We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wauw!”
Review of Memmo Alfama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Ranked #11 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It's a very very beautiful hotel. We justed stayed one night, but we really wished we could stay longer. The outdoor sites have amazing views and the pool is amazing to relax in. The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are suprisingly big. The overall atmosfere is chill and cool! We'll definitly go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed one night before embarking on our cruise. In hindsight, wish we had stayed in Lisbon a day or two longer. Although a bit challenging to find (we took public transportation, when you get off at Limiero on Tram 12, walk back up the hill, not down) the hotel itself was wonderful. The staff was very welcoming, the hotel charming and the neighborhood very interesting. The rooms was surprisingly large and the bed very comfortable, especially after a long flight in. Breakfast the following morning was very good. Will stay there again next time we visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vatc5637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early July 2014. From the moment we arrived the hotel lived up to all our expectations. A lovely warm welcome, stunning room (number 22 - highly recommended), delicious cocktails & surely one of the best roof top terraces (and pools) in any European city. Without fail, every member of staff was helpful, friendly & courteous & we highly recommend joining the free 60 minute walking tour of fascinating Alfama, which the hotel offers each day at 10am (after a delicious breakfast).
If you want beautiful views, luxury & tip-top service in wonderful Lisbon, Memmo Alfama is ideal.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This new(ish) boutique property is tucked away in an historic building on an initially hard-to-find side street in the old-city Alfama neighborhood of Lisbon (the first hotel to open in this historic neighborhood - with more to follow, no doubt). Once you find it, though, you will find that it's actually a great, convenient location for exploring the city and you will be very well taken care of by a helpful, knowledgeable front desk staff. We loved the combination of old (the building itself, the neighborhood) and new (the hushed, modern decor, the simple but elegant minimalist rooms, the indoor/outdoor wine bar terrace, the small dipping pool). Do check if your room has a view, as its worth waking up to a view over the old city and the river (we had an Alfama Superior room which did have these views). We didn't use the small pool, but we did spend time almost every evening having a cocktail or a glass of wine and some snacks on the outdoor terrace before heading out for dinner. And the breakfast - a self-serve buffet aside from eggs/omelettes which they will make to order - is lovely and fresh. If you're looking for a cool, luxe, modern, full-service boutique hotel, we highly recommend the Memmo Alfama.

Room Tip: Alfama Superiors are the largest and have prime views. There are smaller rooms on the ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at Memmo Alfama for 4 nights in June. I really can't fault this great boutique hotel.

- Location
Alfama is a great neighbourhood and a 5 to 10 minute walk to central Lisbon. It's quaint, quiet and away from the tourist traps.

- Staff
Extremely helpful, they were able to recommend great local restaurants and gave us a walking tour of the neighbourhood.

- Accommodation
Extremely stylish, quiet, and very clean.

- Facilities
There's a number of decks with sun-beds and lounges offering amazing views of Alfama and the river. The restaurant offers delicious local food. The menu is diverse and reasonably priced. Breakfast buffet (inclusive) offers a wide range of tasty options.

- Good value
We stayed in a Patio room which is the standard rate and didn't feel the need to upgrade at all.

Would 100% book again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripandvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife took me here for my 40th and it lived up to every expectation. It was boutique without being pretentious, relaxed without sparing the frills, as charming as any hotel I have stayed in and there are lots to compare with. The receptionists were wonderful, surprised me with champagne and cake, the terrace an oasis of calm and style, the living room like home from home. The room was small but perfectly formed with a beautiful free standing shower. The neighbourhood will capture your hearts forever, with a free walking tour a nice touch courtesy of the hotel.

I would recommend this to anybody who needs a few days to unwind in understated luxury...just leave the kids at home.

Thanks for a wonderful stay, Memmo Alfama. We will miss you.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise.
We turned up before check in time, but were offered a tour of the hotel and drink followed by somewhere to freshen up before we had a walk around the city. We were welcomed by a lovely man called Pedro who was so friendly and helpful.
The roof top terrace was gorgeous, furnished with leather sofas, sun loungers and chairs. You can sit and eat breakfast on the terrace over looking the river and rooftops below.
It was a fantastic location, quiet but only a 5 minute walk to the main square and 10 minutes to the castle...you can get the team from right outside though too if you don't fancy the walk.
We had a terrace room which was lovely, the only slight issue was that the room itself was abit small and the walls quite thin. But modern decor and the big barroom and terrace over compensated.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Lisbon. They offer a FREE walking tour too which is well worth it to get your bearings and learn about the traditions area of alfama.
Oh and it was the best continental breakfast I have had, cheeses, cereals, breads, ham, fruit, salmon, pastries, as well as being able to order hot food such as eggs, bacon, beans and pancakes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorothy47187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,937 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
646 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,465 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Alfama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Alfama Hotel

Address: Travessa das Merceeiras 27, Lisbon 1100-348, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £130 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Alfama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most typical district of Lisbon - Alfama - steps away from the Cathedral and the Sao Jorge Castle, memmo Alfama is already considered as one of the best hotels in Lisbon and is the first boutique hotel in the city's historic area, with it's narrow streets, traditional shops and the famous Fado restaurants. Memmo Alfama redefines the standards of hospitality in Lisbon: the authentic and contemporary style, perfectly integrated in the surroundings, the 42 rooms overlooking the river Tagus and Alfama, the special feeling of being at a Portuguese hom and the attentive staff that will make your visit to Lisbon unforgettable. The memmo Alfama Terrace with a service of wine bar and pool on the first floor offers a perfect combination between the authentic Portuguese gastronomy and wines and a sublime vantage point to take in the sights and sounds of the city and the Tagus River. Just minutes away in downtown Lisbon is the emblematic Avenida da Liberdade and the historic centre to the bohemian Bairro Alto and the trendy Chiado. The famous yellow tram "28", also known as the tourists tram stops nearby the hotel and it's the perfect way to discover the most interesting aspects of Lisbon's historical and architectural heritage. This hidden treasure in the heart of one of Lisbon's most picturesque districts has mastered the art of local integration, offering a truly authentic Lisbon experience with unmatched views of Alfama and Tagus River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Easy Market Spa, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Memmo Alfama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing