We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, well located, poor sleep quality in some rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
Ranked #185 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Vigo
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, well located, poor sleep quality in some rooms”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a typical 4* Hotel near the Orient train station, a good location for tourism and business.

Rooms are decently sized and well decorated, although showing some mild aging. Safes are laptop-sized, WiFi is free and with average quality. Breakfast was acceptable, although I usually expect better from this type of Hotel. Service was efficient enough. There is indoor parking for a cheap fee.

The main problem I found with this Hotel is soundproofing in the rooms facing the railroad. These rooms are very close to the railroad and windows' soundproofing is clearly not enough to block the noise. Since this is the busiest railroad in Portugal there will be noticeable noise from 6AM to 11PM. When I stay in other rooms there are no significant noise issues.

Overall the quality offers a decent stay (when not staying in the noisy rooms), in a nice place and for a nice price-quality ration.

Room Tip: As mentioned, avoid rooms facing the railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    354
    357
    133
    65
See reviews for
177
296
96
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel wanting to be close to the airport for an early morning flight. While we certainly were very close (less than 10 minutes drive), staying right in Lisbon is also not so far from the airport (ie 15-20 minutes). Never the less this is a very nice 'business' hotel. The rooms are clean, the service was great, and everything is very modern. The hotel is also quite close to a large shopping centre (apparently the 2nd largest in Portugal) which is open until midnight. There are also plenty of restaurants etc nearby. The only problem is that the hotel is not really close to Lisbon city (ie where all the touristy stuff is). The hotel is instead near the business area of Lisbon. Certainly a great hotel for getting to the airport quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jungl3Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

They claim that they wont charge your credit card upon reservation.
I reserved the hotel for 4 nights, but they charged me for the full price. When I canceled the reservation they returned money back by a week delay. Due to currency conversion, I lost 120$ for just reserving the hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehdi_S_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
695 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

PROS
- Great location
- Breakfast variety
- Staff in the reception are very friendly and efficient, in the breakfast room not so much
- General cleanness

CONS
- No warm plates available on breakfast room
- Maintenance, a big lack the rooms shows damages everywhere
- Staff not friendly and efficient on breakfast room, totally different from the staff from reception.
- Bedroom soundproofing, either on the bedrooms to rear where is the trains station, either to the front to the main avenue.
- Air conditioner in the bedroom, not efficient
- Shower water temperature, always changing is almost impossible to set to the temperature required

DO I WILL RETURN?
I don´t think so, I already gave two opportunities!

BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF MY EXPERIENCE IN THIS HOTEL:
I had a not very satisfied experience on my first visit to this hotel, check review here: http://www.tripadvisor.com.br/ShowUserReviews-g189158-d528344-r142783783-VIP_Executive_Arts_Hotel-Lisbon_Estremadura.html#REVIEWS . But i decided to give another opportunity with the condition of getting a bedroom not facing the rear of the hotel, becaue the train line.

But in fact this hotel have some major lacks that not allow the guest to have a pleasant stay. And it´s a shame, becasue the building from outside is great, the location one of the bests and very friendly staff on reception. But the management of this hotel must do something and quick, before is too late. The maintenance is poor or absent, the rooms have a lot of damages, such as lights not working, floor too damaged, furniture damaged as well and windows with leaks.

Another big problem is the soundproofing, on my first stay, I thought the problem was becasue the bedroom facing the rear where is located a train station, one of the main trains stations of Lisbon. So this time i tried a bedroom facing the front, but i had a long night also, becasue the noise out side of the cars and the wind, the soundproofing is so poor that even the wind and a few cars are too noise, even for me that I use to have a heavy sleep. I felt i was sleeping on the street just a meter from the road.

After reading and watch the pictures you can take your own conclusions!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is convenient for the parque de nacaos and easy access to the sea front, mall, cable car and restaurants and bars. However the hotel itself needs some updating the décor in the main areas is very dark and old fashioned red and black. The room lighting was poor, there wasn't a seat by the mirror for doing make up and the magnifying mirror in bathroom was broken and couldn't be pulled away from wall, tv didn't work, phone didn't work, wake up call functionality on phone didn't work, pillows were lumpy. No water or any other drinks in room.That said, the aircon was very effective and also quiet and the room I had was quiet as well with no street noise.
The bar is just a few tables on the mezzanine floor with a grumpy waiter.
Breakfast is mediocre and served in a dark banqueting room with large round tables like you would find at a gala dinner.
I wouldn't stay here again unless it was very convenient.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not one overlooking the train tracks or main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I think this hotel was build for the World Expo in 1998. Large hotel with large rooms. We had a former smoking room, but it was very close to public transport. We had 6 railway tracks just outside our window!
nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for at room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here one night to meet my daughter who was flying in to Lisbon early in the morning. This hotel is only 2 blocks to the train station and a very easy walk with luggage. Checkin was very quick. The room was very quite. The only restaurant does not open until 7 pm for dinner which was inconvenient for someone who likes to eat earlier and in the morning the coffee shop was not open even though they posted sign stating they open at 6 am. There is a mall directly across from the train station and a food court to get a quick bite. The room was a little rough but clean. The bed was extremely hard....like sleeping on a piece of plywood. I did end up taking pillows placing them on the mattress and sleeping on them. Not very comfortable at all. The location is close to the airport and train station but there is not much else interesting in the area.
I would not stay again mainly due to the rock hard beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#87 of 248 in Lisbon
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#107 of 248 in Lisbon
3,600 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Panoramic Living
Panoramic Living
#80 of 455 in Lisbon
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Arts Hotel

Property: VIP Executive Arts Hotel
Address: Lt 1.17.02 Avenida Dom Joao II 18 | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-084, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel VIP Executive Arts is a modern 4 star hotel with 300 rooms (including 11 suites), which combines design, hospitality and a good quality service, in order to meet its guests needs of comfort and wellbeing. Featuring eight meeting rooms and a modern auditorium, the Hotel also offers a full range of restaurants and parking for over 500 cars. Hotel VIP Executive Arts is situated in the Parque das Nações quater, the new business centre of Lisbon. In a dynamic and modern urban centre, you can find, within walking distance of the hotel, the Congress Centre of Lisbon (FIL), a vast network of recreational services, as well as privileged access to Lisbon International Airport and an extensive transport network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your VIP Executive Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Executive Arts Lisbon
Vip Executive Arts Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing