We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised I wasn't sold intro sex slavery. Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puenteareas Guesthouse
Ranked #185 of 233 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised I wasn't sold intro sex slavery. Dirty”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Hard to find - Sign was a sheet of paper with misspelled English

Manager - Illiterate and awkward

Room- black mould, dirty sheets and towels.

Bathroom - no hot water whatsoever

Strange smells, freezing cold.

Manager refused to print our boarding passes for us.

Awful. Awful. Awful.
Slightly scary.


Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyiregyhaza, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I am not sensitive at all, but this guesthouse was horrible especially at wintertime. I thought that the place is simple, but not as basic as it was... I appreciate that the owner gave us a room with a bathroom, but it was really cold and there wasn't heater. I didnt feel like to use the bathroom, and there wasn't a tube in the shower that's why it was impossible to use it. The whole place was clean... as clean it could be. The weak points are the bathroom and the temperature (winter). On the second day we asked a smaller room and we got it. We asked more blankets so the place was getting bearable. The area is a little bit suspicious, but near the center. The stuff were also suspicious and unfriendly. I don't recommend this guesthouse especially in winter! I wouldn't choose it again.

Room Tip: Take more blankets in winter, and ask the smallest room as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This guesthouse is located in the city centre, short walking distance to pretty much everything, and the staff is super helpful and friendly!!
We stayed for one night before the flight at 5 a.m., the staff helped us to get our suitcases up the stairs (cannot imagine doing it ourselves as the stairs have a sharp rise). The manager also stayed up until 3 a.m. to help us get a taxi to the airport and get our bags downstairs, very very helpful, i did not expect this from a guesthouse.
So i would advise it if you are looking for a budget place for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarina_Zarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in September 2013.
The hotel is basic - we had a double room which came with a wardrobe, bed, table, lamp, fan. No toiletries are provided - no towels etc. Our room wasn't overly clean (but not horrifically dirty), just dusty/crumby and flies. Our room came with a bathroom, which was a bit dirty/untidy (mould around the shower).
The hotel has a little kitchenette - guests are allowed to store stuff in the fridge, and use the kettle, but again, it's quite dirty (and bring your own teabags/coffee/milk etc).
The owners are nice - not Portuguese themselves (one from Afghanistan, and one was the cleaner/handyman), and helped us with our luggage (the hotel is located up a couple of flights of stairs with no lift access).
Nearest train station/bus station is on Av da Liberdade (5 minute walk), and is about a 10 minute walk from Lisbon city centre (Av da Liberdade to Rossio). We got the bus from the airport directly to Av da Liberdade, which was about 4 euros per person, and the metro is about 3euros anywhere).
Would only recommend this place to people on a very tight budget (our room was 28 euros for one night, for both of us, which is even cheaper than a hostel!), or people wanting an emergency place to put there head down. Wouldn't choose to stay here again, but there's probably worse places around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Fontecruz Lisboa Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Residencia Mar dos Acores
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#225 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Lisboa Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
0.1 mi away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britania Hotel
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puenteareas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puenteareas Guesthouse

Property: Puenteareas Guesthouse
Address: Rua da Fe 8, Lisbon 1150-150, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Puenteareas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing