We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit run down”

Natural History Museum and Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.13*
and up
Lisbon Secret Gardens Private Tour
Ranked #154 of 422 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is the oldest botanical garden in the country, which lost many specimens to Napoleon's invasion in the 1800s. Great views of Belem.
Elgin Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit run down”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This botanical garden has a host of exotic plants and is situated in the centre of Lisbon but we found it a bit hard to locate. We were on foot and wandered a bit before we found it. The interior had a network of paths but it appeared a bit neglected; maybe due to the austerity of the country. I would recommend it but don't expect a pristine garden. The atmosphere was good; it felt like a teaching garden.
It cost 2 Euros which was a bargain for the fresh air and peace and quiet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 321malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    78
    74
    44
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in which to recharge!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

What a welcome break. I had spent a lot of time queueing in Belem and decided to go to the gardens. I am glad I didn't come in the height of the tourist season. It was a welcome break from the tourist mayhem. The gardens a very interesting and quiet. Take a break and have a picnic lunch in this peaceful haven. There are lots of benches to chill. Walk among the trees and fowl. I came upon ducks, a cockerill and a few peacocks. Look out for the Chinese garden and wind your way through the plants, bushes and over the little bridges. Loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silves, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a wonderful time here, me and my husband spent all day here, €5 entry for the science Museum and the Garden. Loved the Mineral section and the Dinosaurs too. My husband loved the practical Physics section, as well as the math games. Yes a lot of it was in Portuguese, but then again you are in Portugal ??. You can even leave the Museum and go for lunch and come back later. All staff speak English and are willing to help and explain things.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time here”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It's cool under the trees, but the whole experience was underwhelming and it isn't free. The butterfly house is sad and tired, and we saw just two Speckled Woods. Our back garden in England has more butterflies!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sun, shade, and rustling bamboo . . .”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

On a steep hillside, the Botanical Gardens delight at every turn.

Sitting in the shade under bamboos, we enjoyed the rustling of the leaves and the clicking of the stems against each other in the welcome breeze.

Look out for the huge trees that send down roots from high branches. Some had taken, and were growing - perhaps to become new 'trunks'. Could this become a tree that, over time - perhaps decades, might 'walk' to a new location . . . ?

The interpretation boards had English text as well as Portuguese, which was very welcome for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank franc_o_fyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Natural History Museum and Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing