We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the Bairro Alto”
Review of Alfaia Garrafeira

Alfaia Garrafeira
Ranked #330 of 4,183 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: In Wine Cellar / "Garrafeira" Alfaia we feed friendships around the wine and the generosity of spirit with which we interact when we feel good! sobreNos1 This is a unique place where we feel the like the pleasure of being with each other and where is proved the spirit of friendship. A special place where enjoying the wine and the portuguese snacks makes us to arouse other shared pleasures and feelings of well-being. In the more intimate indoor environment, or within the street in front of the door, more active and dynamic, we discover small pleasures that become great memories. The Wine Cellar / "Garrafeira" Alfaia is from April 15 place where there is life, where you live! Where between a glass of wine and a snack, we feed relationships for life! We are waiting for you and we like to have visitors, come to experience the flavors of Portugal with us!
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real gem in the Bairro Alto”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stumbled upon this tiny gem as it was near our weekend apartment in Lisbon. We dined on sublime portugese ham (so much better than Spanish ham), gorgeous portugese cheese and olives and the house red which we drank gallons of as it was simply so good. Such a lovely atmosphere, I would have no hesitations in recommending an evening here..even for just a glass of wine. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1980JamesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    84
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's about feeling welcome and among friends (specialy for "Mad Men")”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The thing here is the enviroment. Friendly, cozy, clean. It us like "the friends café" for those who like wine and chating with friends. Pedro is a very welcome owner and Know it all.

MAD MEN: You will feel most welcome there. This place was adopted by advertisement professionals working in Lisbon or passing by. Agency owners, creative people, ad planners, account servives guys, they often meet there to enjoy wine, portuguese food and chill out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergi0_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I should not be reviewing this place!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I should not be reviewing this place! Simply because it will become overcrowded quickly.
On a more serious note, check the wine bar, opposite the restaurant, sit down and ask the patron to walk tou through their simple but yummy tapas and well selected wines' list.
Atmosphere, quality of food, music, perfumes, everything makes this hidden place a must-go den for anyone in search for authentic portuguese experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aureliochine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Gem!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My friend and I ate our last meal in Lisbon at the wee wine bar across the street from the main restaurant. Initially we'd planned to have a drink there while waiting for a table at the restaurant but quickly decided to dine tapas style here. We loved everything, Pata Negra, Chorizo, Sheeps Cheese and salad with gorgeous wine suggested to us by the knowledgeable and humble owner, who spoke excellent English and was attentive and informative. We felt this place really ended our trip to Lisbon with a bang, the food being both typically Portuguese and delicious - every morsel! Recommend 100%

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rawjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We ate here based on Trip Advisor reviews on our first evening in Lisbon during a short weekend visit. We had not booked but were still able to get a table.
My fish stew was decidedly average but my girlfriend was impressed by her 'Costelata Mirandeza'. The half litre carafe of Planalto white wine was both good and excellent value at just under 8 Euros.
The staff were helpful but our waiter did not speak much English and was also busy so service was mixed. Overall a good introduction to portuguese food and an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfaia Garrafeira also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Alfaia Garrafeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing