We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a two stars hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro
Ranked #222 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Karlovac, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for a two stars hotel!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It is a two stars hotel, but the personnel gave it's maximum to make it worth every cent you payed. Rooms are small and modest but very clean, especially bathrooms, clean towels every day, clean and made beds every day. Breakfast is modest but sufficient. And recepcionists gave an answer to every question we had. The best thing is that this hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the city centre, and bus station to the city centre is just in front of the hotel. Metro is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. So, when you put it all together you get a good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majakarlovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    130
    171
    59
    40
See reviews for
91
178
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Like previouse person, I booked this as part of a deal found by the agency while booking flights to the Azores. As I had a couple of days spare, I thought " why not, stop off in Lisbon on route, especially as it worked out cheaper than leaving on a weekend, plus I'd never been to Lisbon!" Hotel was basic & clean. Bit off the beaton track, but never the less value for money as a stop over, plus once I discovered where to pick the bus up from, it was a doodle, and rather nice being in a local area rather than a tourist area with higher prices. Bus only took barely 5mins to get to the main tourist hub anyway, or a 10min walk down hill. (Bus back up!)
Breakfast was ok, again, for what I was paying, I wouldn't expect anything more.
Staff mixed. When I arrived, the chap behind the desk wasn't particularly forth coming &helpfull, but the following morning, different person who was extremely helpfully and gave me a couple of helpfully tips, such as going to the metro station to by a all day travel card for al modes of transport. When I checked out, seeing the price I should have payed, then "yes, it was a fab deal!"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlovesunshineUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

It was my first time when i chose a 2 stars hotel. But it was an offer from my Agency which has included air tickets and accomodation. So i don't know what was the price for the hotel. But the entire offer had a good price.

My room was internal and looked out over emergency staircases. The room was extremely small but clean in a strange way. Normaly i look for rooms with wood floor or tiles, but not with carpet which i consider dirty by default. But here it was acceptable clean.
What surprise me was the cleaning service. They did our room daily and changed the towels every day even we did not request.
The room had AC, but i did not use it, i am not sure if it was with extra payment, we didn't need it for cool the room, but for warm it during one night.

The breakfast area is clean and nice, was a surprise, i expected to be worse for 2 stars. There was no variaty of food, but tea, cofee, different bread rolls very tasty , butter, jam, one type of ham and one type of cheese. Milk and 2 types of cereals. But for me the most pleasent was to find a Saeco Espressor in the breakfast area, for free :). There was also filter Coffee.

There are two buses stop on the doorstep of the Hotel. One connect you to the Marquês de Pombal square and Metro station. The other bus, which i used daily 760 connect you to Rosio square and Metro station, or Cais de Sodre square and Metro or Praça do Comércio / Commerce Square.

I felt very safe in the hotel, before arriving this was my bigest concern, but once i found that on the same street there is Military Academy and a big Police Station i felt that everything will be ok, and it was. We used the buses and trams late in the evening, there were times when we left the hotel at 11pm and took the bus to Praça do Comércio then we walked on streets.

The staff is ok and polite, they helped us with wine opener, wine glasses , plates and other things. I had a little accident in an evening, and the guy from reception helped me with ice and towels and was very kind.

If you find that the rates are good, I recomand this place for a vacation for fun and long time spent outdoor. This is not a romanitc hotel for honey moon or for lovers wanna spend time inside :).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed to Princesa for 14 nights in July 2013. First of all, the staff were very helpful and kind. They speak very good English, French, Spanish.The room was basic, but very clean and everyday they changed the towels, cleaned the bathroom and every 3 days changed the sheets.The beds were comfortables, and the shower works very well. The zone is very quite and very sure (at 50 m is a Police station, and in front of the hotel there is the Military Academy).The breakfast was OK: coffee or tea, bread, butter, cheese, ham, cake, cereals, yagourt, milk, jam.We have sleeped very well-between 11pm and 7 am the traffic in the street is insignifiant.The hotel is situated very close of the city centre. From the airport you take the metro until Saldanha station, and then you change the line to Picoas station.Then you need walk 200-250 m and you arrive to the hotel.The bus 760 goes to the centre in 5 minutes, and 774 to Amoreiras, a big mall.Around the hotel there are a supermarket, named Pingo doce and 5-6 small restaurants, very cheap and with good food.(We have eat each day something different and very good, at Pastelaria A Marina-a soup and a meal with 6,5 euro pro person). We recommand to buy tickets for a day (6 euro pro person) . Take care, in Lisbon the prices are lower then other cities.

Room Tip: Rooms at first floor have internet wi-fi free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Considering the price this place was quite decent. A little run down but the service was good, the cost was low and the rooms were clean. Our bathroom had a bit of a funny smell which was a downside but as I mentioned, considering the price you can't complain. Breakfast was quite decent with a good range of options. Location was ok but it was very easy to get a taxi wherever we needed to go. It was very quiet too which made for easy sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadebianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Family spent 5 nights in two rooms in hotel. Great staff who were helpful and informative. Good location if you want to be away from tourist areas. On bus routes and always taxi's available. Was able to eat at local restaurants in area at good prices. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and had been updated. Some basic things could be improved with, for example, shower head not attached to wall mount. Breakfasts were as expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I suppose you get what you pay for, but far better is available for the same price or just slightly more. My wife and I are fairly easy to please, but this place left much to be desired.

Location: Not well situated. 10 minute walk to the closest subway station and nothing around.
Room: Relatively small but nothing out of the ordinary. Dirty carpet, blinds, etc. Uncomfortable pillows, even after we requested some extras.
Breakfast: Extremely basic and poor quality (bread, yoghurt, cheap ham, cheap cheese)
Service: We requested in advance one of their newly renovated rooms. Upon arrival we were told this was impossible but that we had "one of the best rooms" in the hotel. If they were telling the truth (I hope they wouldn't lie to customers...) I feel bad for the people in the other rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevinTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#225 of 248 in Lisbon
477 reviews
Residencial Horizonte
#191 of 248 in Lisbon
281 reviews
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#219 of 248 in Lisbon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#189 of 248 in Lisbon
204 reviews
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#226 of 248 in Lisbon
272 reviews
Hotel Eduardo VII
#235 of 248 in Lisbon
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro

Property: Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro
Address: Rua Gomes Freire 130, Lisbon 1150-180, Portugal (Formerly Pensao Residencial Princesa)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Princesa Lisboa Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Princesa Lisbon
Pensao Residencial Princesa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing