We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel close to airport, train station and subway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
Ranked #189 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One thing, me and my wife really enjoyed in this hotel was a wonderful view of the Vasco da Gama bridge from our room on the 10th floor. It was worth of booking this hotel just to enjoy such a gorgeous picture sitting in the armchair in front of the whole-wall window with a glass of good wine. Otherwise, it was just a good hotel. The room and the washroom were spacey, clean and very well maintained by the staff during both days we stayed there. There was a safety box and the mini bar in the room and possibility of buying breakfast in the restaurant. Breakfast was good with the variety of warm and cold dishes. Additionally, the hotel is very close to the wonderfully designed Oriente train station (there is also the subway station with the same name) and not far away from the airport. It took only 10 minutes to get us there by the taxi in the early morning at the cost of 8.20 Euro.
One thing that we would to complain was a very noisy, outdated and insufficient air conditioner in the room. The management should solve this problem somehow.

Room Tip: The room # 1016 has a great view on the Vasco da Gama bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-pilot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed here twice recently and will be staying again soon, this hotel ticks all the right boxes if you are on business. The staff are always ready to help, the rooms are large, airy and clean, every thing you need is at hand though don't expect it to be a holiday hotel, its not, small bar and restaurant, the breakfast is very good hot and cold dishes to choose from, evening meals are ok.

Room Tip: ask for a room up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a typical 4* Hotel near the Orient train station, a good location for tourism and business.

Rooms are decently sized and well decorated, although showing some mild aging. Safes are laptop-sized, WiFi is free and with average quality. Breakfast was acceptable, although I usually expect better from this type of Hotel. Service was efficient enough. There is indoor parking for a cheap fee.

The main problem I found with this Hotel is soundproofing in the rooms facing the railroad. These rooms are very close to the railroad and windows' soundproofing is clearly not enough to block the noise. Since this is the busiest railroad in Portugal there will be noticeable noise from 6AM to 11PM. When I stay in other rooms there are no significant noise issues.

Overall the quality offers a decent stay (when not staying in the noisy rooms), in a nice place and for a nice price-quality ration.

Room Tip: As mentioned, avoid rooms facing the railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel wanting to be close to the airport for an early morning flight. While we certainly were very close (less than 10 minutes drive), staying right in Lisbon is also not so far from the airport (ie 15-20 minutes). Never the less this is a very nice 'business' hotel. The rooms are clean, the service was great, and everything is very modern. The hotel is also quite close to a large shopping centre (apparently the 2nd largest in Portugal) which is open until midnight. There are also plenty of restaurants etc nearby. The only problem is that the hotel is not really close to Lisbon city (ie where all the touristy stuff is). The hotel is instead near the business area of Lisbon. Certainly a great hotel for getting to the airport quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jungl3Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

They claim that they wont charge your credit card upon reservation.
I reserved the hotel for 4 nights, but they charged me for the full price. When I canceled the reservation they returned money back by a week delay. Due to currency conversion, I lost 120$ for just reserving the hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Mehdi_S_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

PROS
- Great location
- Breakfast variety
- Staff in the reception are very friendly and efficient, in the breakfast room not so much
- General cleanness

CONS
- No warm plates available on breakfast room
- Maintenance, a big lack the rooms shows damages everywhere
- Staff not friendly and efficient on breakfast room, totally different from the staff from reception.
- Bedroom soundproofing, either on the bedrooms to rear where is the trains station, either to the front to the main avenue.
- Air conditioner in the bedroom, not efficient
- Shower water temperature, always changing is almost impossible to set to the temperature required

DO I WILL RETURN?
I don´t think so, I already gave two opportunities!

BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF MY EXPERIENCE IN THIS HOTEL:
I had a not very satisfied experience on my first visit to this hotel, check review here: http://www.tripadvisor.com.br/ShowUserReviews-g189158-d528344-r142783783-VIP_Executive_Arts_Hotel-Lisbon_Estremadura.html#REVIEWS . But i decided to give another opportunity with the condition of getting a bedroom not facing the rear of the hotel, becaue the train line.

But in fact this hotel have some major lacks that not allow the guest to have a pleasant stay. And it´s a shame, becasue the building from outside is great, the location one of the bests and very friendly staff on reception. But the management of this hotel must do something and quick, before is too late. The maintenance is poor or absent, the rooms have a lot of damages, such as lights not working, floor too damaged, furniture damaged as well and windows with leaks.

Another big problem is the soundproofing, on my first stay, I thought the problem was becasue the bedroom facing the rear where is located a train station, one of the main trains stations of Lisbon. So this time i tried a bedroom facing the front, but i had a long night also, becasue the noise out side of the cars and the wind, the soundproofing is so poor that even the wind and a few cars are too noise, even for me that I use to have a heavy sleep. I felt i was sleeping on the street just a meter from the road.

After reading and watch the pictures you can take your own conclusions!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is convenient for the parque de nacaos and easy access to the sea front, mall, cable car and restaurants and bars. However the hotel itself needs some updating the décor in the main areas is very dark and old fashioned red and black. The room lighting was poor, there wasn't a seat by the mirror for doing make up and the magnifying mirror in bathroom was broken and couldn't be pulled away from wall, tv didn't work, phone didn't work, wake up call functionality on phone didn't work, pillows were lumpy. No water or any other drinks in room.That said, the aircon was very effective and also quiet and the room I had was quiet as well with no street noise.
The bar is just a few tables on the mezzanine floor with a grumpy waiter.
Breakfast is mediocre and served in a dark banqueting room with large round tables like you would find at a gala dinner.
I wouldn't stay here again unless it was very convenient.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not one overlooking the train tracks or main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#86 of 255 in Lisbon
929 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#103 of 255 in Lisbon
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Arts Hotel

Address: Lt 1.17.02 Avenida Dom Joao II 18 | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-084, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel VIP Executive Arts is a modern 4 star hotel with 300 rooms (including 11 suites), which combines design, hospitality and a good quality service, in order to meet its guests needs of comfort and wellbeing. Featuring eight meeting rooms and a modern auditorium, the Hotel also offers a full range of restaurants and parking for over 500 cars. Hotel VIP Executive Arts is situated in the Parque das Nações quater, the new business centre of Lisbon. In a dynamic and modern urban centre, you can find, within walking distance of the hotel, the Congress Centre of Lisbon (FIL), a vast network of recreational services, as well as privileged access to Lisbon International Airport and an extensive transport network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VIP Executive Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Executive Arts Lisbon
Vip Executive Arts Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing