We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel ever”
Review of Hall Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hall Chiado
Ranked #33 of 246 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel ever”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Perfect location nearby train station that connect you to nearby places at Lisbon and to Cascais.
Great interiors and very clean hotel. Very easy to access with special door code and no reception. Quite, modern furniture & artsy. entrance area has a lot of information that you need and a locker room to store your luggage. The Chiado area is the best area you can stay in at Lisbon where the hotel is located. For me it was one of the perfect hotels i ever stayed in, convenient in all aspects.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghaith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,
I think you probably made the best compliment we have received so far!
Being “your perfect hotel” is certainly an honor for us. And we agree with you - Chiado is the perfect location for a visitor to Lisbon!
Greetings from all our team,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    49
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
85
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at the 2 bedroom .one double bedded and one with 3 kids bunk beds apartment. The apartments open with a code which the hotel emails a couple of days before your reservation start. Dont worry they do send it ! The apartment is comfortable, nice small kitchen nestled in the master room with all utensils possible. Just that do remember they dont clean them ! Its not a hotel ! I wish they did clean them though.
Located in a wonderful location. Staff (available 9am to 5pm) is very helpful. They made really good suggestions for things to do in Lisbon and we really enjoyed it. Barrio alto is 7 minutes walk. Chiado is also about the same. Located on a bit of a down hill so all these places are an uphill walk or just cab it for 3-4 euros..
For the price we paid 135 its a great value !
wished they had a pool !
All apartments are on 1st floor and there is no elevator ! But there are lockers on the ground floor to store luggage...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApurvGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Point taken! We have daily cleaning services for the rooms but that does not include the utensils in the kitchenette. Honestly, it didn't come up before (which doesn't mean it didn't bother other guests too). We will discuss it in our next management meeting.
Best regards,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helvoirt, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

In the city center of Lissabon. You open the house and room with a code.works excellent. Value for not to much money because the room is very nice in a typical Potugese old house in the neighbourhood of the most beautiful spots of Lisboa.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comment - Obrigado!
Lisbon is becoming more popular for visitors in fact and the Chiado district is certainly top in the city. There are so many things to do and see that it becomes difficult to make recommendations. We use the lobby wall to show our preferred selection and always update with new stuff that we notice. I hope our wall has helped you too.
Best regards,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Great design - cool cork flooring, awesome spa shower, comfortable, clean!! Awesome location. Friendly staff. Smooth reservation and arrival (the code is convenient & easy to use). Lobby has great locker storage if you have time before/after reservation and flight... Couldn't ask for more!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words!
The cork is one of our main assets in Portugal. For decades we have produced cork stoppers for bottles around the world and now we are starting to find new utilizations for the cork, such as the floor we use at Hall Chiado. We really like it because it is comfortable for bare foot walking and hygienic for cleaning, as well as very aesthetic in my opinion. I am glad you enjoyed it!
All the best,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I traveled with a friend and we lived in a double room. The room is clean, comfortable and new. Great smell in the hall. Perfect location, close to the transportations,shopping center and the sea. The reception is next door and you nearly see them. The gate and all the room's doors are locked with electronic locks and you need to type certain password to come in. Recommend to all kinds of travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QYZhang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. From Hall Chiado we have a view to the river Tejo but we are also close to the sea, as you say. With the good weather ahead it is worth a 20m drive to go to one of the beaches in the Lisbon area. We recommend our favorites - Guincho and São João da Caparica. Perhaps for your next visit to Lisbon...
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a very clean, quiet, and well located hotel in Lisbon. There is no front desk or coffee in the room, but you also don't wait to check in. You plug in your code and go to your room. While the staff is nice (they are next door in a little shop), you may never see them and that is OK. It has the sleek, trendy boutique style decor and a cork floor. GO PORTUGAL!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillflaningam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to see your enthusiasm for our country!
We don't have coffee in the rooms but we do have a kettle in our office, which we can borrow. And you are certainly welcome to have a coffee with us in the office, sponsored by Nespresso!
All the best,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I planned a simple Portuguese honeymoon and we very much enjoyed our stay at Hall Chiado. The staff was very friendly, attentive, and easy to communicate with in English (they work in an office next door). The location was simple to get to from the airport bus service. It was also easy to walk, or catch the nearby train/metro, to get anywhere. Since our room faced the main street, it could be a bit loud with traffic noises and late night partiers on foot, but it was worth it to be able to step out on the mini balcony to have a peek at the waterfront. Our one and only real complaint was that the entry and halls smelled quite strongly of cleaner, which can't be good for anyone breathing it, but once we opened our room windows there was no problem in our room at least. That said, we definitely would recommend Hall Chiado!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Online_Ms_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Indeed, sometimes at night, especially on Friday and Saturday, there is a lot of activity in the area. It is good if you are looking at a night out, as you can easily reach many cool restaurants and pubs but can get a bit noisy even with the soundproofed windows in the rooms. We do have rooms facing the back of the building to an inner shaft, which are really quiet.
Regarding the cleaner smell, it has been mentioned by other guests as a pleasent impact when entering the hall but perhaps we need to fine-tune it, so it doesn't disturb other guests. We will certainly review it now.
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 248 in Lisbon
1,461 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
#21 of 246 in Lisbon
575 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Alecrim ao Chiado
Alecrim ao Chiado
#22 of 246 in Lisbon
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Residentas Apostolos
Residentas Apostolos
#19 of 457 in Lisbon
126 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 246 in Lisbon
1,135 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Chiado

Property: Hall Chiado
Address: Rua do Alecrim 45, Lisbon 1200-014, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hall Chiado is a new opening in September 2012 in Chiado, the trendiest neighborhood in Lisbon. The property was completely refurbished with Portuguese materials and furniture. All nine rooms have bathroom, free wifi, tv, safe and daily cleaning. Family suites available with interior rooms and kitchenette. From here, you have access to all public transports at walking distance, as well as the coolest shops, restaurants and bars in Chiado and Bairro Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hall Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing