We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”
Review of Hall Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hall Chiado
Ranked #37 of 233 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What an experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed with this hotel. It is much different to most other hotels in that there is no reception, you just get a pin code in your email and you get in. It has this boutique feel about it, there is only maybe a dozen rooms there or so. It is very modern, has a lovely interior design. The rooms were reasonably spacious. The kitchen was well stocked and actually useful.
Although there is no reception, the owners work in the office/shop next door, so you can still have a person to person contact if you wish.
The location is perfect, right in the centre,surrounded by all the restaurants and nightlife. The only annoying aspect of where the hotel was is the steep street... depends on where you are coming from or going to, you may have an easy stroll down hill or get a bit of a workout going up the hill, which isn't particularly fun when you're towing suitcases. But that was a minor gripe. I suggest if you are catching metro that you get off on Baixa/Chiado and not Cais Do Sodre.
The rooms were very clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable, bed sheets were nice. We were very happy with our stay. They also provide free bottled water downstairs in a basket. You just help yourself to as many as you like.

Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for your comment!
Your hint for the subway makes a lot of sense, we are half way, about 300m from two stations - Cais do Sodre and Baixa Chiado, the difference is that Cais do Sodre is down the street and Baixa Chiado is up the street, so you can select which one to use depending on if you are coming or going. Plus Baixa Chiado has direct access to two lines (blue and green), whereas Cais do Sodre only has access to the green line.
Hope to have you back one day.
All the best,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    49
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
79
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ursula, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Right in the middle of the city with connections to public transport, including the airport shuttle, only 3 minutes away.
Housed in an old but newly renovated building its hard to spot on a quick glance, no big neon sign.
The interior and the rooms are super clean, quiet and with modern facilities.
Although it doesn't have a "regular" reception desk, from morning to late night one can get information and friendly advice from the staff in the office at the ground floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
You are right. The sign of Hall Chiado on the building is discrete and may be difficult to detect from the street, especially at night. As Chiado is a historic area, the city hall imposes a lot of restrictions at the facade level. Our small little sign is all we were allowed to do. Perhaps we can improve the location instructions, since a restaurant opened right next door, Charcutaria, and a new barber shop is going to open soon on the other side of our door.
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very central location. Extremely kind Marta will tell you all you need to know about Lisbon, including where to eat. Stylish rooms with cooking facilities. Family suite was great for us. No noise at night, although a little in the day from behind but nothing to overly worry about. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment!
Me, Leonor and Sonia are always happy to recommend places to visit or restaurants. It is of course a bit based on our personal preferences.... I am so glad you enjoyed my suggestions! And for sure, there are a lot of great eating options at walking distance, in Chiado, Bairro Alto and Principe Real.
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here with my sister for a weekend getaway and was greatly pleased. The hotel has great location, it is near all the great shops, near the tram, 10 min walk from the airport shuttle, 10 min from the metro station and walking distance from the lively night life.
The room was big, confortable, simple but modern decoration with little details which makes you feel welcomed.
Both of the owners where really happy to share some tips on where to eat and how to get there.
Overall, the hotel is the perfect mix for the independent traveler who is looking for a authentic experience of Lisbon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruMex29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment! It made our day!!
We really enjoy to talk to the guests that come to the office. Our tips are perhaps a bit guided by our personal preferences... I am so glad we were helpful.
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night as we were passing through Lisbon. We stayed in one of the family suites, which was much bigger than we needed but was all they had left at the time we booked. Still the price was less than many double rooms at nearby hotels.

The room was very clean and had been renovated in the not too distant past. The bathroom was enormous, clean and modern. There was also a small kitchenette in the room, although we didn't use that.

It was generally quiet, although there was some loud machinery operating in the building at about 8AM (I have no idea what it was or if it's a regular occurrence). The location is awesome, in walking distance to many restaurants, shopping and the shore.

This is not a "hotel" so don't expect a front desk, concierge, etc. They give you a key code to access your room and you can come and go as you please. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tone33s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the noise that disturbed you so early in the morning. That is of course not nice at all. I have no idea what may have originated that noise, it hasn't happened before and there is no construction going on in the building at the moment, not even in the neighbour buildings.
I am glad that your experience with us was good in general and would love to be able to surprise you in a positive way, if you come back one day. Please let me know.
Best regards,
Leonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed one night at Hall Chiado to explore Lisbon for one day and I was SUPER pleased! Took the metro from the airport (super cheap & easy) and walked about 10 minutes and found the place. Coded into the building and found my room - nice size for one person. I'm sure there are smaller rooms as well as larger suites. My room was clean, modern and opened to the main street. I didn't have an issue w/ street noise since it was December and the windows were closed. Modern bathroom was excellent and the heater in the room works TOO well as I had to turn it down in the middle of the night. Most importantly, I was near EVERYTHING! The water front, pubs, Old Tram rides, the Metro and shopping in and around Baixa. Can't miss!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamiTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Owner at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment.
Lisbon is in fact very convenient for a short break, as the airport is very close to the center. The subway is of course a good option but there are also shuttles for 3€ that take you directly to the square next to Hall Chiado. Even a taxi is quite cheap, not more than 15€ and 20m ride. Very different from other cities as London or Paris...
We'll make sure to check the air conditioning, too much heat becomes uncomfortable of course.
Best regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at Hall Chiado for 3 nights in Oct 2013- Marta was there to greet us and was superb & spot-on in giving us instructions on what to do, see and what to eat in Lisbon. There were also recommendations posted up in the hallway and they were excellent.
Hall Chiado has a great location due to its proximity to good food, shopping, transport (near the train station and tram 28 stop) and of course to areas of interests for tourists. Our room was large, bed was comfy and the bathroom was also well planned. It is important to note that this accommodation is more like an apartment and not a hotel. Breakfast was not included but this suited us well as we enjoyed lovely breakfasts nearby.
We would definitely stay here again if/ when we return.
4/5

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 821royc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta G, Proprietário at Hall Chiado, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I am really happy that Hall Chiado didn't fail in such an important moment for you! Please continue having yearly "honeymoons" in Lisbon or other beautiful and romantic cities.
When giving recommendations, I always try to understand the profile of the guest and fit with the right suggestions but I end up talking about my favorite places most of the time... I am glad it worked for you.
You know, we like to call Hall Chiado a guest house, rather than hotel or apartment. We don't have the standard reception and the hassle of checkin/out, also we don't have breakfast, but we do have all the other services and comfort of a regular hotel, including daily cleaning and towel change, if requested. Plus the personal recommendations, which we are happy to provide!
All the best,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Residentas Apostolos
Residentas Apostolos
#24 of 434 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
#18 of 233 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Boho Cais do Sodre
Boho Cais do Sodre
#42 of 233 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Alecrim ao Chiado
Alecrim ao Chiado
#27 of 233 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Emporium Lisbon Suites
Emporium Lisbon Suites
#34 of 233 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 233 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Chiado

Property: Hall Chiado
Address: Rua do Alecrim 45, Lisbon 1200-014, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hall Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hall Chiado is a new opening in September 2012 in Chiado, the trendiest neighborhood in Lisbon. The property was completely refurbished with Portuguese materials and furniture. All nine rooms have bathroom, free wifi, tv, safe and daily cleaning. Family suites available with interior rooms and kitchenette. From here, you have access to all public transports at walking distance, as well as the coolest shops, restaurants and bars in Chiado and Bairro Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hall Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing