We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hostal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grapes and Bites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grapes and Bites
Ranked #41 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hostal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Great place in the centre of the Bairro Alto. Beautiful room with patio. Nice breakfast with fantastic baked eggs. When you sleep here you should take in consideration that the restaurant has live music every night, and that most rooms are right above it. We didnt mind though, we loved it!

Helpful?
Thank RaymondPaardekooper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We visited Grapes and Bites 3 times during our week stay in Lisbon. The wine selection is huge. Alex our waiter was knowledgeable and passionate about Portuguese wines and chose a variety of selections for us from many different regions. Every wine we tasted was outstanding. Once we sampled the food - a great meat and cheese platter and yummy padron peppers stuffed with cheese, with balsamic and a concentrated tomato sauce. The atmosphere is fun, friendly and lively and it fills up quickly. The only downside is the smoking. Although the space has fairly high ceilings, the smoke can get oppressive. As well as being irritating, it really detracts from the tasting experience. Once we were ready to leave because of it but the hostess moved us to a table by an open window, which helped a lot. Aside from this detraction, we much enjoyed our visits and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had several glasses of wine here and a couple of dishes of some delicious cheeses and tapa style plates.

The waiter was very helpful with choices of wine and we had a fab evening.

There are two reasons it doesn't get a 5 from us.
1. They were very abrupt at closing time - we appreciated that their license didn't extend but don't feel having chairs put on tables around you at the dot of closing was very hospitable.
2. Although smoking has been banned in Portugal in public places the staff turned a blind eye to many tables of smokers whose smoke definitely lowered our enjoyment. This was the only place we found this.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMap_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

In short we liked it so much we came back a few nights later. The surprise menu was very tasty and interesting. The wine recommendations were also very good and none I it overly priced. Staff were friendly and our wine waiter was entertaining into it. He put on a spectacle when it came to opening and serving the wine.
Marta was a great first introduction and also remembered us and our names for the return visit. I will be back again. First visit was on 1st October thank to all!!

All in all we loved it!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pyroTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hostel was better than anything I could have imagined.
The staff was so friendly and you felt immediately at home in the hostel. It's incredibly clean and the breakfast in the morning is so nice.
The location was perfect- right in the middle of the going out scene.
The wine bar is amazing- the staff is very knowledgeable. It gets pretty crowded on the weekends, so try to go on a weekday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne11344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Live music, delicious Portuguese wines, cheeses, and meats, stylish decor, central location ... perfect and another gem in romantic Lisbon. We visited this place twice for a typical European "amuse busche" and loved it. Try and reserve a table in the back corners for best people watching and privacy and do make sure "old dog" is playing!!

Room Tip: Didn't know they had a hotel. The restaurant is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinUpBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We found the place by coincidence walking around the town. And what a pleseant surprise! Together with live music we had a selection of portugeese cheeses and great redwine. They are said to have more than 300 different wines - and they seem to know what they are talking about. Don't come too early! The first evening we came round 22.00 and had a couple of great hours. The second time we came about 18.00 and the staff was not completely ready to serve. But we got our wine and ham (quite expensive, but really good). But there were other customers who got their service after too long time and a couple couldn't wait and left.
But really a pleasant place with good food and wine!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank j-winther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Calling
Lisbon Calling
#27 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#20 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Passport Lisbon Hostel
Passport Lisbon Hostel
#99 of 406 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisb'on Hostel
Lisb'on Hostel
#37 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#13 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Inn Bairro Alto Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapes and Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapes and Bites

Property: Grapes and Bites
Address: Rua do Norte 83 10 Andar, Lisbon 1200-284, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapes & Bites - Hostel & Wines is a thematic hostel entirelydedicated to the delicious portuguese wine and where our guests may expectcomfort and personalized attention. At The Grapes & Bites - Hostel andWine you will find a wide and very complete wine list, including Ports andSparkling Wines, with seductive prices and a service to match ourreputation! For a full service, we also offer our guests nice trips tovineyards and cellars around Lisbon area.The GB – Hostel & Wines is located in Bairro Alto, a perfect location inthe center of Lisbon.The ideal place for those seeking a low budget accommodation and afabulous wine experience, with local traditions and good facilities.Great atmosphere and really helpful and nice staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grapes and Bites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing