We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great staff.”
Review of Hotel Santa Justa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Santa Justa
Ranked #17 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great staff.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent 6 days here in September. The staff were fabulous. The hotel, newly refurbished was great. We overlooked the busy and noisy street, but when we closed the windows (2 double glazed panels) the noise was gone. A great nights sleep but fun to open the window and look out at the hawkers from all of the restaurants. If you arrive early in the day, do not be turned off by the look of the street. By 11 am. all things come alive. Also very close to great shopping for those interested as well as close to both major transportation hubs. Fantastic spot.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room, but we enjoyed the one overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raggedcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    382
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
326
812
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in Hotel Santa Justa for a short weekend trip to Lisboa. The hotel has either just been built or completely refurbished. The sleeping rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and clean. We booked the smallest room, and I felt that it was really comfortable for the two of us. The free wifi worked well in our room and the free minibar was a really nice perk! We were well hydrated on this trip!

The staff are really nice, friendly and helpful. The weekend we went, there was a big rally in the city. It would have been nice if they had mentioned that the tram line to Belem was going to be disrupted due to this rally... That would have helped us in our activity planning! That and they told us that there are ticket machines at every tram stop, but that is not true... Other than these minor points, the service here is really great.

The location of this hotel can't get much better. We didn't want to pay 15 euros per person for the breakfast (although it looked yummy), so we relied on the pastry shops around the hotel for breakfast. Because of the central location, there are several bakeries within a five minute walking radius. Delicious.

I would definitely stay at the Santa Justa if in Lisboa again and I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expateurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great location, just off the Praça da Figueira. Easy walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. 2-3 minutes from the nearest metro and the main train station. Front desk staff were friendly and welcoming.

Good-sized rooms including a spacious bathrooom with large shower cubicle. Moden styling with all fittings appearing to be clean and new. Comfortable bed.

A glass of port and pastry (pastel de nata) waiting in the room on arrival was a nice touch.

Free WiFi works reliably, with much higher speed than you get in most hotels.
Large safe (easily big enough for laptops), including an integrated charger.

A couple of gripes
- there is a coffee maker (Nespresso) in the room but the hotel only supplies two coffee sachets and does not replenish them.
- no matter what we did with the air conditioning it only seemed to pump out warm air, so we ended up turning it off and opening the window instead to keep the room cool.

We didn't try the resturant so can't comment on the quality of the breakfast but did note that the prices were very high and you can get much better prices at nearby cafés.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKDjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at the Santa Justa Hotel for 3 nights in October 2013. Very comfortable stay, great location, would definitely return. A few improvements could be made (eg. coffee capsules not replenished during stay), but generally very good indeed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fly_russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I almost hesitated writing this review because once the secret is out, it may not be such a sweet deal. This is a beautiful, clean, first class boutique hotel in a great location of Lisbon. It is walking distance to Bairrio Alto, great evening spots, as well as many of the tourist sites. The airport bus dropped us off just 2 blocks away. It has a lovely bar and cafe and the staff are professional, accommodating and knowledgable. It is a great find for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Staff charming and efficient, full of excellent advice regarding restaurants etc. I would heartily recommend this hotel, it is very central yet very quiet with excellent comfortable beds.

The breakfasts are wholesome and delicious. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms super clean and well equipped. Comfort rooms are not very big but provide you with except thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked this hotel direct with the hotel as they said MOST rooms have balcony and views. (Did not use the cheap booking sites) Very misleading as only some rooms have same. Was told on booking in that as we were on floor 3 they are not allowed to have opening windows. Since found out that higher floors do have views and balconies. Was told that an other agency does the site and thatbthere have been unhappy people before, so why not Fix? Booked and paid top dollar for Premium room but think we have been given a standard room as we got twin beds and no bath. Still have twin beds but they put something over the top so it is sort of double bed. Very little space in room. Had to ask for more hangers, not there is much space to hang anything, and for two more fold outs to put bags on. Got one so left bag on bed as a reminder, they made the bed and put the bag back on the bed. The hotel policy is that rooms are not made up untill 6pm unless you tell them otherwise. 4 star? Room so small that you can not have the bathroom door open at the same time as the closet as it is the same door. Nearly took my husbands hand off.
The washing/drycleaning bag says same day. Came back at 9pm no washing back. Checked at reception and was told, so sorry, that was the old dry cleaners, the new ones are next day and they are trying to sort it out with them. Lucky we were not checking out. WHY wouldnt you warn clients.
Everything has been misleading. The only pluses are it is clean and is in a good position. Maybe there has been a change of management but not what is advertised and not good value for money. When you complain they say , free mini bar, water juice and one beer, ( second beer zero %) no big deal. Would not stay here again or recommend.

Room Tip: Not room 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zoemarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Director General at Hotel Santa Justa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Miss Zoe,
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your feedback about your stay at Hotel Santa Justa Lisboa.
It is very important for us to know your opinion about the different aspects of our Hotel in order for us to improve the quality standards of our product, because the satisfaction of our guest is our company’s main commitment. At Hotel Santa Justa , we work every day to the absolute satisfaction of our customers and we regret that you have not been comfortable
First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your stay.
It was the first time we have this kind of comments so I would like to clarify point by point.
As reported most websites , our rooms have balconies.
The hotel has 6 floors and the sixth only have 5 rooms sloping ceiling .
The entire first floor , all the second , all the 4 and some of the third and fifth have balconies and so described on the websites we work which.
The hotel never guarantees the balcony because as I mentioned above some rooms on the third and fifth floor may have no balcony .
You have stayed in a room CORNER , a superior room that offers you two views: Santa Justa Elevator and the Castle of St. George.
Regarding the bath, we don’t inform our guests that all superiors have bathtub, in fact, we indicates that " some rooms have bathtub "
All rooms have the option of being single or being king-size bed . If asked at reception , we immediately will provide the change for bed .
As our directory says, the rooms are cleaned between 09:00 and 17:00 h , but as you know there is an informative poster that if the guests hangs on the door , the room have priority to be cleaned over all the rest.
Relative to our laundry service, as indicated on the sheet that you have in your room and in the directory, if the clothes are delivered later than 10:00am ( from Monday to Saturday) the same will be delivered only in the next day. If I remember your clothes have been delivered at 15:00pm on a Sunday and it was ready the next day.
According to all discussed Mrs. Zoe , I think we have never cheated on anyone or misleading information. Everything is ok on the websites and everything is reported in our directory inside our rooms.
His writings are not entirely true, because as I mention all the information we offer our customers is not misleading or lost since the it is not on the web is in our directory.
Extremely sorry to do not have the opportunity to satisfy you.
We would appreciate if you give us the opportunity to show you that Hotel Santa Justa, is the Hotel you were expected.
We hope that you have enjoyed the city of Lisbon and continue to choose Hotel Santa Justa for you next stay.
Thank you one more time for your feedback and we hope you accept our apologies.
For any other inquiries you may have do not hesitate to contact us
GM Hotel Santa Justa Lisboa****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,297 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
960 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Justa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Justa

Property: Hotel Santa Justa
Address: Rua dos Correeiros, 204, Lisbon 1100-170, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Justa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Justa HotelDesign Boutique 4 stars Hotel located in the commercial and financial center of Lisbon A Baixa. Also located in the surroundings of one of the most famous monuments in the city the “Elevador de Santa Justa”.Its excellent location between Praçca do Rossio , Chiado and Praçca do Comércio, allows Santa Justa Hotel to offer its guests the best shopping and cultural attractions.Besides the surroundings tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are the charm and grandeur of the Santa Justa Hotel. Enjoy the light, enjoy the history, enjoy Lisbon, enjoy Santa Justa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Justa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing