We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value.”
Review of Hotel Expo Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Expo Astoria
Ranked #129 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great value.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a good location. Staff are very friendly. The room is spacious. Free wifi in the room.
Breakfast is crowded and not plenty to choose from. This hotel is his money worth.
Hotel offers also happy hours. You get your cocktail at 3euro.

Helpful?
4 Thank Inez A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    448
    166
    49
    25
See reviews for
237
333
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albufeira, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location. 3 min. to tourist bus station and Metro- which is only 2 stops to city centre or you can walk. Bus stop outside hotel for further a field Cafes and mini mart nearby. All the staff friendly and very helpful with any questions and where to eat etc.. Maps and suggestions what to see. Room very big with comfy king size bed and other room with single bed was a bonus as we had just requested and paid for 1 room with 2 single beds so was ideal and so much space. 5th floor overlooking main street was good. If it got noisy, double glazing kept it out, sliding wooden doors kept out light for afternoon nap! Air con/heater worked perfectly. Mini bar/fridge good to have. Toilet good size, instant hot water, large mirror, hairdryer etc. Rooms cleaned daily, towels changed when needed. WiFi great after David at reception set it up for me. Didn’t have breakfast so can’t comment. Stayed 8 nights and would do again. TOP MARKS!
Only negative-no food availble in hotel after 3pm. No big deal, cafes etc. nearbye.

Room Tip: high floor facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on a busy street just off the Marquez de Pombal roundabout, close to public transport links.

At reception the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was comfortable but basic with only one plug socket, no desk.

The hotel wifi is very frustrating, you keep having to log in again and again, it is slow, and one night it gave up completely.

All rooms are non-smoking, there are narrow balconies on the upper floor rooms facing the street.

The breakfast pastries are excellent, with freshly-baked rolls. The juice is just squash (except melon one morning), and the coffee is very bitter.

The restaurant is closed in the evening and the bar closes early, although "happy hour" is good value. They do offer buffet lunches but we didn't try them.

There is no car park. Street parking nearby is limited to 4 hours (paid) and public car parks are around 12 Euros a day.

The TV has 16 channels including BBC World News, CNN and MSNBC.

Overall a comfortable but fairly basic hotel with limited facilities.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights, and found the accommodations to be quite, comfortable and clean. I understand they have recently renovated, my room appeared renovated. The bed was comfortable, the bedding was clean, the bathroom was clean and well maintained.
The guest room had an honor bar which I very much appreciated. Bathroom has a body wash/shampoo dispenser. There is also a hair dryer. Guest room had a power outlet in the headboard which also had the light switch built in to it which I thought was a thoughtful addition. No safe in the guest room that I could see.

Upon arrival the guest service agent was helpful recommending transportation options, and places to see. She arranged for shuttle service to the airport for our flight out for just 6 euro each-a good value,and the driver was on time.

There is a bus stop near the front entrance-we had an easy time getting around by public bus, you can purchase a full day pass for 6 Euro at the metro station across the street.

About the facilities-The elevator is either up a flight of stairs or down a flight of stairs, which is not really convenient if you have a heavy bag. The internet didn't work with iOS but worked with my PC laptop. Happy hour in the bar is great, not available on Saturday but we enjoyed a few cocktails and were pleased by the final bill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WanderlustSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

we had 5 nights at the evidencia. staff friendly all the way through our stay and very helpful. hotel clean, but very dark interior.
metro stop at the end of the street and for 6 euros you could go anywhere on the city metro over 24 hours. close the barrio alto neighbourhood for lively nights.
fantastic stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie27nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

So my boyfriend and I booked to stay in this hotel for one week, on arrival we found the staff snotty, rude and not friendly at all, breakfast wasn't included in our room price which is pretty sub standard. The rooms stink like sewage, the corridors of the hotel smell of fag smoke constantly, the elevators are slow and one even broke whilst we were there. On our second night part of the ceiling fell down in our room, we complained to the front desk about it and the fact that the shower takes ten minutes to heat up and leaks everywhere, we were told these things would be fixed. Arriving back later that day we expected our room to have been changed at the very least. No, not even close! They removed the ceiling in our room!! Leaving us with a nice view of concrete and iron rods and very cold! Also we were told with a snotty look that it's normal for all the showers to leak. Do not stay here!! Spend a bit more and go somewhere else! The reception looks nice but that's pretty much it. The best thing about this hotel is the cafe next door!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthmayirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent several nights here on my first trip to Lisboa. The room was very clean, very quiet with a very comfortable bed. The staff could not have been better. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has many, many choices of high quality food. Here, you are in short walking distance of most of downtown Lisbon. I am going back to Lisbon in Feb 2015 and will be staying here again. I did NOT have one negative experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Florida
#111 of 248 in Lisbon
1,113 reviews
HF Fenix Garden
#59 of 248 in Lisbon
1,609 reviews
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#137 of 248 in Lisbon
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Travel Park
#104 of 248 in Lisbon
730 reviews
Hotel Miraparque
#86 of 248 in Lisbon
1,431 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#122 of 248 in Lisbon
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Expo Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Expo Astoria

Property: Hotel Expo Astoria
Address: Rua Braamcamp 10 | Marquês de Pombal, Lisbon 1250-050, Portugal (Formerly Evidencia Astoria Creative Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Expo Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Expo Astória, also known as "The Art Hotel", represents a new concept of hotel inspired by art and design, combined with comfort and well-being. Located at a privileged area of Lisbon, a few minutes away from Praça do Marquês de Pombal, Avenida da Liberdade and Parque Eduardo VII, it stands out due to the Art Deco architecture of the building and by its excellent, customized and hospitable service, which seeks to kindly meet the needs of each customer. Adorned with art and design pieces, the interior of the hotel presents itself as a trendy and elegant space, offering a welcoming and contemporary environment, where each detail makes every guest feel special. The rooms provide to the guests a cozy and delightful design, conceived so they may comfortably enjoy their stay. If you wish to discover the city of Lisbon and its wonders, Hotel Expo Astória is an excellent starting point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Expo Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing