We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine
Ranked #29 of 504 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were 10 adults and 3 children and a baby for the first time in Portugal.
We went there for 2 nights and it was amazing.
The apartments are just perfect ;clean, modern equipment, well located near shopping streetr restaurants, bars and public transports.
Mariana helped me out with everything ;transfer from airport ( bus with 25 seats) and restaurant reservation.
Thank you Mariana!
Next time in Lisboa will be for sure at casas da baixa :-)

Room Tip: Just call Mariana or send her an email and she will arrange everything!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked an apartment at Casas da Baixa after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and Booking.com, and must say we were very pleased with our decision. Our room was on the 3rd floor – we had been upgraded to an apartment which included a bedroom, bathroom, lounge with sofa bed and kitchen; it was beautifully and tastefully decorated and surprisingly light, airy and modern. The quality of the fitting and appliances and attention to décor was really exceptional – full credit to the interior designer who directed the renovations to this apartment!
The location is also excellent. Although the street is on the run-down side and frankly a bit dingy, it is in fact only one minutes’ walk from the Praco do Comercio and the Rua Augusta, one of the main tourist areas of Lisboa, and about 10 mins walk from Rossio Square which is the Centre of the City (from here you catch the train to Sintra). Nearby apartments are being renovated so it looks like this part of Baixa is on its way up!
The apartment sits in the shadow of the Castle of St Jorge, which is about 15 minutes uphill walk, and is virtually on the track of the famous 28 tram which navigates the narrow roads and lanes up the hill and past the Castle. Despite its proximity to the city centre, at night it was very quiet and we slept peacefully undisturbed during our stay. The streets around this area are populated with many cafes, restaurants and shops, some of whom sell very fine products at very good prices (shoes and bags in particular). There’s an all night café just around the corner that sells surprisingly good beef burgers, and a small supermarket one block west on a small road that is very hard to see unless you walk right past it (the ferry station at Cais de Sodre has a bigger supermarket if you need one – it’s about 8 mins walk westwards).
The kitchen has a fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee maker (but no kettle), plates/bowls, pots/pans and cutlery/utensils etc, so is pretty well provisioned. The sofa bed was a double and comfortable, while the main bed was situated in an old fireplace – quaint and inventive!
There are no laundry facilities available, but there is a laudromat (called Lavamil) on the nearby Rua da Madelena (number 231), about 5 mins walk (uphill) from the apartment. An iron and ironing board are available from the manager upon request.

Note: The entrance to Casas is a big dark green wooden door in a rather dingy street. There is a small sign above the door and next to the door is the key pad for which you will be given a code number to gain access to the building. There is no reception in the usual sense of the word, although the manager appears to work from apartment 1D, so don’t lose your access code numbers to the main front door and to your apartment door or else you will be locked out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKEELAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I fully endorse the previous excellent reviews - these charming apartments (I saw 3, all equally good) have been sensitively renovated to combine light modern decor with direct references to Portuguese history and culture; eg the original 18th century 'earthquake-proof' construction is displayed, there are classic poems written on the wall. Staying at Casas da Baixa becomes a significant part of the experience of historic Lisbon - but with an excellent modern kitchen and bathroom and first-rate appliances throughout. (Perhaps style takes precedence, but who really cares about a chest of drawers on a short visit?) Many thanks to Mariana for all her advice and suggestions. We would always hope to be able to stay there if we return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Casas da Baixa in the November for a city weekend trip to Lisbon. Of all the hotels and apartment's I have stayed in Europe I ranked this apartment as one of the best. The location was superb, just a stones throw from the waters edge and the old town where the best shops and restaurants are located. Also just down the road from one of Tram 28's route. The standard of accommodation was superb, lovely bright and clean spacious rooms, wifi in the rooms, just a very well kitted out apartment. We had a Nespresso machine in our kitchen.
Easy access to the apartment with out needing a key!
The host Mariana went beyond our expectations for a friendly service and was so helpful during our stay. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

There was no frustration in principal except there was no drawer in the room. Staff was friendly and kind, the room was clean and the access to the historical places is very good. There are a lot of the restaurants and also the shops (including supermarket) around the apartment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yusuke197601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at a comfortable, clean and modern apartment. The location also is very convenient to discover Lisbon. Finally, communication with the Customer Service Manager was really easy and practical.
We recommend this accomodation. Prices are good for the flat quality and the services offered by the Customer Service Manager, always available, even on Christmas Day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent à Three days stay in this casas baixa ressort That is located in center of lisboa,close to shopping and central train stations. . Nicely décored. with modern facilities . Équipes with wifi (for kitds )We were advised by a very Nice hostess. Merci. X.m. L

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Madalena Hermitage
Madalena Hermitage
#19 of 504 in Lisbon
168 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
The Lisbonaire Apartments
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Residentas Apostolos
Residentas Apostolos
#20 of 504 in Lisbon
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pateo Lisbon Lounge Suites
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Almaria EX Libris Chiado
Almaria EX Libris Chiado
#24 of 504 in Lisbon
59 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Colours
Lisbon Colours
#27 of 504 in Lisbon
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine

Address: Rua de Sao Juliao 23, Lisbon 1100-524, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 504 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £75 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a renovated 18th-century building set in the historic centre of Lisbon downtown, Casas da Baixa offers self-catering apartments between Comércio and Rossio Square. All feature free WiFi.Decorated with pastel shades mixed with decorative pieces is bold colours, the apartments at Jules & Madeleine are elegant. All apartments include a living room with a double sofa-bed and a flat-screen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing