We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossibly clean, Very comfortable rooms, Very personable & professional staff”
Review of Olissippo Saldanha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olissippo Saldanha
Ranked #38 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Impossibly clean, Very comfortable rooms, Very personable & professional staff”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had an excellent experience staying 4 nights at Olissippo Saldanha.

The hotel is impossibly clean. Rooms and washrooms are sparklingly clean. Lobby is very clean. Dining area for breakfast is very clean.

The rooms are modern and comfortable and the air conditioning works very well. The room safe, while expected to some degree, is none the less appreciated and allowed us to store valuables.

The staff are extremely pleasant yet professional. All front desk employees speak perfect English and are very helpful.

Lisbon is an eminently navigable city using it's modern and efficient metro and public transportation system. Barrio Alto and Alfama are about 10 minutes away from the hotel by subway. And the Saldanha subway stop is a mere 2 minute walk from the hotel. We much preferred staying in the Saldanha district in the modern, spacious, and clean Olissippo Saldanha than contend with a older, smaller, and potentially less clean room and facility in a hotel closer to Barrio Alto or Alfama.

Breakfast is good and had eggs, meats, cheese, yogurt, fruits and vegetables, breads, pastries, juices, coffee, etc.

We also liked the area around the hotel. It's a district with a lot of families and is also close to offices. We ate at two restaurants in the area -- Pavao and Amazonas. The meals we had at these two restaurants were better than what we had in the city centre and lower in price. These restaurants cater the neighborhood locals and consequently depend on their reputation. And reputation they deliver in spades.

We unreservedly recommend Olissippo Saldanha and would return in a heartbeat on our next trip to Lisbon.

A suggestion: The comforters/duvets are luxurious and first rate but a bit heavy for summer use. We found we had to lower the A/C temperature to offset the heat from the heavy comforter/duvet

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Many thanks for such a wonderful review on our hotel and staff. We work hard to meet our guests expectations and it is very rewarding to read such praises on our team. Kindest regards from Lisbon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    223
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
398
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I just came back from a four day trip to Lisbon and stayed at the Olissippo Saldanha for 3 nights. We had an amazing experience. The staff was really nice and professional and helpful. They should all get raises! The room was brilliant and super clean. The breakfast was delicious. Overall, it was really nice to stay here and it added to our amazing trip in Lisbon. The location is absolutely perfect as it's two seconds from the metro which is extremely convenient. Good job Olissippo Saldanha!!! We recommend you 100%!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Thank you very much for your praises on our hotel and our staff. We do our best every day to provide the best possible service to our guest and it is very rewarding when we read comments such as yours. We hope to see you back at the Olissippo Saldanha. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in November-2013. Arrived and were checked in and we got to our room and it wasn't what I had booked so I went down to reception and they moved us to the correct room. The room was lovely and spacious, great black out shutters and a huge bathroom. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was included and it was fine, although its in the basement, would have been nice to be in an area where you could see out.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you are staying for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days in August as a base to explore Lisbon. The hotel looks clean and modern, staff very friendly and English speaking, which was helpful as my Portuguese is poor! I was informed that I had ordered an extra large bed, which they were pleased to be able to provide - I didn't remember ordering this, but was happy to accept!
We didn't eat at the hotel as there were lots of cafés nearby and also a supermarket round the corner where we could get breakfast, as we were on a bit of a budget.
Location is good, just around the corner from Saldanha metro where you can get to the old town easily. You can also get the metro to the Cais do Sodre train station to go to the beaches at Estoril and Cascais or visit Belem - it takes about 50 mins to get to Cascais and about 15 to get to Belem by train. Public transport us very cheap - it cost us less than €1.50 to go the 30 or 40km journey to Cascais! They use a prepay card system like the Oyster card in London. Taxis are also reasonable too if you miss the last metro back to the hotel - from the river front it cost about €6 to the hotel.
Lisbon itself is beautiful but there are areas where you do feel as though you must watch your belongings and we were offered drugs on many occasions near the main square by the river - luckily, the area around the hotel is not like this and we felt safe there.
Our room had a balcony which was also a pleasant surprise. Very good value for the location too. Maid service was daily and they even arranged my dog shaped travel pillow artistically on the bed which was a cute touch.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EvilHomerBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay, the city of Lisbon and the surrounding areas such as Cascais. Kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked a superior room with a Queen bed, which had a nice layout with a seating area in front of the bed. This would be considered a suite by many hotels. I thought it was well worth the added price for the superior room, since we valued our hotel experience much more. It was quiet, extremely spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and luxurious, with double sinks and a fantastic shower. There was a stocked fridge, with reasonable prices.



There was a balcony but not a very appealing view. There were automatic shades on all windows letting in tons of light if you want it, and they did a great job of darkening the room in the morning.

Some people like to be in the middle of the action. If that is important, this hotel is not for you, but rather a metro ride away. It was no big deal for us, because we really wanted a more comfortable room, which we were happy with. Breakfast was good.



The hotel is easily accessible to the metro which takes only a couple of minutes to walk to. We had a late flight, and took a taxi to the hotel, which cost about 20 Euro. Our cab driver was a little unsure where the hotel was exactly, so you may want to know exactly where it is if you take a taxi. (Avenida Praia da Vitória 30 on the north side of the street, between Avenida Defensores de Chaves and the Saldanha metro stop.) There is a 24 hour reception. 



Although the airport is easily accessible from the hotel through the metro, we ended up taking a taxi upon our departure, which the front desk clerk called for us. The taxi driver charged us a three Euro extra fee on top of the fare, for this special trip to the hotel. We paid it, but I think it was a dishonest practice. Next time, I would ask if there are going to be any extra charges on top of the fare on the meter, before getting inside a taxi. 



If you buy metro cards, you will need to get a separate one for each person. We learned this the hard way when ours would not work for two people using it consecutively.

Not a charming location, but the interiors of the rooms will make up for what the area lacks. Good rooms in great locations at fair prices are very rare in any big city, and after searching dozens of other hotels, this one was my choice.

There was a mall across the street from the metro station where they have an ATM machine inside.

The hotel staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacredphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Loved the staff as they were so easy to communicate and connect with. Celia and Ricardo are by far the stars at this hotel and are the main reason this review is Excellent. I hope management takes the time to read this and recognize their contributions to the success of this hotel. It is a very new hotel, the taxi driver (a veteran taxi driver) kind of questioned the validity that there was in fact a hotel by the name and address given to him... too funny ! Well, it exists. It is wonderfully contemporary and in a location that is very close to the Entrecampos train station and very close to the AeroBus stop (1 min. walk) that takes you to the airport for a few euros. This proximity to train and plane as well as the reviews on here are some of the reasons why I chose this hotel for a one night stay. The room was impeccably clean. The beds and linens are super comfy and the shower, ahhhhh, wonderful. Well done ! Keep up the great customer service, it makes the stay more memorable and worth the time to write a review.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliveira_David, Gerente geral at Olissippo Saldanha, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very please to read such nice words. We are fully aware of the contribution that the staff members have in building a name/reputation and we thank you very much for mentioning it. Regarding the taxi not knowing the hotel, it might be because we are open for a year only now. Again we thank you for choosing Olissippo Saldanha and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice comfortable hotel, a bit business like and not in the middle of the touristic area but then what you give up on location and charm you add in comfort. My husband has a bad back and then comfort is key : very close, 2 mins walk to the metro station, straight to the airport and with elevator access, good shower and a good bed. I was happy with the spacious clean room, lovely breakfast and the quiet at night. Staff is helpful and efficient. We're glad with our choice.
And if you want to go downtown you walk to the metro and it takes about 15 mins to go to Rossio Alfama or bairro alto.and when tired you get an excellent night sleep in your nice hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woefsterinthebeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 247 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#50 of 247 in Lisbon
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 247 in Lisbon
1,167 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 247 in Lisbon
224 reviews
HF Fenix Music
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Saldanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Saldanha

Property: Olissippo Saldanha
Address: Avenida Praia da Vitoria 30 | Arroios, Lisbon 1000-248, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Olissippo Saldanha 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the square of the same name, the Olissippo Saldanha is located at Avenida Praia da Vitória nº30, very close to a modern business center, just 1,3 km from the Marquês de Pombal, 3,5 km from Bairro Alto and 5,5 km from Lisbon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olissippo Saldanha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing