We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Costa do Castelo
Ranked #93 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Have just got back from 3 nights in Casa Costa do Castelo with other half and 2 young teenagers - we all loved the place. The location is great, really central for all the main parts of Lisbon, which is lovely. You can't visit Lisbon without climbing lots of stairs so a few more here make no difference. Great views, lovely gardens and Joao was a good host - not in your face but very helpful when needed. Breakfast was always superb. A few niggles - as mentioned before the common parts were dreadful (holes in stair case and plaster crumbling off walls), some smells of bad drains. Rooms are well appointed although not large - we were on the top floor with sloping ceilings and anyone over 6ft 4 might bump their head when sitting up in bed. Also rooms facing the castle are overlooked by tourists, the castle is lit up all night and curtains are very thin so it proved difficult to sleep. But all in all, I'd go again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2007

This was the most amazing B&B--we are young travelers and we really enjoyed the beautiful rooms and incredible view. The B&B is located on the fourth floor--the innkeeper states this on his website so the stairs should be a non-issue if you did your research. The innkeeper is kind and helpful, but not in your face and is not "bubbly". If you are expecting a typical American B&B with a warm, motherly hostess you won't find this here. However, if you prefer local knowledge from someone who has lived in the area for decades, this is the place for you! We preferred the latter, and he was quite helpful when telling us which areas to visit and which ones to skip.

The terrace is amazing and it was so romantic that one evening (after a bottle of wine) my then boyfriend was inspired to propose spontaneously! We’ve been married for a month now…so, obviously this place will remain in our hearts for a long time

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

We traveled all through Spain and Portugal, and this was the only dissappointment. While I would agree with the other reviews that the hotel was well cared for, I thought the host and hostess were just "OK ". The problem is definatley the stairs. Not only is the common hall scary, but you have to walk up several flights of stairs just to get to the hotel (not in it). The area is also run down, and you don't feel particularly safe walking around at night. Every place we have ever traveled you find the historic areas are very well cared for, but apparently Lisbon has decided to put their funds into their harbor area and ignore the historic districts. Personally, I would skip Lisbon and stay in Sintra, even though it is a little more expensive it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayti5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2007

The previous reviews sum up the place very well, the rooms are nicely furnished, the owners very friendly and helpful (they asked when our flight was and as it was an evening flight if we wanted to collect our bags later and called a taxi for us), a nice sitting area with views out over the town and the bridge, and a very good breakfast.

The location is good, and is about a five to ten minute walk down into town, but back you really want to get a tram (12 or 25) or a taxi, but it is not a place to go if you have difficulty walking or climbing steps. If you are arriving by car, the street it is located on has rising bollards, so only locals and taxis can drive down it.

The only downside to the property is the common stairway. It really does let the property down and gives you a bad impression when you arrive, having gone beyond 'shabby chic' into downright decrepit. The owners really need to do something about it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

We loved it here! Amazing view and location. Very clean. The owner is
so thoughtful, and breakfast was really wonderful. A magical experience.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffee_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We stayed in Costa do Castelo for 3 nights. The owners have the 2 top floors of an old building situated below Sao Jorge castle. In the lower floor there is a cozy living room, a breakfast room and two bedrooms (one of them a suite). An internal spiral staircase leads to the upper floor, where there are some sloping ceiling rooms.

We had asked for a double room, but since all of them were busy we were allocated in the suite at the normal fare of the double room. The suite is large and nice.

The pros and cons of Costa do Castelo:

The pros:
- The views of the city are fantastic and the district "Bairro do Castelo" is very nice. Also close to the "Alfama" traditional district.
- There is a lovely terrace with plants and seats to enjoy the views. The terrace has 3 levels since the house was built on the slope of the hill.
- Breakfast is wonderful: very good coffee, fresh fruit, bread, ham, cheese, butter, jam, and a different little Portuguese cake every day.
- There is no noise, neither internal nor external. On the one hand the street is very quiet (car access to the district is restricted). On the other hand, most guests are young and middle age couples that behave correctly.

The cons:
- There is no lift and Costa do Castelo is in the 4th floor of the building!! Advise: not to bring a heavy suitcase. Also, the entrance of the building and the staircase are not not very nice, although we didn't really care about it.

- The house is on a hill, although access is not difficult at all: tram from the city centre + short walk. What we used to do is to walk down the hill to the city centre (5 minutes) using a staircase ("escadinhas") that goes quickly downwards accross the hill and then to take a taxi to go up again (about 5 euros: taxis are cheap in Lisbon).

In sum, go to Costa do Castelo if you want to experience a different stay in a place with charm. But don't expect the comfort of a classic hotel located in the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Bcn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
110
Reviewed 19 May 2006

What two Marvelous days we spent there ! The room was the kind of one you feel home instantanly, you open the window and smell the flowers and fruits of the garden, you feel privilegious to be here, so near from the castel, seeing all lisbon from the first floor... And what a welcoming man ! wonderfull breakfast and all : perfect stay, perfect days !

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,065 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 255 in Lisbon
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Costa do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Costa do Castelo

Address: Costa do Castelo No. 54, Lisbon 1100-179, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: £79 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Costa do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Costa Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing