We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hall Chiado

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hall Chiado
Ranked #36 of 230 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A great new/recent hotel in Lisbon. The room was great, very good looking, and loved the "access with a code" detail. Although we don't see the staff, they are there for us, and corresponded greatly to all my requests. Great location and value for money. Totally recomend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlpb2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear guest,
I am very happy that we have been able to provide you a good experience at Hall Chiado.
When we were defining the concept for our small hotel, we thought of the personal codes solution to access the hotel and the rooms as a way to offer simplicity and privacy to our guests. Myself, as a traveller, I really apreciate it!
And yes, we try to make ourselves "invisible" but we are there for you and try to correspond to all the requests from our guests.
All the best,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    48
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
74
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a gem in Chiado - walking distance from most of Lisbon's attractions,bars and restaurants, at an affordable price and with a great touch of design.

Ask for a street view window and for a room with kitchen in the case you want to make your own breakfest ;)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcpastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments!
Our kitchen rooms are family suites with an interior room that can fit up to 3 children and make it possible to have light meals or breakfast inside the room. For breakfast outside there are a lot of great places in the neighborhood, such as the organic bakery Quinoa, just 100m up the street, or the french pastry shops Eric Kayser and Tartine (700-800m).
Best regards,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stumbled upon this hotel on another site and checked it out from the comments on TA. I was not disappointed. Taking a solo trip for a change I wanted somewhere central and a place to be left to my own devices. This place met all my needs. A little disconcerted that I had no room key, I rapidly realised I did not need one! Emailed my room number and a pin code which opened the front door an the door to the room I walked in to a place of calm and I enjoyed every second of it.

The only downside is if you do not have an internationally activated mobile.. while there is no manned reception they do supply a contact number for enquiries. I would have had to go to the nearest phone box to make that call.. not big drama but just something people considering staying should note.

I will absolutely stay here again and have already recommended that my sister stay on her trip to Lisbon

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad you enjoyed the access code solution. We expect to provide an easy experience, without the hassle of check-in / check-out and paperwork, besides the privacy.
Reading your comment on the contact number, I wonder if you noticed that our office works right next door and is normally open during daytime? Me and Leonor are always there to help or recommend a restaurant or a visit. Perhaps we need to make it more clear to our guests. We will think of a way!
Anyhow you are right. Most people have roaming mobiles when traveling but for someone who doesn’t, we need to come up with an idea to allow an easy and quick contact to our number, when we are not there.
If you come back one day, we will be glad to welcome you personally!
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

It is almost impossible to be disappointed by this little hotel. It is unique in many ways. First, every little detail has been designed with a lot of taste and thought behind it, and you will not find a place like this again as a consequence. The room we stayed in was aesthetically a so very pleasing experience. It was large, super clean, had very high ceilings, and was very recently, like the entire hotel, created as it opened in Sept 2012. Modern, but not cold or dysfunctional and certainly not IKEA style. The bathroom spacious and very functional and also aesthetically outstanding and smart.
Second, it is run by two young women who are designers by trade. This shows as to every little detail has been paid deep attention.
The hotel is liocated fantastically close to everything interesting in Lisbon.
We loved it and it receives out highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zitounihalouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Guest,
I feel very honored by your review! We certainly do our best to provide a good experience to our guests in Hall Chiado and it is very rewarding to receive such compliments. We take it very seriously to listen to all the critics, good and bad, and for sure we have already learned a lot in these starting weeks. We will stay alert and focused, the expectations are high now!
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Residentas Apostolos
Residentas Apostolos
#24 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
#17 of 230 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Alecrim ao Chiado
Alecrim ao Chiado
#27 of 230 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Emporium Lisbon Suites
Emporium Lisbon Suites
#37 of 230 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Boho Cais do Sodre
Boho Cais do Sodre
#38 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Chiado

Property: Hall Chiado
Address: Rua do Alecrim 45, Lisbon 1200-014, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hall Chiado is a new opening in September 2012 in Chiado, the trendiest neighborhood in Lisbon. The property was completely refurbished with Portuguese materials and furniture. All nine rooms have bathroom, free wifi, tv, safe and daily cleaning. Family suites available with interior rooms and kitchenette. From here, you have access to all public transports at walking distance, as well as the coolest shops, restaurants and bars in Chiado and Bairro Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hall Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing