We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine
Ranked #29 of 504 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our stay at Casas da Baixa was an excellent experience! Very pleasant apartments, nice decoration, great facilities (fully-equipped kitchen, TV, WIFI, Air-conditioning). The location could not be better! Easy access to tram, metro and bus. Mariana, manager of the hotel, and the hotel staff were extremely friendly and very helpful! Really enjoyed our stay! If we return to Lisbon, we will definitely choose again for this accommodation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sultipulti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

This recently renovated apartment in a historical building is in an ideal location in Lisbon. It is a short walk from Rossio Square (train station to Sintra), Praco do Comercio (waterfront and Metro) and Rua Augusta (pedestrian shopping/dining street). It is also very near the trams (15 to Belam and the 28 to the castle). For the price and location, it offered great value.
The three of us stayed in a studio apartment. With the sofa bed open on one side and the queen bed on the other side, the room was fairly crowded. The kitchen is well equipped, but we never used it. We would have been happier with a smaller kitchen and a larger room.
The one issue we had was with housekeeping. They are supposed to come every second day. However they only came once during our 5 day stay. We had to e-mail and get our toiletries replenished and our towels changed after few days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Location location location! Walking distance from everything you want to see. A 2-minute walk to Praça do Comércio, next to Alfama and Rossio square. Even at night, it's very safe to walk back home. Couldn't ask for better location! Mariana is really sweet and helpful! She offered to help us with restaurant reservations and generally with everything we needed! She even had welcome treats because of Valentine's day!
The studio was exceptionally cleaned when we arrived, modern and fully equipped. As for the building it is a renovated traditional Portuguese building with an excellent architectural taste and decoration. We definitely recommend it and we are sure that we will come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Despina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fantastic hotel,large size bed room with kitchen in fully kitchen ware. Password for all the doors
so no need to bring keys or card.
Good location,convienience transportation.
Very nice staff
unforgetable experience and is my first option to travel lisboa.


  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We've had an amazing time in Lisbon. The apartment was very comfortable, clean, quiet, in a good location - not so far from the bigest tourist atraction. Just fabulous!
There was no problem.
We're sure that we'll came back to Casas de Baixa - Jules & Madeleine.
Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is such an excellent place to stay while in Lisbon. The flat was immaculate with all equipment needed to feel at home. Mariana was so very helpful to us by calling in reservations at a local restaurant and offering us tour possibilities. She also upgraded our flat as she had one available. The flat is in a perfect location and decorated beautifully. We will definitely stay here again if we have the opportunity to return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Exactly as described, apartments are very comfortable and nicely decorated with special attention to details. They have anything one would expect from a four stars hotel. Clean, large and recently rebuilt building is located near everything.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Madalena Hermitage
Madalena Hermitage
#19 of 504 in Lisbon
168 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
The Lisbonaire Apartments
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Residentas Apostolos
Residentas Apostolos
#20 of 504 in Lisbon
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pateo Lisbon Lounge Suites
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Almaria EX Libris Chiado
Almaria EX Libris Chiado
#24 of 504 in Lisbon
59 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Colours
Lisbon Colours
#27 of 504 in Lisbon
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine

Address: Rua de Sao Juliao 23, Lisbon 1100-524, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 504 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £75 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a renovated 18th-century building set in the historic centre of Lisbon downtown, Casas da Baixa offers self-catering apartments between Comércio and Rossio Square. All feature free WiFi.Decorated with pastel shades mixed with decorative pieces is bold colours, the apartments at Jules & Madeleine are elegant. All apartments include a living room with a double sofa-bed and a flat-screen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing