We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine
Ranked #29 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Zevergem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a perfect place to stay when you want to visit Lisboa. The apartments are in a fully renovated building, with all the comfort you need. The design is class , it is really a place to feel at home. We had a apartment on the 4th floor, it was quiet and fresh. We had one bedroom in the back and could sleep with open windows, witch was super and quiet. The service was perfect, bed and towels changed every other day. The system of code locks is so easy, no stress about keys, everyone can come and go as he likes. The location is really the best, you are near everything you need to visit and all the nice places for dinner or breakfast . I would definitely go back there and recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: The higher , the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
131
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After a warm welcome by the manager herself we were ready to step out the door and directly discover the city centre! The apartment itself was very nice; perfectly situated in the centre (near Praca do Comercio), clean, light, trendy and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haacht, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed 4 days in a studio at Casas da Baixa. No check-in or check-out fuss, it all goes automatically with the entrance code. All comfort is available: lots of daylight in the apartments, no noise, nice kitchen, wifi, elevator, i.e. all you need. Very well located, close to the water, close to restaurants and metro. Very neat and clean. Can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huguette66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Location: The apartment was very central and so well located for all things really, although this did also mean the surrounding streets were a little noisy first thing in the morning despite the double glazing. That said, I am a stupidly light sleeper! I did also fall back to sleep quite quickly each morning!

Style:
The style of the apart emir t was fab- just like our first flat in Norting Hill- old building newly renovated with lovely hog ceilings, minimalist design etc etc. had a great feel although could have done with a few hooks to hang stuff here and there and perhaps a tiny bit more storage space.

Service:
Mariana was fab- got food I beforehand as we were arriving late and also stopped by a couple of times to see if we needed anything. She was also super responsive to emails. The only possibly missing was a decent map as the one provided was poor quality and showed very few streets. She did, however, provide a good list of restaurants etc.

Altogether a fab stay and escape from our two young kids for 4 nights!!! Yay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappersfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Casa de Baxia came highly recommended to us by two colleagues who both were previous customers. The property is so well located, all downtown attractions are only a walk away. Metro station, tram and bus stops and also train stations are also just a walk away and there are several eating places and cafes around (you will be spoilt for choice). We were a family of two adults, two children (7 and 4 yrs old) and we booked the superior one bedroom apartment for 6 days in April 2014. The apartment was a very good size for our family, with one bedroom containing a double bed and a double sofa bed in the lounge (which was kept ready for us when we arrived at 12:30 in the night!), a dining area and an adequate, very well equipped kitchenette and bathroom. The apartment itself was very charming, tastefully decorated, well equipped with all facilities (although, the addition of a washing machine cum dryer would be an added bonus) and very clean (a major plus with me). There was free wifi and free local telephone calls from a landline. The cleaning service was also very good. They changed towels regularly and also vaccumed the floors for us on request. The service from Marianna, the manager was excellent. She went the extra mile to help us with all sorts of things like airport transportation to begin with. She had already left us a list of recommendations for restaurants when we arrived but in addtion, she was very forthcoming with responses (via email and telephone) to all sorts of further personal enquiries, including where the nearest supermarket was, recommendations for good fado houses etc. She also visited personally one morning, which was very useful as we could feedback and make requests to her directly. This apartment is highly recommended for it's central location (which made eating out and travelling, even to places outside Lisbon, a very easy and pleasant experience), cleanliness, friendly and excellent service, all coupled with a reasonable price (a balance hard to find easily in a big city in a central location). I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCh281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I am extremely happy with my choice for staying at this apartment. My absolute top priority when choosing accommodation is location and cleanliness, but finding a balance between paying an arm and a leg and something cheap. These apartments definitely ticked these boxes and much more. The location is perfect as its near Praca do Comercio, an easy place to get to and find on all maps and transportation stops- ideal for the tourist. There are plenty shops and cafes and restaurants within walking distance, saving money on transport. The tourist information booth is also on Praca do comercio- which came in handy as we wanted to use a tourist bus.
The apartment itself was super super clean. And being slightly OCD with cleanliness, I tend to notice the smallest of things in this department. They are well furnished, modern and supply everything you need. The kitchen came with all the utensils I could need, the bathroom included toiletries, and there was free wifi, a phone for calling local numbers for free and TV with plenty channels. The doors were locked with pass codes, so didnt need to faf around with keys. We stayed 3 nights, and all towels were replaced once- which we were completely fine with. Mariana the service manager was an absolute delight, maintained email contact before, during and after and made sure we were comfortable and happy with everything. We were also able to leave our luggage in the cleaning room on the last day as our flight wasnt until the evening. If I ever came to Lisbon again, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.
One thing to say was the apartment was alot smaller than we thought from the pictures, but it suited two of us just fine and nothing to complain about. But 3 or more people may get a bit cramped...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ideally situated to discover this beautiful city, Casas exceeded our expectations during our last city trip in March. Very nice appartment, fully equipped, very clean, friendly hotel staff and Mariana, the hotel manager, who's ready to go the extra mile to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We're definetely coming back.
Claudia and Marco

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc0Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Madalena Hermitage
Madalena Hermitage
#17 of 470 in Lisbon
161 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#5 of 470 in Lisbon
569 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Residentas Apostolos
Residentas Apostolos
#24 of 470 in Lisbon
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Emporium Lisbon Suites
Emporium Lisbon Suites
#31 of 251 in Lisbon
138 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 8 - Downtown Suites
The 8 - Downtown Suites
#25 of 470 in Lisbon
175 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
The Lisbonaire Apartments
The Lisbonaire Apartments
#10 of 470 in Lisbon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine

Property: Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine
Address: Rua de Sao Juliao 23, Lisbon 1100-524, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a renovated 18th-century building set in the historic centre of Lisbon downtown, Casas da Baixa offers self-catering apartments between Comércio and Rossio Square. All feature free WiFi.Decorated with pastel shades mixed with decorative pieces is bold colours, the apartments at Jules & Madeleine are elegant. All apartments include a living room with a double sofa-bed and a flat-screen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing