard of which you would normally find in New York hotels - I slept so well during my stay! We had a lovely room (309) which was a good size, bonus for me it had a bath which I prefer. Also free wifi which was very handy and there was a little fridge in the room which housed complimentary bottled water which was replaced on a daily basis - I've never come across this before and was a lovely touch. The air con worked fine. There was also a safe in the room.

The breakfast included fresh fruits (kiwi, pineapple, melon), white and brown breads and rolls, cheese and cold meats, yoghurts, scrambled eggs and bacon, cereals, a selection of fruit juices, water and mini pastries. I enjoyed the breakfast - it would have been nice if the pastries/croissants were full sized ones rather than the mini ones or perhaps a magdalena type cake was offered as well instead of the same style of pastries which I found to be a bit greasy but that is a minor point. The only other suggestion I could make to improve this hotel would be for hot drinks to be served to you at the table - we didn't realise until about the third day in that you're meant to take your cup and saucer to the bar area in the breakfast room and order your coffee directly there - in other hotels I've stayed in normally someone would come to the table and ask if you'd like tea/coffee - is a much more personal touch I think.

The front desk staff helped us with numerous questions and all were so friendly, helpful and knowledgable. We booked a taxi back to the airport through the hotel which they offer for 17 euros - you are then issued with a receipt which you hand to the driver - everything is included so no need to leave a tip. This took the stress out of getting to the airport.

We found the hotel location to be perfect for us and we will definitely be returning - we are planning on doing so again next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SableRostron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 254 in Lisbon
821 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 254 in Lisbon
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#54 of 254 in Lisbon
1,580 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Carmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Carmo Hotel

Address: Rua da Oliveira ao Carmo 1-3, Lisbon 1200-307, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £106 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisboa Carmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are hotel tailors, offering each guest a tailor made stay, inspired and proud by the authenticity of our people, our culture, our heritage and gastronomy, using the diversity of Lisbon and Portugal, to give us the strength to move forward and to make the difference.From the heart of Lisbon, we are inspired by the feelings, senses and dreams of an historical, but, at the same time, cosmopolitan, contemporary and trendy Portugal.We create elegant and charming moments, inviting each guest to be "dressed" by our tailors, in this Lisbon, place of enchantment, where the fusion between the traditional and modern provides a memorable stay, marked by the Portuguese soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lisboa Carmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing