We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Lisboa stsy”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Daydream7...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE APARTMENT/HORRIBLE HOST. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this apartment, several months in advance of our arrival, through our travel agent, and pre-paid $4,000 for a 23 day stay.

The owner, Pedro, agreed to meet us upon our arrival, show us the details of the apartment and walk us through the neighborhood to show us his favorite restaurants, bars and stores.

As with everything else, he lied. We arrived to find that he had taken off for Germany and a friend of his let us in, handed us the keys and promptly left.

We had no idea how to operate anything in the apartment, where we were in relation to the areas of Lisbon that we know, nor even how to find a mini-market to buy water. We had no information as to how to contact Pedro or anyone else. And, in fact, we never met Pedro nor heard from him.

The description of the apartment, and the pictures, are a complete misrepresentation. We knew it was a fourth story walk-up, which was fine with us. In fact, it is five stories, not so much of stairs but basically ladders! I have only seen such steep, short stairs in the townhouses that line the canals of Amsterdam. And, these were so poorly lit, I missed a bottom step on one of the landings the first morning and badly sprained my ankle. Access in and out of the apartment is miserable.

The apartment has no television. The bed is neither a king nor a queen but an old fashioned double. Besides the bed, there is one short sofa and one dining table with six chairs - that is the extent of the furniture. The shower cycles warm for 15 seconds then cold for 45. The view of the river is a glimpse of it through either an elevated living room window or from the 30 inch wide balcony. Even the most aggressive Beverly Hills realtor could not justify calling this a "river view" apartment.

We have rented apartments in Lisbon before, and elsewhere, and the hosts have always provided a two or three day supply of basics - milk, O.J., bread, butter, cheese, etc.. Pedro's welcome was a box of cereal that had been opened and half eaten - disgusting - a half jar of instant coffee and five tea bags. No water, and not even any ice in the ice trays in the freezer.

The day before we left for Portugal, our travel agent advised us that suddenly Pedro was demanding 148 euros from us on our arrival to reimburse him for his Pay Pal fees - what??? Who does that?

We left this miserable place after the second night and checked into a hotel. Pedro refused to return any of our money, although he no doubt re-rented the apartment immediately, as June is the height of the tourist season in Lisbon and hotel rooms and apartments are in scarce supply.

In short, it was a very bad experience. Please avoid it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
As per this guest's review, they were welcomed by my friend - who has welcomed many of guests before and lives right across the street. My friend greeted this couple outside in order to help carrying up their bags. According to his description, these guests arrived heavily alcoholized from their long-haul trip from LA. They were inappropriate with my friend (who is also gay, but felt really bad about the type of comments received and the whole situation) as well as inviting random strangers from the street to come to the apartment. After these incidents, one of the guests hurt himself going up the stairs - which could be linked to the large amounts of alcohol consumed. This behaviour continued with heavy shouting and complaining about everything, including their long-haul flight in Business Class (instead of First Class). In this building there are "real people" living, not just tourists. Daniel and his husband felt insulted when they were kindly warned about how to behave and how not to and they continued with their unruly behavior. Having stayed in Lisbon before, I now ask myself why they are not accepted in the other apartments as repeated guests. The guests left the apartment feeling insulted - and I do apologize for that: it was not at all our intention. All we wanted to avoid is problems between any unruly guests and our neighbors. The travel agent had described Daniel and his husband as a fit, wealthy, 70 years old couple; she had not mentioned they lack of respect for others and for the apartment itself. Both will not be tolerated in my apartment - because experiencing "local life" is respecting the local life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetwa
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Lisboa stsy”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Loved the Lisbon apartment everything we needed was close mercado ,restaurants and Pefro was very helpful highly recommend this location we love to walk so could walk everywhere but not in the busy tourist area fabulous views from the apartment overlooking the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjelwood
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The apartment is in a great location, within walking distance of all the major Lisbon attractions - Rossio, Baixa District, Placa do Comércio, and Castelo S Jorge. The views are incredible and the apartment makes for a very authentic stay in Portugal. Additionally, Pedro's customer service is great - he is responsive, helpful, and friendly. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Lisbon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2017
Thank you so much Stephen for your review. I was very happy to exchange with you ideas about how to make the best out of your holidays in Portugal and I am happy to read that this was helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneEvi
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Cozy”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the apartment for 6 nights in September 2016 while on a tour of Portugal, and we loved it. It is a charming apartment at the top floor of walkup apartment building. Very agreeable and well thought layout, with plenty of storage spaces, two English balconies in front and back, bedroom well insulated from the living room. Centrally located, it is quiet, comfortable and feel spacious for 2 or even a 3 people. There are small grocery stores around, and local restaurants nearby, all conveniently located. No parking included, but there is a parking garage 5-10 minutes away, for $25 /day. Otherwise it may be difficult to find parking.

The apartment is well maintained, tastefully decorated, clean, and fully equipped with all the necessary appliances. Above all it is comfortable and homey. Booking and communication with the owner were easy, straightforward, and prompt.

Should we return to Lisbon, we would not look for any other lodging facility. We would definitely stay here again and we recommend it warmly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egfriess
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“------------Great Views of Lisbon”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Easy to communicate with Pedro about logistics. He was very helpful with orientation to the space and neighborhood and basic survival information. Beautiful, clean apartment with views and light and all the amenities-except, no elevator and lugging suitcases up 5 flights was the only struggle. We enjoyed this location very much and found everything needed with in 15 minutes walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth K
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Remarkable”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful apartment with stunning views and facilities. We loved it. Pedro met us there and his recommendations for the local restaurants are well worth noting. Thank you for a lovely week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulV3951
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best apartment in Lisbon”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Fantastic, well kitted out apartment in nice area with good local restaurants. Fairly quiet street. Best thing is the view. Some may not like the 60 steps to the front door - lovely old building but no lift. However the view is worth the climb. Friendly and helpful owners. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, balcony - and conmfortable living room
Liked least: Shower could be better. Bed not overly comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing