We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recomend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Ranked #81 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recomend”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Locatin is very nice but even better is the service. The room we got was really nice and big. The breackfest was OK and I guess for Europe this is very good ( why no salad!?). I just think the reception guys and thier work made all the differance.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bndot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Bndot,

First of all thank you so much for your nice words.

We work hardly everyday to have reviews like yours.

Regarding the breakfast, our buffet breakfast is a continental breakfast that is exactly like you found it. Regardless we will inform our managers of your idea to see if it's possible to add some different things to it.

Looking forward to meet you again.

Best regards

António Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    370
    103
    11
    8
See reviews for
185
338
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The location is great a few steps away from the Metro station as well as the hop HoHo drop point. The hotel staff is EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The Hotel in general and the rooms in particular are obviously new and clean, the bathrooms are among the best i have seen in 3 stars Hotel. The breakfast is nothing short of amazing and everything is tasty with a great variety.
However, the room doesnt have a minibar nor a safe.
The minibar wasn't much of an issue cause we were always out and used the room only at night but the safe was kinda inconvenient because we like to keep our important documents and most of our money in the room safe.
I certainly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaa210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Alaa210

First of all thank you so much for your kind words.

We work hard everyday to make sure our guests are satisfied as you.

We choose our products in our breakfast very carefully. Our bakery is the best in town.

We are glad we made your stay worth.
We hope you come back to our Hotel.

Best regards,
António Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Pros - Nice modern refit of an old building. Everything is new and clean. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms very nice. Reception staff excellent. Croissants at breakfast very good. Good location, right near the metro and 10 mins walk to the tourist restaurant/bar area.

Cons - Wi-fi a bit on the slow side. Breakfast has no hot options (no egg etc) or English breakfast tea. This wont be a problem for most people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theonelikefranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear theonelikefranco,

First of all thank you for your kind words.

Regarding the internet issue we already solve our problem changing some settings as internet is very important nowadays for all our costumers.

Regarding the breakfast, in fact our buffet breakfast is a continental buffet so we don't have any eggs. We also didn't have English tea but we already start buying as we understood it's important for some costumers and we want all of them happy.

Best regards,

António Monteiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very disappointed to find no safe in room. On check in we were informed boxes controlled by reception were available on lower floor but found only five and despite asking on a daily basis, we were always informed none were available. It certainly spoilt out stay as felt very uneasy having to carry our valuables with us.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troodles111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Troodles111

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade.
Guest comments like yours give us opportunity to improve our services.
Please be advised that since your review we have increased the number of safes available for guests so that anyone carrying valuables can guard them safely during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our brand new Hotel in the future.
Kindest regards,

Matilde Machado
General Manager
and all of the team at the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Monday we were early at the hotel. Because my daughter was not feeling very well they gave us a room immediately. As a special favor. So nice of them. Some people say the location is not great, but we think it is a great location. THe metro is really not far away and you can reach every corner of the city by this metro. The hotel is brand new, but it is also very friendly and nice decorated. The breakfast is great, we really could not complain about anything. I told them that we probably leave at 7 for the airport, and he already arranged a taxi for us. I call that service. In fact nothing is too much for them. We really enjoyed our stay here and can certainly recommend it to you. And 3 stars? no it is more likely 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gejah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Gerente de recepção at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Gejah N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice compliments about our Hotel.
It really means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us and our excellent location, nice decoration, great breakfast and overall experience and services provided by our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade.

Kind regards,
The Front Desk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two stays of our Portugal trip: the beginning and the end of our trip. I have chosen it because it's a newly opened hotel, newly renovated of an old building built about one hundred years ago. I'm not disappointed! The room is as shown on the hotel's
Website: modern and clean. It's not small given the European standard: a Queen bed and a sitting area. The bathroom is small (no tub) but clean and functional. We had a room faced to the main big street but we slept well. The noise barely audible. There is a electric water boiler in the room which is rare in Europe. However, there aren't iron and iron board. The breakfast is included with typical Portuguese pastry, among them Pastel de Nata. If you go the the breakfast early, they are still warm. They are better than some local pastries. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is two blocks away from a subways station. The internet is free but very slow. The building is a historical building. The external of the building has very nice architecture details and I love the modern decor of interior Given the price we paid (69 euro a day including taxes and breakfast), the value/price is very high.

Room Tip: It takes about half hour between the hotel and the airport by subway. The ticket costs 1.4 euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLISBONCITY, Gerente de recepção at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sophie L,

Thank you so much for having chosen Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Av. Liberdade and also for your nice compliments about our facilities, architecture and modern decoration of the interior, our delicious breakfast, our friendly and helpful staff and the hotel´s great location.

We hope we can meet again in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Front Desk Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel occupies a former magnificent buiding. A Art-Noveau, typy of building was completely destroyed. All the rooms were erased, mirrors, coloured glasses, fancy ceilings, mosaic floors, ebony woods, winter gardens, every little token of the past is now gone.

Instead we have a modern bulding pretending to be a luxury hotel. No more no less then one like thousands of many others all over the globe.

If you are an heritage-lover, someone keen on preserving the best a place has to offer, if you think enlarging a city doesn't mean destroying it, please avoid staying at this hotel. Lisbon will thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Miguel V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 247 in Lisbon
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SANA Capitol Hotel
SANA Capitol Hotel
#62 of 247 in Lisbon
574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#104 of 247 in Lisbon
2,635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#88 of 247 in Lisbon
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade
Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano No. 40, Lisbon 1250-011, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade, a charming new contemporary and stylish approach to accommodation set in the heart of the city of Lisbon. Lose yourself in Avenida da Liberdade, one of the main arteries of the city, home to fashionable mansions, cafes, theatres and, more recently, designer boutiques like Louis Vuitton, Prada, Miu Miu, Trussardi, Burberry, Tod's, Cartier, Emporio Armani, Longchamp, Gucci, Carolina Herrera and many others. Only a few steps down from the Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade you will find the Blue and Yellow lines of the Lisbon Metro stop at Marques de Pombal Station, with connection to the Red line that serves Lisbon Airport, or eighteen bus lines that also serve the Marques de Pombal square. Relax in your modern guest room whilst enjoying complementary tea and coffee and awaken each day feeling revitalized. Lay back in the comfortable armchairs of our avant-garde 24-hour lobby bar, where our friendly staff will be happy to serve you coffee, Portuguese beer and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lisbon - Av. Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing