We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect newly renovated hotel”
Review of Hotel Santa Justa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Justa
Ranked #18 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in September, and what a great experience. The hotel is either brand new or newly renovated with a cool a stylish decor through and through. The rooms are not huge but of a high standard with a stylish bathroom, a great bed, Smart TV and free minibar. The breakfast buffet is one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had. Not overvwhelming in choice, but with fresh products. The location - smack in the middle of Lisbon - is actually the only downside, as one has to walk past a line of tourist restaurants with very "agressive" waiters trying to lure you in. Fortunately the windows are sound proof, so you dont hear any of the commotion in the street during the night.

And finally: I found a 20 Euro bill and a note from the maid one day, stating that she had found a 20 Euro bill behind the bed. Thats good service (I gave 10 Euros to the maid afterwards).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Booked 4 nights there in Sept 2013. Loved it so much, stayed another 3 nights. We both completely loved it, and we're older and picky. Brand new hotel, everything wonderful. Unique, boutique style. Gorgeous room - we were in 402, very large room, very large bathroom, everything brand new, quite stylish. Sheets, towels, bed all excellent. Large closet, lots of room to hang clothes or put on shelves. Biggest room have ever had in Europe. Own mini fridge, very handy, and no charge to use it to chill own things. All rooms have large windows facing the lane (Rue Correeiros), which is pedestrian only (Is lined with restaurants though, quite a nice stroll). Windows were excellent quality, totally blocked the noise. Great black-out curtains too. Our room had a balcony, was so nice to step out and look down the lane. Nice TV. Wi-Fi connection excellent, and completely free - as fast as what we have in Canada, fantastic.
Safe in room as well, but we never used it. Very safe hotel.
Bathroom was most luxurious I've ever used - all marble everywhere, huge rain-shower style rain-head in ceiling, as well as hand held shower wand, and multiple wall jets, and all this within a huge (!) jacuzzi bathtub with 5 settings, the options were endless. Glass shower stall doors leaked a bit, so we had a puddle on the floor in the bathroom after taking a shower, but a minor thing, asked for extra towels, was no issue. Big counter in the bath, and shelf for all things. And the toilet even had a water wand for a bidet experience, which is a nice option.
Front desk staff were excellent! Nicest in Europe that I've come across, all so helpful. And all spoke excellent English, and so friendly, no attitude at all, great smiles. Very helpful. Am sure they also spoke Spanish, and maybe French too, very smart. We asked for some restaurant recommendations and they gave us great places to go, very unique, not in either of our guide books or big picks on TA, but best places we went, so unique. Really great staff.
Location excellent in the heart of the city, in Baxia. About a 30 second walk to square Praca Figuieria, where can grab a taxi in seconds, and is stop for Yellow Bus double-deckers, and for city metro tram 15 (which goes to monastery). Also on that corner is Cafeteria National, fantastic and authentic spot for an espresso or pastry (about 1 minute from leaving hotel to swilling espresso with tart, if time it right). About 2 more minutes to square Rossio, where there is a tourist info booth, and a metro stop. About a 20 minute walk straight down Rue Correeiros to Praca Do Comercio, main square by the river, great for pix and to get yellow bus company tram 28, if want. Location of hotel absolutely excellent! Also a very short walk to the elevador de Santa Justa. Some grocery type stores nearby too, to buy water or whatever (went to Celerios a few times, nice). (but water in Lisbon tasted ok to me and totally safe).
This hotel is great value for money. Did not pay for breakfast, so can't comment on that. Would definitely recommend to friends. Oh Ya - AND when we checked in on our first day, the brought up 2 glasses of port and 2 pastel de bata. Lovely touch.
Ok - just thought of 1 complaint - there is a Nespresso machine in the room, but they only provide 2 nespresso packs for free, no matter how long you stay. We stayed 7 nights total, and still, only 2 packs (not 2 per day, just 2 in total) and if wanted more, would be 2 euro each, bit stingy. Since could get 70 cent hot, fresh, excellent espresso at Cafeteria National, 1 minute walk away, we didn't get anymore. Otherwise, everything else fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms face Rue Correeiros, I think, so are same in that respect. Loved our room, 402, very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinaZ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The location is great and the room was perfect for us (young couple). We stayed 3 nights but arrived early on our first day and left with a late check out. They accommodated us for both with a minor surcharge. Our room had breakfast included which was great and the young man working the coffee bar was very kind and hospitable. Although the hotel is right in the thick of things, you hear nothing outside. The front desk helped us choose & make reservations from a list of places we had already prechosen. Overall an excellent stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillianp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want a hotel with huge comfortable beds, crisp clean sheets, perfect sound proofing, air conditioning that works quietly and efficiently and a location close to many historical sights with easy access to transport links and staff whose recommendations are spot on then look no further.

The Santa Justa was all of this and much more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fergal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to Lisbon and when I arrived I was very happy with the location of the hotel.

Room was big enough as was the bathroom.

I would however stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very clean, modern hotel in a restored building in the very center of Lisbon, with warm and friendly staff. Close to Public Transport and historic sights, in immediate vicinity to the San Justa elevador. There are some real nice restaurants in the nabourhood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathieuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived to the hotel around midnight. While we were following taxi diver who was showing us the way (car traffic is not allowed on nearby streets except in the morning) we started worrying. There was trash on streets everywhere, buildings were all sprayed and not a single man in the vicinity except homeless. BUT, when the doors opened, we entered a different world. Santa Justa turned out to be even better than we expected and as soon as we woke up the neighborhood changed to true Lisboa full of tourists, restaurants and sun. Long story short, the location couldn't be better. Metro, buses and trams are less than 5 minute walk.

We stayed in superior room. It was very clean, well maintained and well decorated. Comfortable huge bed, big windows, big (clean!) bathroom. I'm very picky about hotels I go to on vacation since I don't want it to ruin my stay. We have enough problems at work and we don't need any more during our time off. If someone thinks the same way, Santa Justa is a perfect choice. Service is very nice and helpfull. Breakfasts are rather basic but there is all you need, fruits, cakes, scrambled egg etc. The only thing we considered a flaw was not so soundproofing door. We could hear people walking and talking outside. It didnt happen often because our room was placed at the end of the corridor.

Very good hotel that I can honestly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pilotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
894 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#57 of 255 in Lisbon
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Justa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Justa

Address: Rua dos Correeiros, 204, Lisbon 1100-170, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £90 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Justa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Justa HotelDesign Boutique 4 stars Hotel located in the commercial and financial center of Lisbon A Baixa. Also located in the surroundings of one of the most famous monuments in the city the “Elevador de Santa Justa”.Its excellent location between Praçca do Rossio , Chiado and Praçca do Comércio, allows Santa Justa Hotel to offer its guests the best shopping and cultural attractions.Besides the surroundings tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are the charm and grandeur of the Santa Justa Hotel. Enjoy the light, enjoy the history, enjoy Lisbon, enjoy Santa Justa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Justa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing