We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great hotel with all the comfort one needs with rooms much of-the-art technology. It is easily accessible by bus, from the subway you have to climb 700 meters. There is a friendly and helpful staff. And the breakfast is fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mdebolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Epic Sana is a big place but no less welcoming for it. Its a recently built, modern business style hotel about 1.5 miles from the heart of Lisbon. Rooms are large, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Its a bit of walk to central Lisbon (or a metro ride) but if you're prepared to take your time its not a problem. We had an upgrade to a suite for our stay as there was a large conference in the hotel. Suites are fabulous; spacious and stylish. There're a very large shopping mall nearby if that's your thing and a few decent restaurants in the area but generally most of the action is down at the harbour side.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms will have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpeedMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a very Nice hotel, well located in the city. Not down town but close to it. Close to a mall Amoreiras where you can find everything.
The hotel has a nice pool area at the roof and a good atmosphere

Room Tip: Not the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a fantastic hotel the staff could no be more helpful the service was second to none we would defiantly go back here if I was visiting Lisbon again the food for breakfast was as unlimited and better than very good

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The good: The 5 star hotel opened just a little over a year ago and that shows: the rooms are spacious, with lots of closet space, an open concept bathroom with lots of natural light (no need to worry, shower as well toilet are separated by frosted glass doors) and floor to ceiling windows. The room is very modern and high tech. The TV is incorporated into a big mirror opposite the bed and the sound system is installed right above the bed. The hotel has a nice and very popular rooftop terrace with a small infinity pool (you can't really swim as it isn't very deep at all), comfortable beds and a separate bar area that serves drinks and food. It also has a very nice spa and wellness area with an indoor pool (better option if you want to swim some laps but it isn't very deep either) and I recommend getting a massage! The breakfast buffet has an incredible variety of food and the staff is very keen to make sure you always have fresh coffee and juice. In regards to location, exploring the city is no problem if you are good on foot but bus and metro stops are available nearby and taxis are very affordable in Lisbon.

The bad: Now, despite all the above mentioned the biggest issue the hotel needs to tackle is their 5 star service which currently would be more like a 4 star service: one morning the maid must have been in a rush and forgot to refresh the bathroom amenities and left the empty shower gel and shampoo bottles on the counter, although it was quickly resolved after a phone call it didn't seem to be worth an apology. One night we decided to have one last drink on the roof bar terrace before heading to our room. We were the only guests beside what seemed to be employees off work chatting with the bartender. After he finally came over to our table we were informed that they were out of the port wine we ordered but the bar in the lobby does have it if we wanted to go down - sorry, what? A 5 star service should not cause inconvenience for a guest that is willing to pay 15,00€ for a drink! The lobby bar was empty when we arrived at the hotel earlier so I think someone from the staff could have easily gone down and got the bottle. Also, the bartender didn't know the price after he offered us an alternative port wine. Not impressed. The very popular rooftop pool and it's staff is yet another issue. One day they had 5-6 employees running around and making sure services are provided, the next day only two or none were present at times. It was never clear if you should wait to be shown to an empty bed or not as sometimes the staff would tell you that they already have people waiting and sometimes they wouldn't. We had ordered a couple of drinks and wanted a snack but nothing from the menu. We were informed that you usually get a small assemble of nuts and chips with drinks, after realizing that we didn't got one we were promised to have it brought but alas it never came.

The conclusion: The hotel is still in very good condition (opened in 2013), has lots of natural light, spacious rooms, rooftop infinity pool and bar, a very beautiful spa and wellness area that serves free refreshments and dried fruits, and offers a breakfast buffet that leaves no wishes unsatisfied. Free bottled water and chocolates are provided each day upon returning to your room. Yet the service level of certain staff members has a lot of room for improvement in order to achieve a repetitive outstanding level. After all, this really would give you the expected 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 5 days in July 2014 and I can say the hotel deserves all 5 of its stars. Big rooms, great breakfast and excellent spa facilities.
Only problem is that the drinks at the bar can be really expensive, though the bartender really knows how to make a mojito!
A word of advice. If you get a room anywhere above the 3rd floor, ask for an even-numbered room. They are the ones with a view to the city and the sea. The odd-numbered rooms have a less spectacular view to the park or the street.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Eftichis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed two nights at the EPIC SANA in a Deluxe Suite on the 8th floor and had a great time! I will have to give this hotel five stars. It is a very modern, high-tech hotel with extremely nice designs in the room. Expect to spend some time to figure out the lights, electric curtains, sound, bluetooth, espress machines etc, but it is cool. Other positives are:
* Breakfast is excellent!
* The SPA is very good with swimming pool inside, speam sauna and normal sauna.
* Walking distance to a huge shopping center
* Excellent beds
* I had a wonderful massage, highly recommended

Some improvements could be made:
* Staff in SPA not very attentative. Key card not working propely for lockers and pool access. Details not smooth.
* Capacity at the outdoor terrace and swimming pool is far under-dimentioned. I did not get place there at all (but plenty of spaces inside in SPA, so no big deal).
* Hotel location is not great if you are there to see Lisbon sights. You will not be able to walk to city center (well, you can in 20-30 minutes). The walk from subway is steep. But taxis are cheap and easily available, so no big deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
5.0 mi away
Myriad by SANA Hotels
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
0.8 mi away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel
1.1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#41 of 255 in Lisbon
5,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel

Address: Av. Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco 15, Lisbon 1070-100, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £138 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime strategic location in Lisbon, in Amoreiras, a short distance from Marquês de Pombal and Avenida da Liberdade, the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel offers 311 bedrooms of various types. The comfort of its rooms and a service which is personalised down to the last detail make this Hotel the ideal place to stay when visiting the capital, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel facilities include 2 restaurants with different concepts: the Scale Lobby Bar and, on top of the Hotel, the Up Scale Bar with its infinity pool crown the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel. For meetings and events the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel has 1760 m2 divided into 13 meeting rooms that are able to host events of up to 1300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing