We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #234 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Horrible hotel. Probably the worse hotel I have ever stayed. Worse than hostels. 
Room 406. Airconditioning didn't work. Temperature over 40 C. I went to reception to change the room and they didn't want to change it, just send somebody to fix it. But even if it seems to work air was not cold. I couldn't sleep the whole night.
In addition it was an interior room, could not open the window. 
Bathroom smelled bad. Lamps did not work either.  The bed was as hard as a rock.
Never go to this hotel!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    61
    109
    48
    58
See reviews for
83
90
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Me and my wife booked several rooms for some friends coming to our wedding, the pictures look good on booking and we also decided to see it by ourselves. Everything seemed ok, until we read the trip advisor comments... So we decided to cancel it, supposedly there wasn't any cancellations fee, but the hotel charged anyway!
After a few emails with booking we got our cancellation fee back, but the hotel didn't cooperate at all!!! So you are warned...

Room Tip: book on another hotel! for example residencial vila nova, it's a 100m away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoncaloPonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The hotel is located close to the town centre, walking distance to restauradores is about 15 minutes.
The hotel is quite old fashioned and the hall is little and absolutely not comfortable. They have free internet wifi in all the common area.

We had a four bed room and it was really small and not very clean.

Many problems with the staff they are quite nice, but no way to solve any problem. The room we received was not compliant with the reservation and we had to wait more than an hour to solve the problem.
The hotel can be reccomended only if If you are looking for a low cost solution no matter the quality

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

as a portuguese i ve staied in this hotel is close to th center of lisbon
but ive been robbed
this had hapenned during the breakfeast in the dinning room
the positive side was staied for free

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gomes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

POSITIVE: cheap, central location
NEGATIVE: blacklisted by local organization; we were robbed!!!

For a business trip to Lisbon, we had booked two nights at Hotel Excelsior. During our first night at the hotel, several men climbed the fire stairs, removed our window (locked and covered by a curtain) from its frame, then entered our room and stole everything inside (clothes, computers, valuables). We woke up right when they left, and immediately alerted the hotel staff.

To our surprise, they couldn't care less! The staff were entirely passive, even refused to help us block our credit cards (we had to hijack their computer terminal to do so), had to be talked into calling the police at all, and refused to grant us access to the fire stairs, or even the backyard, even hours after the robbery. When we returned from the police department, they even tried to charge us for our stay at the hotel... After this, it took us two days and a lot of help by Portuguese-speaking local friends to finally get to meet the hotel manager, who subtly blamed the incident on us, refusing any compensation by citing “superior orders”. As a result of this incident, the hotel has been blacklisted by the Lisbon-based Champalimaud Foundation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank FlorianDehmelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Situated one minute's walk away from Marques de Pombal metro and bus stops, the hotel in an ideal position. The room we stayed in was larger than we expected, with basic amenties provided (television, toiletries, towels etc.) It was clean and serviced daily. The room also had a fridge, although we had no use of it.
Breakfast is of the continental variety - just as you would expect from continental hotels! It was simple, but more than enough to set you up for the day. It consists of ham, cheese, cereals, bread rolls - including butter, jam, marmalade, croissants as well as orange juice, tea and coffee.
The breakfast rooms doubles as an Indian restaurant at night although we didn't try it. There is also a small bar just off the lobby area.
WiFi is provided free of charge in the lobby, bar and restaurant, and a PC is provided if you need it.
We booked the hotel through octopus.com and paid just over £30 per night for the room, including breakfast. At that rate, it makes the hotel extremely good value for money.
One handy hint is to buy a one-day travel card from the nearby metro station. At 3.95Euro (plus 0.50 euro for the reusable card) you have unlimited travel on many modes of transport - metros, buses (including buses to the airport), trams and funiculars.
Overall, if you want inexpensive and pleasant accommodation with excellent transport links, and close to sightseeing bus stops, this hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TheHappyChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

As the headline says - this hotel is pretty basic.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean but nothing fancy.
Breakfast is a little above average, I think - but it gets a little boring after a week.
The staff is nice and helpful.
I would come back for a work-related stay but not for a leisure-related one.
They have air-con which is so nice. But no internet access in the rooms which is pretty bad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler26Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#211 of 247 in Lisbon
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nacional
Hotel Nacional
#171 of 247 in Lisbon
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#182 of 247 in Lisbon
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#229 of 247 in Lisbon
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#142 of 247 in Lisbon
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lisboa Central Park
Lisboa Central Park
#189 of 247 in Lisbon
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 172 | Coração de Jesus, Lisbon 1150-282, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing