We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoilt by lack of secure storage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Ranked #80 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spoilt by lack of secure storage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very disappointed to find no safe in room. On check in we were informed boxes controlled by reception were available on lower floor but found only five and despite asking on a daily basis, we were always informed none were available. It certainly spoilt out stay as felt very uneasy having to carry our valuables with us.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troodles111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Troodles111

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade.
Guest comments like yours give us opportunity to improve our services.
Please be advised that since your review we have increased the number of safes available for guests so that anyone carrying valuables can guard them safely during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new Hotel in the future.
Kindest regards,

Matilde Machado
General Manager
and all of the team at the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    350
    97
    10
    7
See reviews for
174
316
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Monday we were early at the hotel. Because my daughter was not feeling very well they gave us a room immediately. As a special favor. So nice of them. Some people say the location is not great, but we think it is a great location. THe metro is really not far away and you can reach every corner of the city by this metro. The hotel is brand new, but it is also very friendly and nice decorated. The breakfast is great, we really could not complain about anything. I told them that we probably leave at 7 for the airport, and he already arranged a taxi for us. I call that service. In fact nothing is too much for them. We really enjoyed our stay here and can certainly recommend it to you. And 3 stars? no it is more likely 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gejah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Gerente de recepção at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Gejah N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice compliments about our Hotel.
It really means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us and our excellent location, nice decoration, great breakfast and overall experience and services provided by our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade.

Kind regards,
The Front Desk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two stays of our Portugal trip: the beginning and the end of our trip. I have chosen it because it's a newly opened hotel, newly renovated of an old building built about one hundred years ago. I'm not disappointed! The room is as shown on the hotel's
Website: modern and clean. It's not small given the European standard: a Queen bed and a sitting area. The bathroom is small (no tub) but clean and functional. We had a room faced to the main big street but we slept well. The noise barely audible. There is a electric water boiler in the room which is rare in Europe. However, there aren't iron and iron board. The breakfast is included with typical Portuguese pastry, among them Pastel de Nata. If you go the the breakfast early, they are still warm. They are better than some local pastries. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is two blocks away from a subways station. The internet is free but very slow. The building is a historical building. The external of the building has very nice architecture details and I love the modern decor of interior Given the price we paid (69 euro a day including taxes and breakfast), the value/price is very high.

Room Tip: It takes about half hour between the hotel and the airport by subway. The ticket costs 1.4 euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Gerente de recepção at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sophie L,

Thank you so much for having chosen Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade and also for your nice compliments about our facilities, architecture and modern decoration of the interior, our delicious breakfast, our friendly and helpful staff and the hotel´s great location.

We hope we can meet again in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Front Desk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel occupies a former magnificent buiding. A Art-Noveau, typy of building was completely destroyed. All the rooms were erased, mirrors, coloured glasses, fancy ceilings, mosaic floors, ebony woods, winter gardens, every little token of the past is now gone.

Instead we have a modern bulding pretending to be a luxury hotel. No more no less then one like thousands of many others all over the globe.

If you are an heritage-lover, someone keen on preserving the best a place has to offer, if you think enlarging a city doesn't mean destroying it, please avoid staying at this hotel. Lisbon will thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Miguel V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#128 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#85 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#90 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano No. 40, Lisbon 1250-011, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, a charming new contemporary and stylish approach to accommodation set in the heart of the city of Lisbon. Lose yourself in Avenida da Liberdade, one of the main arteries of the city, home to fashionable mansions, cafes, theatres and, more recently, designer boutiques like Louis Vuitton, Prada, Miu Miu, Trussardi, Burberry, Tod's, Cartier, Emporio Armani, Longchamp, Gucci, Carolina Herrera and many others. Only a few steps down from the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade you will find the Blue and Yellow lines of the Lisbon Metro stop at Marques de Pombal Station, with connection to the Red line that serves Lisbon Airport, or eighteen bus lines that also serve the Marques de Pombal square. Relax in your modern guest room whilst enjoying complementary tea and coffee and awaken each day feeling revitalized. Lay back in the comfortable armchairs of our avant-garde 24-hour lobby bar, where our friendly staff will be happy to serve you coffee, Portuguese beer and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing