We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True 5 star luxury but a little out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“True 5 star luxury but a little out of the way”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a beautiful, contemporary 5 star hotel. The rooms are spacious and very well equipped. The rooftop bar and pool is idyllic. All of the staff are friendly and very attentive. There is also a huge spa area which includes a pool, steam rooms, sauna and a Turkish bath. The breakfast buffet offered lots of delicious choices. Ty's hard to imagine even the fussiest amongst us finding anything to complain about in terms of the facilities and accommodation at Epic Sana (although the bar prices for drinks were sky high).

However, I've given it an overall rating of 4 due to its location, outside the central activity area of Lisbon. The hotel is a 30 minute walk away from where everything is happening or a 5 euro taxi trip. It is easy enough to get into town but once we saw how fabulous the town was, we wished we were staying amongst the hustle and bustle.

We noticed a number of interesting looking boutique hotels in the central area including Mercy Hotel and the International Hotel that were similarly priced. I think I would choose one of them next time.

Lisbon is an amazing place and there appear to be lots of good accommodation options.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    358
    67
    12
    10
See reviews for
243
902
51
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed at the Epic Sana for one night in late May. It is a new hotel and is very modern but it is located a little far away from the main attractions in Lisbon. However, it is still walking distance to decent restaurants. etc. The rooms are large and clean and the bath/shower is amazing - you are deluged with water. The staff were all helpful and spoke good English. The restaurant and breakfast were both fine. Highly recommended particularly if you are there on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

As we found upon arrival EPIC Sana was officially opened only in May 2013 so this is truly a new hotel which has an ultra-modern design, spacious nicely decorated common areas and huge rooms packed with high-tech innovations (like TV-mirror)
Our room had a king-size veeeeeery comfy bed, sitting area beside the window, nice bathroom with window into the room (with electric shutters, so that you could enjoy privacy) and very big bathtub for two (!), coffee machine (Nespresso) with free mineral water, coffee and tea which was refilled daily, big safe box, bathrobes, slippers etc I like modern design, so this might be one of the best rooms I have ever stayed.
The hotel also has roof pool and bar with nice views at Teju river and part of old city The day we came (saturday) they had DJ and very nice music-show on the roof EPIC also has a SPA with big swimming pool, turkish bath and dry-steam sauna It was free for guests so I could not resist to visit it twice during our four nights stay
Breakfast is superb, better to book a room with brekfast included I believe
Location is not exactly the very heart of the city but it is max 10 min walk to Marq Pombal Sq and metro station and by taxi one can reach almost any place of interest for just 7 to 10 Euro (including Belem Tower, if I remember correctly it costed 10-12) Me and my husband managed to walk all the way from Comerciu Sq to the hotel in 40-45 min There is a big shopping center in just 3 min walk (to the left when leaving hotel) and a good and somewhat famous Italian restaurant Mezzaluna is 5-7 min walk (but advanve booking required) By the way hotel's restaurant is good as well
Hotel's staff is mostly young and really is doing its best to satisfy Probably, a little more training and more experience to house-keeping will make this place just perfect Special thanks to General Manager who personally took care of some minor problems and helped to make our stay unforgettable

Room Tip: All rooms are just great but mostly they have no special views and some face a nearby construction s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Epic Sana while we were at the Rotary International Convention last week. I was a bit leery when we booked it because it has only been open since March 2013. The minute we walked in the lobby my concerns evaporated! The staff was attentive, helpful and eager to serve. Breakfast is included with the room and you don't want to pass it up. The buffet was excellent and may have the best yogurt I've ever eaten. A wonderful selection of meats, cheeses, pastries and fresh fruit was always there. We had poached eggs several mornings that were cooked perfectly. The room was clean and comfortable and very modern. The outdoor pool was a great way to spend the evening after a full day of sightseeing. If you have the chance to stay here, you should, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: You'll need a clock and you'll need to request an iron and ironing board everyday (if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We came to Lisbon for the ECFS conferences hoping to get there early because of jet lag but were delayed by the Air Traffic Controllers' strike in France and diverted to Spain. We were booked at the Sana Lisboa but they accidentally canceled our reservation instead of delaying arrival. Their manager re-booked us at EPIC Sana and sent us email that we received in Spain.

As of 27 Jun, the hotel is not listed by name on Google Maps because it has been open only 3 months. We discovered that police and taxi drivers generally do not know where it is, but the hotel card has the address which Google Maps can find too.

Driving west from Madrid (about 6 hours plus a stop at Merida), one enters Lisbon on A6 and crosses Ponte 25 de Abril, a red suspension bridge which looks like the San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge but has two decks. Take the second exit after the bridge heading east onto Av Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco; the hotel is about 1000 ft on the right. If you miss it, it takes a while to get back because of all the one way streets. I suggest using the traffic circle at Marques de Pombal to make a right turn onto Rua de Braamcamp, go just past the Rato metro stop (small sign on the left), right onto Rua Dom Joao V then eventually right back onto Av Engenheiro Duarte. It will be a mile or two. Roads are twisty and narrow; drivers are aggressive.

Pulling up, one of our teenaged travelers asked, "Are we appropriately dressed?" The hotel entrance is impressive but not busy with plenty of room for parking a few minutes and very patient bell boys in morning coats with tails who were all smiles and blind to our grubby attire. Hertz and Avis will usually pick up rental cars from the hotel, but that day Hertz was already closed and would not open until after our cars were due so we drove the 5 miles back to the airport and took Metro back. The Marques de Pombal Metro stop is about 500-1000 feet downhill at the Square which is actually a traffic circle. That was where we met some very friendly Police Officers who did not know the hotel by name but knew the address.

Check-in was painless. They knew about the re-booking and conveyed apologies and greetings from the managers. Three clerks tried hard to get Hertz to come from the airport to pick up the cars. They also gave spectacular restaurant suggestions the nights that we asked. There didn't seem to be a concierge desk, but the clerks performed perfectly well and never seemed to be too busy for us. All spoke good English and apparently French and German in addition to Portuguese. Our teenagers faces fell whey they apologized that there was no ground floor swimming pool, but the clerks hoped that the two pools, one indoors at the spa and one outside on the roof (with infinity edge) would make up for it. Our teens started beaming. The rooftop pool was spectacular but cool (refreshing after a hot day wandering around Lisbon). Two of us found the spa pool warmer and great for morning swims before going to our conference.

Our 4 rooms were up glass elevators on the 6th floor. Rooms were spacious with either twin beds or king beds as requested originally. Bedding and linens were luxurious as were the towels. There was a silver plate with 4 bite-sized hors d'oeuvres and a note from the manager in each room again apologizing for the switch in hotels. The view from every room looked out over Lisbon, past surrounding buildings, ours included a glimpse of the large bay to the South. The hotel is clearly the newest and most well-kept building in the area. There was a long desk, a round table, two sitting chairs and many lights. Turning on the in-mirror TV showed only the picture; the TV itself was invisible, but the sound control was slightly confusing. Power outlets were the two round plug standard of much of Europe; the front desk will loan or sell (10 Euro) a converter to US plugs. We liked the converter enough to buy it from the hotel. Wireless internet was fast and easy to connect from all four rooms. They give out individual codes per room that allow four simultaneous connections at a time. No extra charge.

The bathroom was spacious with immense rain shower head for the shower/tub combo. The tub was enormous. The wall of the shower is a large window with between-pane motorized blinds that can be raised to allow views through the room and out the room window. The sink is enormous, square and mostly flat in the latest modern style. The toilet and bidet are behind a sliding frosted glass door inside the bath.

Housekeeping was excellent except that they kept putting my toothbrush back into my plastic travel bag and closing it up so that it never dried out. I ended up hiding it so that it would dry between uses. They also did not always replace drinking glasses with clean ones, and in one room, the silver hors d'oevres plate did not get cleared for three days. The closet was spacious with wooden hangers. There was a safe in the closet which was large enough for a computer, a camera or two and probably another bag or computer. The safe had a power plug inside of it.

The breakfast buffet at 7 each morning was included in our booking. It was spectacular and an excellent value. There were many choices of fruit, sliced sausages and hams, hot eggs, potatoes, a selection of artfully done roasted vegetables, smoked salmon, fresh greens, yogurts, cereals and beautiful breads. I have never been to a breakfast bar before where every fruit choice was fresh and perfectly ripe. Usually melons are on the unripe side, but every serving that our whole group (7) had over 4 days was perfectly ripe. Papayas have never been so good in a hotel before. Coffee and tea were served. Juices and water were self-service at the bar.

The only negatives were with housekeeping, a lack of tissues in any of the rooms and a pair of charges for one of the rooms for a drink and snack at the roof top bar that I didn't realize weren't ours until we left Portugal, but the amount was small, and I did have ample opportunity to catch it. It is just hard to do so when checking a receipt for 4 rooms for 7 people. Three rooms also had problems with air conditioning controls which the staff promptly fixed when we called.

Staff recognized us and greeted all of us throughout the stay in the lobby and breakfast areas. Housekeeping made eye contact and were friendly. Check out was friendly and painless. We left by car. The Avis office is an easy 2 blocks away on foot next to the Ritz hotel. I'm sure they would have delivered, but we didn't ask. The Conference Centre in Belem is about a 6 Euro cab ride away (10 minutes, hold on!) or one can get there via metro and bus (maybe 40 minutes).

I am already getting wishful requests from my travel companions and family to go back there some day, preferably soon. I'd love to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were in Lisbon for an international convention and were thrilled to have chosen to stay at the EPIC Sana. It opened for business several weeks before our arrival. Modern, well appointed, with outstanding staff and service. Before our departure from the US, we had communicated with the concierge, Joana, who was most helpful in answering some questions in advance of our arrival. From the moment we arrived at the reception desk until we checked out, every detail was handled with professionalism and efficiency - 4 to 5 star all the way!

The rooms are nicely appointed with modern technology throughout. Coffee/espresso machine; safe; stocked refrigerator; robes/slippers; desk-to-ceiling mirror doubles as your tv, provides hotel information, movies, weather, etc.; free WiFi throughout hotel.

Our first evening we dined in Flor de Lis; fine dining with a nice selection of wines and outstanding service BT Andreia. Buffet breakfast served daily (included in room rate). Two swimming pools - one indoors near the luxurious spa and gym; the other, outdoors with canopied lounges on the 9th floor. Two very nice bars -- Scale, just off the lobby and Upscale, adjacent to the outdoor pool. The bartenders are delightful and very accommodating. All of the staff is empowered to make guests comfortable.

We had a minor medical issue and Bruno at the front desk suggested we go to a local private hospital. We had already been waiting a few hours to see the specialist doctor (who was not on duty that day). During our wait a hotel staff person called us on our cell phone to see how we were progressing. When we mentioned that we were still waiting to see the doctor, she immediately phoned a contact at the hospital and within 20 minutes the doctor arrived! Hotel service above and beyond!

The hotel is located in the Amoreiras district, close to the Metro and buses, a large shopping mall, nice dining and entertainment choices (walking or a short taxi ride).

Any return to Lisbon will include a stay at the EPIC Sana!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We enjoyed an excellent weekend stay at the Epic Sana in Lisbon. The staff were exceptional, its a very well managed hotel with attention to detail in every area, Filipe clearly has high standards. The rooms are delightfully decorated, neither masculine nor feminine, just calming and modern, well equipped with all you need to enjoy your stay. The hotel pool and area was 5 star, unfortunately the surrounding buildings spoil the views. We visited the spa, whose facilities were truly amazing, but we did feel the massages could have been improved, even though the staff were very courteous, we didn't feel they were very skilled. we didn't eat at the hotel, but saw a buffet being prepared - it looked sensational and we wished we had!! The hotel is very well run, staff coldly be more helpful, extremely clean and comfortable , sadly the surrounding buildings is a shame, but hope that they can rectify this in the future. Thank you and well done.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsofpancakelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel

Property: EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
Address: Av. Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco 15, Lisbon 1070-100, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime strategic location in Lisbon, in Amoreiras, a short distance from Marquês de Pombal and Avenida da Liberdade, the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel offers 311 bedrooms of various types. The comfort of its rooms and a service which is personalised down to the last detail make this Hotel the ideal place to stay when visiting the capital, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel facilities include 2 restaurants with different concepts: the Scale Lobby Bar and, on top of the Hotel, the Up Scale Bar with its infinity pool crown the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel. For meetings and events the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel has 1760 m2 divided into 13 meeting rooms that are able to host events of up to 1300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing