We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny and very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 258 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I am writing this after my first night at this hotel. The rooms are postage stamp size. Fine if you are by yourself but two people can't pass each other in these rooms. It is clean but leaves a lot to be desired. There is NO space to put anything so you have to live out of your suit case... Literally.
No wifi except in the "lobby" which means standing between the desk and the elevator about 2 meters of space.
Very very noisy because all rooms face the street and immediately below your window are a number of out door cafés that are open very late.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimindc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Teatro B&B for 5 nights, commencing a three-week visit to Portugal and Spain, and were so impressed, we cancelled another reservation for two weeks later, and rebooked the Teatro when we returned to Lisbon. First of all, the staff is exceptionally friendly, courteous, and attentive. During our stay, no question was unanswered, no request unfulfilled. In particular, Claudia and Marta were at the desk most of the time, and were the utmost in charm and civility. The room, although cozy, was comfortable, and very clean. Clever placement of mirrors make it seem bigger, and the effect works. The bed was excellent, the bathroom well appointed and colorful. Breakfast is served next door in the Teatro Bar/Café, which is presided over by the ever-smiling and most gracious host, Enrique. He seemed to ensure that everyone present was taken care of, and greeted, as well as devoted some personal attention to, each couple, or person. This guy was fantastic, and knows the real meaning of customer service. Oh, and the food was uniformly excellent. There's a great selection of pastries, breads, hot entrée, and beverages. The same space serves as an urbane little bar in the evening. It's quiet, comfortable, with chill house music on the speakers, and a great bartender who not only took the pains to ensure my drink was made to my liking (a simple extra dry martini), but remembered exactly the way I liked it each evening, and again when we rebooked there two weeks later. I didn't have to ask, or remind him. He just knew.

This is a fantastic place, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone seeking comfortable, well-situated digs in Lisbon. It's in the north part of Chiado, and close to Baixa, Rossio, within walking distance of Alfama, Placa do Commerco, and Bairro Alto. You can cover a lot of ground from here, and have a great place to return to at the end of the day, with people who seem to be glad you're there.

Room Tip: If you prefer sleeping with the windows open, be sure to bring ear plugs. All the rooms face the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petertut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was in Lisbon for a weekend with my parents as my 25 birthday present. Everything was a surprise: the destination and the hotel were chosen by them and they couldn't have chosen a better one! The location of Teatro B&B is perfect, it's right in the city center and you can walk to the most emblematic places in Lisbon: everything is literally 5 minutes away! The rooms are absolutely charming and beautiful, each with its own style and charm, and with all the services and commodities necessary. And of course, very, very clean.
The breakfast buffet was amazing! Everything was delicious and there was plenty of variety to choose from.
If I had to say something negative, it would be the noise out in the street, since there are several live music venues close by, although I closed the windows and had absolutely no trouble sleeping.
The best part of Teatro B&B were the people who work there! They were all really cheerful and helpful to us. I was so surprised when they all came to me at the hotel's lounge-bar with a mini muffin and a candle on it and sang happy birthday in Portuguese! It was really moving and I will never forget it! Thank you guys, you made our stay excellent and unforgettable.
I would reccommend this hotel to everyone who plans on travelling to Lisbon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank errepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Staying at Teatro provided all we could have hoped for during a short 4 night stay in Lisbon.

After the usual extensive research on Lisbon we plumped on Teatro. Sometimes the availability of so much info can actually be quite exhausting – but well worth it in the end to ensure a great trip. We were fortunate to have booked a well priced suite for this visit and this was stunningly decorated with a theatrical theme and bespoke mirrors throughout (the beautiful Teatro de Trindade stands opposite, hence the name). The suite was spacious and well equipped with nice furniture, fridge/ mini bar (unused) and coffee pod machine. Charging for the latter’s use on top of the room rate was a tad mean; so we didn’t use it but made do with the kettle instead. Our top floor suite had distant partial views of the river and roof top views which were very pleasant but would not ‘sell’ the room on its own – though the overall quality would. The cleaning and daily service was exemplary and the breakfast – taken in the adjacent Teatro café bar, which was undergoing some work during our stay - simply outstanding with an amazing array of food choices in a ‘grand buffet’ style and also including delicious local specialities proudly brought round to the tables by the hosts.

The term B&B does not do Teatro justice as it’s really a boutique hotel and is superbly located in the heart of town in the Chiado district. From here you can walk to many of Lisbon’s major sites but it’s also very near the famous 28 tram route and Baixa - Chiado metro station (down a fairly steep hill). Even closer is the historic Largo do Carmo (Square) with the majestic ruins of the convent destroyed in Lisbon’s great earthquake, the top level of the stunning ironwork Elevator Justica with its tremendous city views (free to access at this level), and the scene of the main commemorative celebrations for the 40th anniversary of the 1974 Carnation Revolution and the resulting transition to democratic government which fortuitously coincided with our visit. You are in the very heart of the city here so countless restaurant choices are available to you within a 5 minute walk radius in Chiado and Bairro Alto.

The staff members were all friendly and efficient. The only downside of Teatro is its lack of public spaces and very cramped reception area – more a booth than anything else – as it’s in a wide fronted building with little depth and all space is used for the [small cage] lifts, stairs and guest rooms. However with its café fully functioning this would have been less noticeable and, anyway, does not detract from the overall high recommendation. Sadly though the thoughtful ‘welcome drink’ tokens we were given on arrival could not be utilised as the café bar was closed apart from at breakfast during our visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

* we stayed here for 5 nights* perfect location - right in the middle of the old centre, 2 streets away from Bairo Alto and 10 minute (walking) to Alfama * 2 minutes to subway (metro) * very friendly stuff * incredible breakfast every day :) * very good wi-fi connection * espresso coffee machine in the room * cleaning of the room daily * big safe box in the room

Room Tip: nothing to comment - every room seams perfect. just take time in the morning to enjoy the perfect wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A pleasant suprise awaits you at the Teatro, on arrival wer wer greeted by a very freindly receptionist, who explained everything about the hotel before escorting us to our room.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed, make maximum use of the space and are provided with your own bath robes and slippers, which is a nice touch.
A good breakfast is provided at the bar/lounge next door to the hotel, with a selection of hams, cheeses, croissants, cakes etc.
The location is excellent for exploring the citey with the main square around a ten minute walk, and numerous bars / resturants close by.
Yes some of the rooms are compact, and the lift is only small, but these are minor things compared to the many plus points this accomodation has to offer.

Room Tip: Choose the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulzoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeatroBB, Gerente at Teatro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest

In first we would like to thank you for your compliments to our Bed & Breakfast.
Every day we work to please each guest together with the atmosphere of glamour, elegance and the friendliness of our staff. It is our main goal and the guests are in the center of our attention.
We expect to have completed all your wishes and we hope to receive you in another occasion.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just spent three nights at this unique, beautifully formed place. The rooms are cleverly arranged with many mirrors so the whole place feels airy and light. There are floor to ceiling windows with small verandas overlooking a square where you can watch local life pass by. Beds are large and comfortable and the showers are powerful and fitted with high quality fixtures along with white fluffy towels and dressing gowns as well as useful complimentary slippers. Everything is spotlessly clean. Breakfast is excellent with lashings of fresh fruit and delicious yoghurts as well as many choices of freshly prepared sweet and savoury offerings, fresh orange juice and good coffee....too many things to mention. Finally, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. A great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#24 of 255 in Lisbon
1,006 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
878 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teatro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teatro Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rua da Trindade 36, Lisbon 1249-245, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £103 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Teatro Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teatro B&B is the newest hand-crafted and unique Bed and Breakfast in Lisbon. Located in the heart of Lisbon, between the chic, cultural and trendy Chiado and bohemian Bairro Alto, is arguably the best location to know the city that sings fado and enacts her charms on stage in the theater. The Hotel is walking distance from major shops, theaters, museums, restaurants and bars. Surrounding the Hotel, through the picturesque alleys you can easily access all the places.Enjoy your best buffet breakfast in town, served daily. With no timetables, our staff is willing to help you all times in a familiar ambiance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Teatro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing