We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lissabon Altstadt Apartments
Ranked #102 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great home away from home”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a great 4 days in Lisbon's Alfama! This apartment is peaceful and secluded, but still so near the hustle and bustle of one of Lisbon's most authentic experiences. Our apartment had it's own roof top terrace with a great view. Great to have laundry right in our apartment too!

Steps away from great attractions, great local food and an easy tram ride to get to anywhere else in the city.

This is not the Hilton. Hilly, cobblestone streets and the grit of the city are the order of the day. But we agreed that this is what we came to see, not the same sanitized production we could see in any city center.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a view, so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnltandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stay in Alfama.

In the hill of Alfama with view over the big and beautiful Tajus river makes this place an excellent place to stay in the heart of Lisabon. Within two minutes walk you can take the famous and antique tram 28 that takes you along the city center. Enjoy the ride and spoil your eyes as you travel through the buildings, architectures, people, statues, fountain, restaurants, cafes, barbershops, which take part of one of the oldest city in Europe.

But as they say, every good thing comes with the price, it is not a quiet place to spend the night. If you appreciate stillness, this is not the place for you. The walls were not made to isolate noises very well. When we were there, there were a couple of tourists talking with the door open all through the night. Other tourists came home at night making a lot of noise. During the day there was construction work going on. Probably building a new apartment to accommodate an explosion of tourist that visit Lisbon. It would be nice if they mention this beforehand.

There is no wifi, but you can buy a card down town for €40 with which you can surf unlimited for 3-4 days. Also it is cheaper than buying a card provided by the apartment, which is €20 euro a day.

The apartment is quiet big for two and well equipped. There is a small grocery nearby. For fresh and tasty bread just walk to the left, turn to the right by the grocery and turn right, which is approximately 150 meter from the apartment. I would not recommend to have dinner in this neighborhood, full with fado kitsch. Go to Baixa. 

If you take taxi from airport make sure to ask the meter on. They might cheat you with the price, which is normally €12.

It would be better if they put all of these practical information in a guest book or in the email correspondent which might save you time finding things out.

To conclude, I think they should be more caring with the guests in providing information. I like the location but next time I will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Civetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed in Conceico.
It's a small apartment. On the ground floor is the kitchen and a small couch.
The bedroom is on the first floor, but it the biggest advantage is the rooftop terrace.
The apartment is located in a very narrow street, close to the Principe Real park / square.
Within 10 minutes you are in Bairro Alto.
There is wifi, also on the rooftop.
Don't forget to visit the convent Dos Cadreas on the corner of the street.
It is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed Mosteiro IV . The location is excellent but keep in mind that it is near the top of one of Lisbon's hills. It is in a quiet area but only a short walk from the Graca centre for local shops, etc. Tourist shops start fairly close on the downhill side. Trams great, and stops close by. Telephoned 40 minutes ahead and met at apartment. Given run down of all facilities and any questions answered. Helpful and quick.
Everything necessary was in the apartment though I didn't use cooker, microwave, tv, etc. I would say kitchen was on the small side and the bedroom was between the kitchen and the livingroom so which might have been annoying if there were several of you.
Mostly it was quiet but when the Lisbon temperature was higher, I opened the windows at night and the monastery bells could be heard every hour. The floorboards are wooden and at times I was disturbed by walking noise but would only have been a problem if it had been during the night or early morning. It seemed to be at meal times.
Stairs to apartment, within building are quite steep and fairly narrow.
I would certainly choose to stay here if returning to Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xx1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in Chiado V, 5a. The apartment is spacious and comfortable, though the decor is basic IKEA and things like the chipped china and stained kitchen towels should be replaced. The living room and larger bedroom overlook Rua do Carmo and were delightful in the daytime, but too noisy at night with terrible street musicans who played the same few notes over for hours and also flashing lights from a digital display in the H & M store across the street. The twin bed back bedroom was much quieter. The beds were good. The kitchen had a delightful view of Carmo ruins out one window and of a retaining wall out the other. The washing machine was appreciated and everthing worked well except for one toilet which kept running. It would have been nice if an information page had been provided listing closest supermarket, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#44 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H10 Duque de Loule
#22 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Graca & Sao Vicente
Johnies Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lissabon Altstadt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lissabon Altstadt Apartments

Property: Lissabon Altstadt Apartments
Address: Rua do San Vicente 34, Lisbon, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graca & Sao Vicente
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing