We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but some weird issues”
Review of Grapes and Bites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grapes and Bites
Ranked #43 of 446 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but some weird issues”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Grapes and bites (the hostel) has a great location and a nice staff, but our room (the junior suite) was not amazing. It was "rustically" furnished with wine crates, including behind the headboard, which clattered every time we got in bed. And the bathroom was basically just a grotto in the corner of the room with transparent frosted glass that didn't even go up to the ceiling! Not very private. We never would have reserved if we knew. And the bed was awfully uncomfortable. I think the pillows were filled with plastic. The restaurant was great and the discount nice, but the hostel has some problems.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The guesthouse/hotel is situated in historical neighborhood Bairo Alto. It has a cozy atmosphere and stylish rooms. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was a good experience. You get 20 pct. discount in the restaurant downstairs, which is recommended. There is a lot of noise from the bars in the street at night. The staff was playing music in the reception a little to loud a little too late in the evening, and they only change towels etc. if you ask for it.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Great place in the centre of the Bairro Alto. Beautiful room with patio. Nice breakfast with fantastic baked eggs. When you sleep here you should take in consideration that the restaurant has live music every night, and that most rooms are right above it. We didnt mind though, we loved it!

Helpful?
Thank RaymondPaardekooper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We visited Grapes and Bites 3 times during our week stay in Lisbon. The wine selection is huge. Alex our waiter was knowledgeable and passionate about Portuguese wines and chose a variety of selections for us from many different regions. Every wine we tasted was outstanding. Once we sampled the food - a great meat and cheese platter and yummy padron peppers stuffed with cheese, with balsamic and a concentrated tomato sauce. The atmosphere is fun, friendly and lively and it fills up quickly. The only downside is the smoking. Although the space has fairly high ceilings, the smoke can get oppressive. As well as being irritating, it really detracts from the tasting experience. Once we were ready to leave because of it but the hostess moved us to a table by an open window, which helped a lot. Aside from this detraction, we much enjoyed our visits and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had several glasses of wine here and a couple of dishes of some delicious cheeses and tapa style plates.

The waiter was very helpful with choices of wine and we had a fab evening.

There are two reasons it doesn't get a 5 from us.
1. They were very abrupt at closing time - we appreciated that their license didn't extend but don't feel having chairs put on tables around you at the dot of closing was very hospitable.
2. Although smoking has been banned in Portugal in public places the staff turned a blind eye to many tables of smokers whose smoke definitely lowered our enjoyment. This was the only place we found this.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMap_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

In short we liked it so much we came back a few nights later. The surprise menu was very tasty and interesting. The wine recommendations were also very good and none I it overly priced. Staff were friendly and our wine waiter was entertaining into it. He put on a spectacle when it came to opening and serving the wine.
Marta was a great first introduction and also remembered us and our names for the return visit. I will be back again. First visit was on 1st October thank to all!!

All in all we loved it!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pyroTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hostel was better than anything I could have imagined.
The staff was so friendly and you felt immediately at home in the hostel. It's incredibly clean and the breakfast in the morning is so nice.
The location was perfect- right in the middle of the going out scene.
The wine bar is amazing- the staff is very knowledgeable. It gets pretty crowded on the weekends, so try to go on a weekday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne11344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Colours
Lisbon Colours
#40 of 446 in Lisbon
216 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 446 in Lisbon
352 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#15 of 446 in Lisbon
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
Inn Possible Lisbon Hostel
#63 of 446 in Lisbon
87 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
#3 of 446 in Lisbon
473 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Stay Inn Lisbon Hostel
Stay Inn Lisbon Hostel
#51 of 446 in Lisbon
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grapes and Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapes and Bites

Property: Grapes and Bites
Address: Rua do Norte 83 10 Andar, Lisbon 1200-284, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 446 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapes & Bites - Hostel & Wines is a thematic hostel entirelydedicated to the delicious portuguese wine and where our guests may expectcomfort and personalized attention. At The Grapes & Bites - Hostel andWine you will find a wide and very complete wine list, including Ports andSparkling Wines, with seductive prices and a service to match ourreputation! For a full service, we also offer our guests nice trips tovineyards and cellars around Lisbon area.The GB – Hostel & Wines is located in Bairro Alto, a perfect location inthe center of Lisbon.The ideal place for those seeking a low budget accommodation and afabulous wine experience, with local traditions and good facilities.Great atmosphere and really helpful and nice staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grapes and Bites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing