We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not what it promised”
Review of Olissippo Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olissippo Castelo
Ranked #45 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It says it has view over the old castle but thats not true, the view is not the best. And, there is no terass like they say in the website but a few rooms on 3rd floor have terasses, thats it.

Else it was a decent standard and nice staff. Breakfast was not the best but ok, a bit to small place to have it though.

If you have problems walking hills its not a hotel for you since it is a lot of hills around and up to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickymiklind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Olissippo Castelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The room design is tasteful- in a traditional sense.
I like the wallpaper & patterned carpeting.
Good matching of faux- classical furniture.
The lobby design is nothing to write home about.
Very slow internet- would not even allow viewing of website photos.
Largely clean, except shower curtain.
When I requested a fresh curtain- without strong bacterial odor- housekeeping obligingly complied.
Walls & floors solid & thick- relatively good for soundproofing. However, room doors have no buffering; thus slam loudly.
Good air ventilation system.
Unbeatable views of old Lisbon.
Varied selection of international television channels.
There are very fresh towels & limited fragrant toiletries.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel definitely made our trip to Lisbon very memorable. The hotel service attendant (Rui) took the time to explain the main attractions as well as the surrounding area- he was friendly, polite and suggested attractions that were worth visiting. Throughout the entire stay the service was impeccable.

One of the drawbacks of rooms in Europe is usually hotel rooms but we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the standard room at this hotel- much bigger than we expected. The views were amazing and speed of wifi was excellent.

The location of the hotel is great as there are many cafes, restaurants located within walking distance. If you are planning on staying at this hotel, please note it is on the hill so to get to central Lisbon, you may have to walk or take the tram (about 10 mins to walk).

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lisbon. Thanks to all the staff at Olissippo Castelo for taking our trip very memorable!

P.S. I also recommend dining at Portas Do Sol if you stay at the hotel- great views and nice patio

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for a few nights in a superior double with terrace, hoping to get a similar experience to that depicted in the beautiful photographs on the hotel website. However we were disappointed by the reality, and found this hotel only average.

Our room was on the second floor (room 205), and the view from the terrace was obstructed by a big white wall - you had to go up some steps at the end of the terrace and stand on tip toes to see the view of the hillside below. If you want a clearer view you must get a room on the 3rd or 4th floors. Our neighbours in room 206 had exactly the same problem as us, which was such a shame because the view was the big thing that sold us to booking at this hotel. We asked to switch to a higher floor but there was no availabilty. On our terrace was a drain with very dirty green mouldy water which was stagnant - I will try and attach a photograph which I took of this - basically we avoided going on the terrace because of this and the lack of view.

The room was reasonably well appointed, shower above a bath, clingy shower curtain, the towels and bath robes were fairly threadbare and thin. But the hotel did have all essential room facilities - tv, kettle, fridge, phone etc. Toiletries were poor, but fit for purpose.

Another thing that is not 100% clear from booking is that there is no rooftop public areas - we could not understand why a hotel with views would not have a bar or breakfast area on a high floor to take advantage of the views? Instead the only public areas are by the reception desk on the ground floor - consisting of some chairs, tables, small book collection etc. You eat breakfast next to the reception area in a rather cramped space (people had to wait for a table to become free), and breakfast is a self service type, you have to get your own drinks, cereals, pastries and very poor bacon and sausages, scrambled eggs etc. We liked the yogurts and juice, and some pastries were nice, but we have had much better breakfasts elsewhere.

If you want breakfast like on the website photo, you will need to book a superior room with terrace on the 3rd or higher floor, then pay a supplement to have your breakfast in the room, Otherwise you will be eating on the ground floor next to reception, like everyone else!

We found the service efficient and generally helpful, but nobody smiled or looked very happy which was a bit of a shame.

The location of the hotel is a matter of opinion. We wished we had stayed in the centre of the main city to avoid taxi journeys. The streets around the hotel are full of grafitti and dog poo, which is a bit off putting, however you are close to the castle and taxis are not very expensive. The area has a local charm and the people we met in the local streets were friendly. There are local shops and tavernas which are fine, and give you a taste of the real Lisbon. So the location has pros and cons.

Overall the hotel is fine, clean and perfectly adequate, but we won't be staying here next time.

Room Tip: If you want a proper view you need to be 3rd floor or higher, some rooms on 2nd floor have partially...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hitel is placing clise to Freedome place on a hill close to castel. Very small streets, criminal area. In nights much better to nit walk in the area. Room is very clean. Reception is very friendly, wants to help yiu. There is parking for 15 euro per day. It's helpful to buy Yellow bus toir for 1 day. Hotel has wifi internet for free. But it's very dlow and not stable. Breakfazt very poor, like in Portugal.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Ok hotel in alfama, clean, beige room. We booked the room because of the recommended view from the balcony, however there was no view from the second floor... Breakfast was okay but they kept running out of the most popular pastries (white rolls and croissants).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hansen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel goes above and beyond personal service. I find the front staff amazingly helpful and friendly. I am currently here and the view is spectacular. They were nice enough to give me a view room. The room has a king size, comfortable bed and nice bedding. The a/c works great. The room is big as well as the bathroom. I can see the towel issue being mentioned as the towels are a bit old but clean so it does not bother us. The area which has been mentioned both positively and negatively, I think is great as well. I love the cobblestone, narrow windy roads and the feeling of Lisbon. The breakfast looks great but we did not have it. I did have a cappuccino which was good.

I do not think I have ever given a hotel five stars but I am now because of the service plus the hotel. It is at the top of the hill but we love the walk. There are trams just down the road though. If u want a true feeling of Lisbon, book this hotel, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#85 of 253 in Lisbon
910 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#11 of 253 in Lisbon
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Olissippo Saldanha
#37 of 253 in Lisbon
667 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Convento do Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Castelo

Address: Costa do Castelo 120, Lisbon 1100-179, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#40 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#73 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £38 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olissippo Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Lisbon and ideally located aside the walls of St. George Castle, the Olissippo Castelo Hotel affords one of the most impressive panoramic views of Lisbon. The hotel is located in the famous Bairro do Castelo, between the well known Mouraria and Alfama quarters; it is also the perfect starting place to discover the Patron Saints Festivities that take place every June. This very special hotel combines the familiar atmosphere with the most modern technology and above all luxurious facilities and exceptional service together with traditional art of Portuguese hospitality.Over 4 floors (served by 2 lifts), the Olissippo Castelo includes 2 Suites, 2 Suites Jr, 10 Standard Rooms and 10 Superior Rooms, fully equipped with individual air-conditioning, direct dial telephone line, mini bar, satellite TV, personal safe, hairdryer, internet connection and ample wardrobes. Our Bar offers a service of light snacks and drinks, and Room Service until 23:00. The hotel also provides laundry service and Garage for 6 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olissippo Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissipo Castelo Hotel
Olissipo Castelo Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing