We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Hotel Santa Justa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Santa Justa
Ranked #17 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed for three nights. It's a very new hotel ( less then a year) first the good things. Location is perfect , just in the center of Baixa. Service is very attentive ( thanks a lot to Miguel for your service during breakfast) but as I said the hotel is not perfect for two reasons: first, the standard rooms are tiny. Second there is a maintenance problem . I am very picky about hotels and always look for new hotels since i believe they will be very clean. When I got into our room I saw that the toilets looked dirty ( they had brown spots and did not look as new as expected from such a new hotel)our friends had the same problem in their room . I must say that after I complained they changed our room and gave us an upgrade to a superior room which was very big (but still did not look clean and shiny)

Room Tip: If you don't have a budget problem take a superio Room it's a lot bigger than the standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    382
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
326
812
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

What a lovely, pleasant boutique hotel! Open only a few months, with a very friendly, helpful staff. The price was exceptionally reasonable for the quality. On a classically narrow, restaurant-filled street (stare down at the sidewalk to avoid hawkers pitching their restaurants to you aggressively--lol) feeding onto one of Lisbon's beautiful, architecturally impressive main squares. Take the Yellow Bus Red and Blue Tours for great Trolley and wider-area audio guided tours respectively. The 48-hour pass gives access to 4 tour routes for 25 euros. Hotel is centrally located and ideally situated for lovely impromptu walks, in an environment that has a safe, family-safe environment. We found the restaurant great for breakfast and pasta, and Romans Restaurant a great place a couple of streets over for an evening meal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billbeanteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I echo Gilly17's review below. Great location. The room was large, but no comfy chairs to lounge in (although were were not in the room very much). The bathroom was nice in many respects, but the shower was difficult to enter/exit. Also, the bathroom door is also a sliding room closet door - that lead to some instances of closing the closet but then opening the bathroom when it was occupied. Takes getting used to...

There was a surprising amount of noise transfer between rooms. The tile floors amplify the sound of a woman's heels greatly. The double glazed windows kept the noise from the street below to a minimum.

Dining at the restaurant was very expensive, although the food was good. The desk staff was very helpful at all times.

Restaurant row is right outside, so you will be constantly harassed by their staff to review the menu and dine. Just walk right by each time...

We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: A superior room with balcony is nice, although guaranteed you will not do anything other than peek o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_TA_Commenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel because of an overbooking from other hotel but thank God it was like this. Parking price, quiet place and near everything so this was the best:-)breakfast is complete but poor on sweets and they take a while to refill the trays. Very nice hotel which I will book for the next time I want to go to Lisbon:)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We've just returned from a 5 night stay and overall were pleased with our choice of hotel.

However, to make it a really special hotel, they desperately need to address some issues:

1) The allocation of rooms seems haphazard and not in relation to what has been paid. We booked a 'superior' room well in advance and put in a special request for a balcony (had read on TA that room 402 was superb with double balcony) At first we were told that was fine and then a few days later we received an email saying we would have to pay a supplement to ensure a room with balcony. We reluctantly agreed. On arrival we were allocated room 502 which I excitedly thought would be similar to 402 with double balcony etc. I was wrong. We had one tiny balcony despite the supplement paid and despite the fact we'd booked for 5 nights in a superior room. Maybe there needs to be more different price categories for the rooms ?

2) The lighting in the room is a real problem if you want to read. Yes, there are directional reading lights over the bed but if you want to sit on the bed or in a chair its so dimly lit that its impossible to read. We mentioned this to reception but they said the idea was that the room should be romantically lit. That's fine but just provide some additional lighting in the form of an angle poise or something for those that want/need it. Also the shelving units alongside the bathroom were so poorly lit, it was like unpacking in the dark.

3) There was nowhere comfortable to sit (except on the bed) By the table in the corner there were 2 office type chairs - not exactly comfy in a 'superior' room (see photo)

4) The design of the bath area was dangerous. The bath was enclosed in a fixed glass panelled area and it was like an obstacle course to get in. It was hazardous to get out of when wet and slippery. Moreover, it was impossible to access the taps/shower without getting into the bath first, thereby potentially being sprayed with freezing cold or very hot water. Reception accepted that it was a design fault and they were slowly changing the bathrooms.

5) On our second morning at about 9am we had no hot water at all.

6) Providing a Nespresso coffee machine and a free mini bar was much appreciated and a nice touch but how silly to provide just 2 capsules of coffee, regardless of length of stay - it will inevitably frustrate guests. Luckily we'd read on TA about the' 2 capsule only rule' and took some from home with us. (One could also buy from the Nespresso shop on the corner of Rua Garrett)

7. The front desk staff seemed to vary a lot in terms of efficiency, helpfulness and experience. Mariana was delightful but another lady and one man were quite abrupt. Also you felt that some of the staff were rather inexperienced - we wondered if the management were new to the hotel business? It would have been nice to have been warned about the train strike on the day they knew we were heading off to Sintra.

On the positive side, the location of the hotel cannot be beaten. Its bang in the centre of things and so close to all transport links, shops and restaurants - a huge plus. Also if you don't want to pay 15 Euros for the hotel breakfast, there are loads of lovely cafes very close by.
For us the housekeeping was efficient although we were out all day on most days so had no idea what time they did the room. Mini bar always replenished with water etc.
The hotel doesn't claim to be 5 star and for the amount paid we felt it was reasonable value, mainly due to its brilliant location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor appear to have the best balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed as a couple for almost a week. The room was small but functional (though as other reviewers have noted, more hangers/drawers would be good). The free mini bar was very welcome, however the provision of only two capsules of nespresso for such a long stay needs to be improved.

The room had only one tiny window and no balcony, which took a bit of getting used to, but the soundproofing from the street noise was great. The sound proofing from our noisy neighbours next door was not great. Lots of screeching as they pulled out a fold away bed for their child 4 nights in a row. We could constantly hear them dragging the couch around the wood floor. Lots of doors banging repeatedly late into the evening and again early in the morning. Fire doors are important but these were very loud.

Lovely front desk staff, always ready to help and provide recommendations. However, the cleaning of the room (bathroom and the floors) was inconsistent. We were normally gone first thing in the morning until early evening so there was plenty of time for the room to be cleaned properly.

The location is wonderful for those who want to walk around historical Lisbon. Very central and in close proximity to many squares, major sites and the train station.

Fairly expensive with no discount for a longer stay, but the location and the free mini bar are likely to account for that. The front doors are located right on what I'd term "restaurant row" with lots of tourist like food venues, with front of house staff trying to lure you in. We never ate at the hotel or in the immediate area as there are so many lovely food establishments just a short walk away.

We would stay again but would hope for a quieter room with a balcony/bigger window to provide better lighting.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on a higher floor and would ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Really lovely, friendly staff. Brilliant location. Reasonably sized rooms. Very nice welcoming gesture on first night. Free soft drinks in mini-bar which is fantastic.
Breakfast is totally fine but I would say slightly expensive for what you get. The breakfast buffet layout isn't great if lots of people arrive together as happened, one morning. However, not sure what they could do about this given the room and it's fine really.
We had lunch in the hotel on the first day and this was really good (only sandwiches though). However took what felt like an age to arrive. But it was worth the wait.
So main improvement would be to just make the room rate inclusive of breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddock4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
960 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Justa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Justa

Property: Hotel Santa Justa
Address: Rua dos Correeiros, 204, Lisbon 1100-170, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Justa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Justa HotelDesign Boutique 4 stars Hotel located in the commercial and financial center of Lisbon A Baixa. Also located in the surroundings of one of the most famous monuments in the city the “Elevador de Santa Justa”.Its excellent location between Praçca do Rossio , Chiado and Praçca do Comércio, allows Santa Justa Hotel to offer its guests the best shopping and cultural attractions.Besides the surroundings tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are the charm and grandeur of the Santa Justa Hotel. Enjoy the light, enjoy the history, enjoy Lisbon, enjoy Santa Justa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Justa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing