We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a very nice hotel”
Review of Olissippo Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olissippo Castelo
Ranked #45 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and a very nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's not easy to find the place (i guess the Hertz GPS has to take some of the blame), but once you're there it's a very comfortable hotel that is in a great location in the center of the Alfama district. Our veranda had fantastic views of the city and the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Get one with a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smeds128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    143
    36
    7
    0
See reviews for
46
250
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

i have a mixed feeling about this hotel to be honest.

the pluses: the room is clean, joana who works there is so friendly and helpful, bed's comfortable, nice balcony with a great view of the city, free yummy butter cookies, great location (a few minutes walk away from the tram station and the castle)...

the minuses: quite difficult to find at first, quite pricey for the standard you get, the doorman was asleep when we came back ca 2am (we had to wait at the entrance for at least 15 minutes before he came out to open the door!), but most annoying of all, the breakfast really sucks - no fresh juices, sausages taste like watered down sausages, tasteless tomatoes (the only vege they have), slow service when it's busy...

i would probably stay there again if they have better breakfast!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noodlenoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My fiance and I are in our mid-twenties and stayed here for 4 nights in July. This isn't a hotel you could fall in love with- it could be a hotel in any city- but it is a pleasant 4 star hotel with, in my view, little to complain about.

Its located just above the Alfama district; this part of the city wasn't destroyed by the earthquake, so is made up of iggledy piggledy old cobbled streets. Its a hilly area, and the pavements and roads can often be uneven, so I wouldn't advise flip flops and certainly not heals.

Whilst you need to stroll for around 15 minutes to get to the clusters of restaurants in Alfama, we fell in love with the old fashioned trams. Number 28 can be taken across the city from the Castelo station, approx 5 to 10 minutes from the hotel. (You can get day passes from the metro, so you can hop on and off all day, which is ideal come dinner time). Although its not that close to restaurants and other nightlife, this does mean its nice and peaceful at night- no noise to keep you awake.

Breakfast is served from around 7.30 to 11am, good for anyone from early birds to people who like to lie in.

Breakfast was good, and was regularly replenished. We had a short wait one morning awaiting a table, so if you've made plans to be somewhere by a certain time in the morning, its a good idea to be early. At around 8.15am, there were always a few table free.

The welcome to the hotel was good, we were given a couple of maps with advice on where to go, and whoever was on reception was always polite.

A few niggles from my point of view:
The air con wasn't very good- it took about 2 hours to cool the room by 1 or 2 degrees. Fortunately, it was a comfortable temperature, so this didn't affect us too much.
The chairs on the balcony were fine for sunbathing, but were basically posh deck chairs, so you couldn't comfortably sit on them in the evening, which we would have liked to do after dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doppodomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Just spent a few days at this hotel and can recommend it to travellers to Lisbon. The good points were that the rooms were spacious and clean and location of the hotel is good being close to the 'castle' which is the main focal point in Lisbon and therefore easy to find. The neighbourhood is a bit depressed with tagging etc, but thats the whole of Lisbon atm. My wife and I never felt unsafe and there are tourist walking around half lost everwhere,so we were all lost together!. Lisbon in May/June 2011 is a tense place. Elections,economy etc makes it hard for the locals to be that concerned with tourists. My advise? Get out of lisbon and see the country side. Beaches and deserted monastries is what I loved about Portugal.
The hotel had free wifi and garageing for a rental car (14 euro a night)

Room Tip: leve 3 gets a balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buck8444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed end of May 2011 in superior room. Found the room #303 quiet, relaxed, smart, roomy and comfortable with a great view from the terrace. Plenty of choice offered at breakfast. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, thank you Joane and Vrifor. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The walk back up from town after a day out can be tiring if not prepared for it, so take the tram #12 which stops nearby. We got a good deal booking through Expedia

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ANGELES
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Not to be missed if staying in Lisbon, the Olissippo Castelo is the ideal base to explore the city especially its oldest area, Alfama. If possible book a room with a terrace. Mine, N°301 was lovely and spacious. The view relaxing. And so quiet. Everyone at the hotel was courteous, smiling and helpful. Ms Joana at the front desk was especially informative and always ready to help and offer suggestions. Andre also was tirelessly gracious. Maid service was efficient and discreet. The breakfast always elegantly served. Abundance of choices and fresh displays and lots of local pastries not to be missed. Sorry to have to leave after six days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JPC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East End, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

When arriving at this hotel by taxi from the airport (he charged us 24 euros - be careful) he dropped us off not in front of the hotel but down the street. Walking up the road with our luggage was not very pleasant since the street looks worn and graffiti everywhere. The hotel itself, however was great. We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found it very comfortable. The room large, clean and a terrace with a nice view. The breakfast was large and varied with hot and cold dishes and those great custard pastries (the best here).

Some minor things: breakfast in the lobby as opposed to a separate room and the TV was on one end of the room with the bed on the other. Difficult to watch TV from bed. Back to room at 2:45 after tiring day (and very warm weather) to find maid cleaning the room. So we went down to lobby to wait. But again minor quibbles.

The biggest problem was the location. Far from the main area of the city and very difficult to get to unless using the tram or taking a taxi. The location is up a hill (felt like a mountain) and you need to walk down a series of staircases to get to Baxia area. In the evening we ended up staying in the Castelo area for dinner because we did not want to deal with the staircases again. There aren't many restaurants in this area and the Alfama which is nearby is - in my opinion - not charming. However, the food we had was always good.

Did not have a favorable opinion of Lisbon and I think the location made it worse.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#87 of 248 in Lisbon
884 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
819 reviews
Olissippo Saldanha
#39 of 248 in Lisbon
651 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Castelo

Property: Olissippo Castelo
Address: Costa do Castelo 120, Lisbon 1100-179, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#73 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olissippo Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Lisbon and ideally located aside the walls of St. George Castle, the Olissippo Castelo Hotel affords one of the most impressive panoramic views of Lisbon. The hotel is located in the famous Bairro do Castelo, between the well known Mouraria and Alfama quarters; it is also the perfect starting place to discover the Patron Saints Festivities that take place every June. This very special hotel combines the familiar atmosphere with the most modern technology and above all luxurious facilities and exceptional service together with traditional art of Portuguese hospitality.Over 4 floors (served by 2 lifts), the Olissippo Castelo includes 2 Suites, 2 Suites Jr, 10 Standard Rooms and 10 Superior Rooms, fully equipped with individual air-conditioning, direct dial telephone line, mini bar, satellite TV, personal safe, hairdryer, internet connection and ample wardrobes. Our Bar offers a service of light snacks and drinks, and Room Service until 23:00. The hotel also provides laundry service and Garage for 6 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Olissippo Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissipo Castelo Hotel
Olissipo Castelo Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing