We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epic Sana - First Class Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Epic Sana - First Class Experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

So, I stay in quite a few hotels, and have done so over many years - I hate many, have general distaste for lots, and am quite ambivalent about most of the others. For me to take time to write a positive review means that the EPIC SANA LISBOA has revitalised my enjoyment of travel and staying in hotels.

Quite simply, the General Manager Filipe Silva, and all of the staff that I came across, have managed to launch this new hotel, putting the customer first ,every single time there is an opportunity for customer engagement.

Ian Crawford

From the moment you step out of the taxi, the door staff, have a sense of warmth and engagement, making eye contact with a friendly smile and welcome, on hand to help with bags, and walk you into the hotel.

In the fine and modern reception area, I was greeted by another staff member and walked over to the reception and check in, where all staff matched the friendly, engaging manner - without exception.

I was then escorted to my room, with a very helpful tour and explanation of the room's various switches and facilities - always beneficial for finding your feet quickly. The next delight, is something so simple, but something that shows, that the designers of this splendid building have listened to customer feedback and worked closely with the management team, to provide a modern and secure environment for today's traveler. The room safe is big enough to fit my lap top and phone - with an electrical charger and light in side. Hoorrahh!

I could continue to wax lyrical about the many other features of this high quality and modern hotel, ranging from the excellent Spa and pool facilities, with secure locker controlled by your room card key, accompanied again by very helpful staff, to the roof top pool and bar area, nevertheless to a very important subject - food.

I do need to make particular mention of the quality of the restaurant. Yet again the fantastic staff (thank you Andrea and crew) help to position your dining experience as pleasurable and memorable, clearly helped by the surroundings and general feel of the place.

Top vote goes to whoever is in charge of the kitchen. I can honestly say that in 20 years of eating food in various hotels in UK, Europe, America, Australia, the food that came out of this kitchen was the best I have ever tasted. The balance of tastes and textures was sublime.

Given that Lisbon, like many cities, has a vast array or restaurants, I can only hope that this restaurant will be included on the wish list of those staying in the hotel, and indeed any visitor to Lisbon, who desires a taste of quality.

My experience of this hotel was first class, and other hotels, who say they are in this class need to complete some serious reviews and revamps, to come anywhere close to the quality standard offered by the EPIC SANA LISBOA and their staff.

Room Tip: My room was facing the road, but the quality of sound proofing, means you don't hear a thing. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    358
    67
    12
    10
See reviews for
243
902
51
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

An absolute gem in a hilltop position great views of the city below from the pool on floor nine,
Staff were very attentive , food was first rate even though a little expensive ,
Rooms were excellent , large clean and modern ,
I would recommend this to family and friends

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is a very nice new 5 star hotel. Nice rooms with automation in lighting and TV behind the mirror !!! The bath was large with an option for physical lighting. Very friendly stuff and the food was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panagiotis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reims, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is a great new hotel in Lisbon. The architecture really has the wow factor, so much attention to detail.
Check-in was friendly and efficient, the room perfect size with a great view over the river Tejo - amazing bathroom with a very large bath. The bed was very comfortable.
The spa area is fantastic with great pool and saunas, lots of little details everywhere which really give the place an amazing feel.
Breakfast was a really good selection, fresh juices were amazing! Service was great, very friendly and quick.
Overall, my stay in the Epic Sana Lisboa was great, I will definitely return when I am in Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fr_reu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

This new hotel oozes that brand spanking new feel. Everything is clean and the service is as you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

The spa and gym facilities are FANTASTIC!!!

They have some great special offers now, book early for the great introductory price and sample this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jsc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Very beautiful new hotel. Rooms are spacious and well decorated with perfect lighting. Bathrooms are modern and fantastic. service is very good. Staff very helpful. The gym and spa and indoor pool are very nice. Good location just off liberdade. Shopping center across the road. The tv's in the rooms are spectacular.

Room Tip: Room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrequenttraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I can't blame the hotel for the rip-off taxi driver - but I can say that I waited far too long to check-in (20 minutes in a long queue), and I don't appreciate staff taking phone calls when they finally get round to serving me.

The in-room TV was terrible. The screen was behind a huge mirror, which was far too reflective - so you just saw yourself and the room... not the TV picture! Most channels were sticky/frozen - totally unusable TV :-(

If I close the curtains before I leave the room - then the fancy room automation should remember this, and not open all the curtains every time I walk in the room. Very frustrating.

Breakfast was also not too smooth - very small portions on show, which ran out far too fast. Tables not cleared fast enough, fruit juices empty or no glasses.... needs working on.

The spa was wonderful though! I enjoyed the Sauna the most - just like being back in Finland! Very Hot - and plenty space to spread out!

I'm sure this will be a great hotel once the 'challenges' are ironed out - but maybe give it a couple of months first...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel73Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel

Property: EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
Address: Av. Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco 15, Lisbon 1070-100, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime strategic location in Lisbon, in Amoreiras, a short distance from Marquês de Pombal and Avenida da Liberdade, the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel offers 311 bedrooms of various types. The comfort of its rooms and a service which is personalised down to the last detail make this Hotel the ideal place to stay when visiting the capital, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel facilities include 2 restaurants with different concepts: the Scale Lobby Bar and, on top of the Hotel, the Up Scale Bar with its infinity pool crown the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel. For meetings and events the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel has 1760 m2 divided into 13 meeting rooms that are able to host events of up to 1300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing