We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Hotel Santa Justa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Justa
Ranked #20 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel was excellent for many reasons:
1) Location- It is right in the middle of town. It is maybe four blocks from the waterfront, while being even closer to the famous Santa Justa elevator which brings you from the lower part of the city to the top. The surrounding streets are thronged with restaurants and shops and some of the best deserts I have ever had (especially the gelato).

2) Rooms- I have been to Europe before where the rooms of several tiny twin beds. Each room here had a large, comfortable mattress. There were book lights by each side of the bed so that one person can read while the other is sleeping. Also, the minibar is actually free, along with two espresso cups per day. The bathrooms were very clean, and the showers were quite cool. There is an option for a falling shower, and the ceiling opening was lined with lightbulbs; if you turned the bathroom lights on but had that shower running, the shower head lights would go on and shift between colors. As you can tell, the whole room is very nice.

3) Food- I loved that they gave out free apples. Their restaurant is also very good. Portuguese food is a bit underwhelming, especially if you do not like fish. I do, yet there is only so much seafood I can take before I needed a break. The hotel restaurant was good, and their chocolate cake/vanilla ice cream dessert was fantastic. In addition, their breakfast was very good- delicious Portuguese rolls, strawberries (it's February now), melons, chocolate croissants, and more.

4) Service- The staff were very friendly (and good in English). They helped us map out our stay. We honestly had no problems with the hotel, so we did not have to interact much with them.

All in all, an excellent hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

It's the little things that set this hotel apart, such as the complimentary port and pasteis de natas on arrival, fresh towels changed daily, the coffee machine in your room, the super-duper shower - and the free mini bar! Plus the location is fantastic. Two seconds away from the main nightlife and restaurants, but set back enough so you can get some undisturbed shut-eye come bedtime.

We stayed for two nights and were thoroughly impressed. The interior has obviously undergone a recent revamp but the beautifully weathered exterior has been maintained. As a result, the building is still very attractive and has retained its kerb appeal.

Our double room was clean and modern and the bed was very comfy. My boyfriend was very impressed with the shower - which left you squeaky clean - but we were slightly bemused by the motorised blind separating bedroom and bathroom. By pressing a switch inside the bathroom you could move the blind up and down, so you could watch your room mate in the shower (or on the loo if you're that way inclined!) Very European. It gave us a laugh!

One thing I must say is the hotel staff couldn't do enough for you, and always flashed a smile whenever you passed reception. When we arrived, the very helpful Sandrina marked all the sights on a map for us and told us which trams to catch to get there, which was very sweet of her.

I was annoyed with myself when I realised I'd left my adaptor at home, but I needn't have worried as they had a British plug alongside the usual European one in the wall, so all was not lost.

In short, we adored everything about Lisbon, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a city break destination. So what are you waiting for? Go there - and stay at the Hotel Santa Justa!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street so you can watch Portuguese life pass by below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissChoulesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Travelling in Europe is challenging when you are a family of five. This hotel by far had the best value to offer with a family room set up between to interconnecting rooms. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful...they recommended a restaurant that turned out to be the best that we had in Lisbon (thanks Rafael!). The breakfast bar option was too expensive for a family of five but we did not mind walking up to Starbucks every morning for a coffe and a pastry. Great experience at at this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We got a brilliant deal on a weekend away to this hotel.

Firstly, the staff are wonderful. They could not have been more helpful and were absolutely charming. One of our party was celebrating a birthday whilst we were there and a family member got in touch with the hotel to organise some champagne in the room as a treat. The staff went out of their way to make it really special. Within an hour of us arriving in our room, we had been brought complementary port and tarts, someone came up to us to hook the ipad up to wi-fi. When we were getting ready to leave, the receptionists printed our boarding cards happily. When we checked out at 5.45am, the staff on reception brought out a birthday cake and sang happy birthday, it was delightful.

The location of the hotel was perfect, close to the train station and with bars, restaraunts and shops right on the doorstep. The rooms were modern, clean and of an excellent quality.

We ate an evening meal in the hotel and had breakfast on each day. We could not fault any of it.

In short, we loved this hotel and will certainly look to return when we visit Lisbon again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireCrackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great, newly refurbished hotel in the very center of the city. Friendly and helpful employees. Just note that the restaurants in the surrounding streets are tourist traps - very pushy waiters who follow you on the street menu in hand. Just walk 10 minutes in either direction and you will find some more quiet and charming streets with "normal" cafés and restaurants. No big deal but better than pushy waiters.
Coffee is cheap and good wherever you go and there are some bakeries in the "hood" where you can get a simple but nice breakfast, if you don't want to spend money on the usual hotel buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Havenisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here and were very happy. The location was excellent being right in the heart of the old city and just a stones throw away from the 28 tram that takes you to the castle of St. George as well as the bus stop to Belém. Shopping is on your doorstep and there are plenty if interesting shops around. Regarding eating out, I would recommend that you rather eat out in the Baixa area which is very close by than at the restaurants around the hotel as the Baixa area has a wide variety of good, modern restaurants. Eating out at the Italian restaurant on the square by the waterfront area is recommended.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good. The food was fresh and the variety was good.
The only two complaints I could think of was the lack of cupboards in the room. There is hanging space for a few coats and shirts but not nearly enough space for two adults which resulted in us living out of a suitcase for 5 days. The other issue was that the room was a little small but had there been more cupboard space this would not have been an issue as our bags would have been out of the way.
The rates were reasonable, especially for the location. The mini bar is free and refilled every day which was very nice. It is a new hotel of 2 or 3 years old so the fittings are all in good shape. Beds are comfy and the bathrooms were neat and modern.
All in all we were very happy and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan_P_Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My girlfriend and I had a 4 night stay in Jan 2014 and were very happy with the hotel. The location is excellent, the rooms are modern and high quality, the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The only negatives were the cost of breakfast (£17 and £13) and the maids trying to clean the rooms while we were sleeping (we did have the do not disturb sign up).

Brian

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fearlessb0bfunkh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,931 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 255 in Lisbon
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Justa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Justa

Address: Rua dos Correeiros, 204, Lisbon 1100-170, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £103 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Justa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Justa HotelDesign Boutique 4 stars Hotel located in the commercial and financial center of Lisbon A Baixa. Also located in the surroundings of one of the most famous monuments in the city the “Elevador de Santa Justa”.Its excellent location between Praçca do Rossio , Chiado and Praçca do Comércio, allows Santa Justa Hotel to offer its guests the best shopping and cultural attractions.Besides the surroundings tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are the charm and grandeur of the Santa Justa Hotel. Enjoy the light, enjoy the history, enjoy Lisbon, enjoy Santa Justa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Justa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing