We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blacklisted by local organization; we were robbed!!!”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #236 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 25 June 2011

POSITIVE: cheap, central location
NEGATIVE: blacklisted by local organization; we were robbed!!!

For a business trip to Lisbon, we had booked two nights at Hotel Excelsior. During our first night at the hotel, several men climbed the fire stairs, removed our window (locked and covered by a curtain) from its frame, then entered our room and stole everything inside (clothes, computers, valuables). We woke up right when they left, and immediately alerted the hotel staff.

To our surprise, they couldn't care less! The staff were entirely passive, even refused to help us block our credit cards (we had to hijack their computer terminal to do so), had to be talked into calling the police at all, and refused to grant us access to the fire stairs, or even the backyard, even hours after the robbery. When we returned from the police department, they even tried to charge us for our stay at the hotel... After this, it took us two days and a lot of help by Portuguese-speaking local friends to finally get to meet the hotel manager, who subtly blamed the incident on us, refusing any compensation by citing “superior orders”. As a result of this incident, the hotel has been blacklisted by the Lisbon-based Champalimaud Foundation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank FlorianDehmelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

Situated one minute's walk away from Marques de Pombal metro and bus stops, the hotel in an ideal position. The room we stayed in was larger than we expected, with basic amenties provided (television, toiletries, towels etc.) It was clean and serviced daily. The room also had a fridge, although we had no use of it.
Breakfast is of the continental variety - just as you would expect from continental hotels! It was simple, but more than enough to set you up for the day. It consists of ham, cheese, cereals, bread rolls - including butter, jam, marmalade, croissants as well as orange juice, tea and coffee.
The breakfast rooms doubles as an Indian restaurant at night although we didn't try it. There is also a small bar just off the lobby area.
WiFi is provided free of charge in the lobby, bar and restaurant, and a PC is provided if you need it.
We booked the hotel through octopus.com and paid just over £30 per night for the room, including breakfast. At that rate, it makes the hotel extremely good value for money.
One handy hint is to buy a one-day travel card from the nearby metro station. At 3.95Euro (plus 0.50 euro for the reusable card) you have unlimited travel on many modes of transport - metros, buses (including buses to the airport), trams and funiculars.
Overall, if you want inexpensive and pleasant accommodation with excellent transport links, and close to sightseeing bus stops, this hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TheHappyChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

As the headline says - this hotel is pretty basic.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean but nothing fancy.
Breakfast is a little above average, I think - but it gets a little boring after a week.
The staff is nice and helpful.
I would come back for a work-related stay but not for a leisure-related one.
They have air-con which is so nice. But no internet access in the rooms which is pretty bad.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler26Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Excelsior Lisbon in March 2007.
Overall it was a typical European hotel. It's located in an ideal location: close to Avinda Liberdad, Pombal Square, Rossio Square, and Edward vii gardens.
The rooms varied from hall way to hall way- some were big, while others were small. As well the elevator is very small, which ment that we had to put our luggage in the elevator, and run up to our floor to retreave it.
Overall it was a decent hotel, and we would consider going back there if we have the chance

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

Hotel Excelsior did what anyone would want a hotel to do - provided clean, decently sized rooms, with friendly/helpful staff. I recently spent the weekend there with 4 other friends and we had a triple and a double. The rooms were cleaned everyday and we were given clean towels. The staff helped alot with finding buses and metros (the Marques Pompal metro stop is very close, just the next parellel street over). The location was good for the downtown area (about a 15 minute walk) but not so good for going out for younger people. There were a range of people in the hotel and it appeared that all the younger people were on the 2nd floor which worked out well for us. The breakfast wasn't over the top - average bread, jelly, cereal, ham & cheese, and eggs (either hard-boiled or scrambled which you have to get there early for otherwise you won't get them) and coffee, orange juice, milk and tea. Our beds were a little low to the ground but there was enough space in the room to make up for it. Our TV didn't work, but we weren't there to watch TV anyway. If you're looking for a basic hotel that provides basic needs, Excelsior meets them nicely. I believe it was decently priced as well. I went through funiversal.com which provides a bus/hotel package coming from certain cities (we came from madrid) i recommend it.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank stmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2006

Excelsior is an average hotel with a friendly staff. My husband and I have stayed there two times (1998 and 2000). The rooms are common, but good. The bathroom perhaps too narrow. The bath is not so big, but there is a shower. First time we stayed in the hotel we got a room just beside the elevator. It was not so funny when people came home late in the night and were loud. We did´nt get much sleep. First time we had a view from our room to private habitation. Second time view to the street from the Third Floor. There are no balconies. The street is not noisy, so you don´t have to worry about sleepless nights. The breakfast is average; there is not much choise. You can have coffee, tee, marmelade, cheese and buns. I can not remember if there were eggs and yoghurt. But you could eat and drink all the coffee/tee you wanted. The lack of few things compensate for the friendly staff. There is a cosy bar to the left of the reception. I don´t know how the dinner is, because we had just bought breakfast from the travel agency. We were eating dinner different places in Lisbon. Things can have changed in Excelsior, it is nearly six years since we were there last. But we will not hesitate to stay in Excelsior again. Off course, we hope to come back to Lisbon again. We feel comfortable in the city and the friendly inhabitants. Avenida Liberdade is a few minutes walk away(not even 10 minutes?). The nearest Metro Station from Excelsior is at Marques de Pombal(statue), about 5-8 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Trunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: o mais alto possível
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eder E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Lisboa Central Park
Lisboa Central Park
#182 of 253 in Lisbon
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dom Sancho I
Hotel Dom Sancho I
#189 of 253 in Lisbon
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#128 of 253 in Lisbon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#220 of 253 in Lisbon
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#215 of 253 in Lisbon
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#239 of 253 in Lisbon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 172 | Coração de Jesus, Lisbon 1150-282, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £43 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing