We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Altis Prime(Lisbon)
US$340
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$285
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$194
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
US$293
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
US$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$274
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
319
419
115
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
419
115
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtmetro stationdecent locationincluded breakfast issofa bedminute walkbudget hotelcoffee machinepastel de natatwo blockscorner roomstaff on receptioncold cutshop on hopclean hotelupon checkrooms are modern
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Pros - Nice modern refit of an old building. Everything is new and clean. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms very nice. Reception staff excellent. Croissants at breakfast very good. Good location, right near the metro and 10 mins walk to the tourist restaurant/bar area.

Cons - Wi-fi a bit on the slow side. Breakfast has no hot options (no egg etc) or English breakfast tea. This wont be a problem for most people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theonelikefranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear theonelikefranco,

First of all thank you for your kind words.

Regarding the internet issue we already solve our problem changing some settings as internet is very important nowadays for all our costumers.

Regarding the breakfast, in fact our buffet breakfast is a continental buffet so we don't have any eggs. We also didn't have English tea but we already start buying as we understood it's important for some costumers and we want all of them happy.

Best regards,

António Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very disappointed to find no safe in room. On check in we were informed boxes controlled by reception were available on lower floor but found only five and despite asking on a daily basis, we were always informed none were available. It certainly spoilt out stay as felt very uneasy having to carry our valuables with us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troodles111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Troodles111

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade.
Guest comments like yours give us opportunity to improve our services.
Please be advised that since your review we have increased the number of safes available for guests so that anyone carrying valuables can guard them safely during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new Hotel in the future.
Kindest regards,

Matilde Machado
General Manager
and all of the team at the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Monday we were early at the hotel. Because my daughter was not feeling very well they gave us a room immediately. As a special favor. So nice of them. Some people say the location is not great, but we think it is a great location. THe metro is really not far away and you can reach every corner of the city by this metro. The hotel is brand new, but it is also very friendly and nice decorated. The breakfast is great, we really could not complain about anything. I told them that we probably leave at 7 for the airport, and he already arranged a taxi for us. I call that service. In fact nothing is too much for them. We really enjoyed our stay here and can certainly recommend it to you. And 3 stars? no it is more likely 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gejah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Gerente de recepção at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Gejah N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice compliments about our Hotel.
It really means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us and our excellent location, nice decoration, great breakfast and overall experience and services provided by our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade.

Kind regards,
The Front Desk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two stays of our Portugal trip: the beginning and the end of our trip. I have chosen it because it's a newly opened hotel, newly renovated of an old building built about one hundred years ago. I'm not disappointed! The room is as shown on the hotel's
Website: modern and clean. It's not small given the European standard: a Queen bed and a sitting area. The bathroom is small (no tub) but clean and functional. We had a room faced to the main big street but we slept well. The noise barely audible. There is a electric water boiler in the room which is rare in Europe. However, there aren't iron and iron board. The breakfast is included with typical Portuguese pastry, among them Pastel de Nata. If you go the the breakfast early, they are still warm. They are better than some local pastries. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is two blocks away from a subways station. The internet is free but very slow. The building is a historical building. The external of the building has very nice architecture details and I love the modern decor of interior Given the price we paid (69 euro a day including taxes and breakfast), the value/price is very high.

Room Tip: It takes about half hour between the hotel and the airport by subway. The ticket costs 1.4 euro.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Gerente de recepção at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Sophie L,

Thank you so much for having chosen Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade and also for your nice compliments about our facilities, architecture and modern decoration of the interior, our delicious breakfast, our friendly and helpful staff and the hotel´s great location.

We hope we can meet again in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Front Desk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel occupies a former magnificent buiding. A Art-Noveau, typy of building was completely destroyed. All the rooms were erased, mirrors, coloured glasses, fancy ceilings, mosaic floors, ebony woods, winter gardens, every little token of the past is now gone.

Instead we have a modern bulding pretending to be a luxury hotel. No more no less then one like thousands of many others all over the globe.

If you are an heritage-lover, someone keen on preserving the best a place has to offer, if you think enlarging a city doesn't mean destroying it, please avoid staying at this hotel. Lisbon will thank you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
6  Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Miguel V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews