We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic budget hotel in great location”
Review of Hostel4U

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel4U
Ranked #41 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Booked this place for a weekend trip to Lisbon and was really impressed. Its in an excellent location, very close to Alfama, the shops and restaurants of Chiado and the nightlife in the Bairro Alto. Its also very convenient to two metro stations and the historic tram routes.

The room was modern, clean and quiet, and had a balcony overlooking the street down to the river. Also the staff were excellent - really friendly and helpful. Decent free breakfast and overall excellent value for money - would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcann0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hostel4U, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

• Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad you had a good time in our hostel.

We look forward to receive you again.

Kind Regards,

Vasco Barreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Hostel4U is located within perfect walking distance of the main square in Lisbon. Upon arrival the staff are friendly and helpful, if you're early you can leave your luggage securely whilst you wander the city until you can check in. The rooms are cleaned to a pristine level, with modern decor, comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. There's also wi-fi on each floor which is accessible in every room, and a lockable cupboard for valuables. Breakfast is served in the morning and includes a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, meat, cheese and bread. Our only criticism would be that there is no activity where everyone staying can join in and get to know each other. Apart from that it's a great stay and good value!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adambacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hostel4U, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your comment, which is of great importance for us.
In regard to your compliments, We will transmit them to our staff.
As for your critic about the social integration, we recognize the lack and we are already moving towards a solid activities program that we expect to implement this summer.

Therefore, we invite you to return, so you can see our improvements and continue the Lisbon experience, We assure you that there´s still a lot to see.

Kind Regards,

Vasco Barreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Great budget hotel with clean rooms, large private bathrooms, and breakfast included! The location is very central and close to bus and trolley lines. The staff was very helpful as well. Bonus, free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachandtravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hostel4U, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad you had a good time in our hostel.

We look forward to receive you again.

Kind Regards,

Vasco Barreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Hostel4U is situated in a excelent position in center of Lisbon, it is easy accessible by metro, bus or taxi (driving from Lisbon airport just 10€). We have two rooms, both were very clean, renovated, linen and towels was clean, breakfast is very good...the whole interior is very interesting, espacially part aroun reception. The receptioner was very symphatic, with good knowledge of english, he gave us a few good advices to save money and spend it on better way :-) Next time I go to Lisbon (because I will sure do that) I will stay again in Hostel4U

Room Tip: If you stay during weekend ask for room not looking on street if you want sleep quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliana708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hostel4U, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We look forward to receive you once again.......

Kind Regards,

The Hostel4U team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have been travelling for fit months now - staying budget hotels and hostels. This place is the best value for money we have found in Europe. The rooms are pristine. The bed is fantastic - so much so that we booked for another night. The breakfast was generous, the staff were informative and helpful. All in all a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hostel4U, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guests,

We´re honored by your review. It was a real pleasure having you here.

The Christmas party stays forever in our memories....

Kind Regards,

The HOSTEL4U team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#7 of 503 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
We Love F.Tourists
We Love F.Tourists
#37 of 503 in Lisbon
190 reviews
Hub Lisbon Patio Hostel
#61 of 503 in Lisbon
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 503 in Lisbon
375 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodnight Backpackers Hostel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Independente Hostel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel4U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel4U

Address: Rua da Madalena 96, Lisbon 1100-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £35 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel4U 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the city, right beside one of the capital's most popular tourist attractions, the imposing St George's Castle and the city's main shopping and nightlife neighbourhoods. Let us help you find your way around this marvellous capital.Hostel4U will enjoy welcoming you to its laid-back, family atmosphere and we will do everything we can to make your stay in Lisbon unforgettable.The hostel is near Baixa Chiado, one of Lisbon Underground's main stations, the main squares, the characteristic neighbourhoods of Alfama and Bairro Alto, and has a young team ready to provide you with all the information you may need to discover Lisbon's main attractions.Feel at home in the hostel4u. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel4U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing