We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION, EXCELLENT VIEWS BUT ROOMS UNCLEAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
Ranked #189 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I was so excited when I arrived at the hotel, as it looked so grand. We booked a non-smoking room. The first room we were given, smelt badly of smoke but even worse the dirty ashtray with 5 cigarette butts were still on the table! The second room still smelt of smoke & the shaving mirror was dirty & old tissue behind the waste bin was horrible but after travelling along time, we just stayed in that room as the view was so amazing! House Keeping let this otherwise great hotel down.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmaxi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

The location is in the "Parque das Nações" close to the "Orient Gare" and the Vasco da Gama Shopping-center. Just five minutes away from the Metrostation, where it will be easy to get to Lisbons downtown.
The Hotel has a modern look, but they need to have more care with the rooms.

You will have better and cheaper breakfast outside. So book the room without breakfast.
The parkingfacilities are ok and inexensive - 6 euro for 24 hours.

For a business trip or for a short stay (one or two nights) this hotel is good enough.
For business trip or a weekend i would go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

The good:
The hotel is pretty well placed in the newer and cleaner part of Lisbon, close enough to the airport (direct bus, about 10 minutes). A variety of restaurants and tourist attractions in proximity. Far from the city center, but easy to get there by metro. Train station very close, easy to get to interesting places nearby.
The hotel was clean in general, with some exceptions (see below). Rooms a bit small for a 4 star hotel, but comfortable.

The bad:
The staff is very slow. Checking in and out takes a long time, not sure which part of the process they have difficulties with.
Their English (or other foreign language, like French, Spanish, anything) could be better.
The internet access is not included in the room price and is very expensive. Again, getting internet access in your room is some kind of complicated process that takes them a long time.
Sometimes the towels are old and look dirty, there were days I didn't dare to use them.
No coffee maker in the room.
Some food items at breakfast (pancakes, deserts) were at least a couple of days old. Very poor quality tea.

The worst:
The waiter tried to trick us at dinner by overcharging the bill with plenty of stuff we didn't order. The bill was 50% higher than it should have been, with a strange list of items on it that nobody ate. He pretended not to understand our English or our French when we complained. We had to go to the reception to clear the problem out. Not sure he still works there, but anyway be careful at the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB_059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I like the interior and the location of this hotel, especially when the friendly staff is able to give you one of the higher upstairs rooms. Rooms are spacious and well furnished, good deal for the money. Drawbacks, however, are the gruesome Coffee (the breakfast over all is not bad but not tasty either), the lack of decent internet/WIFI, and the good looking but user unfriendly and little run-down cabinets in the room, where ladies would break their fingernails when trying to open them. I always put post-it's on top of the magnet locker plate to make the doors less sticky. Good coffeeshops are next door, Vasco da Gama shopping centre gets you anything you need, including souvenirs and self catering. Taxi to the airport is between 6€ and 9€, train station nearby and the doca-like Expo shore is nice for strolling, drinks and food in a great athomsphere. Overall, I like the hotel, good value, but if I need WIFI, I go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranzKorbinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed one night after travelling back to Porto from the Algarve. Had an ocean view room on the 9th floor. Modern and clean. Service staff helpful to a point. Bed was comfortable and had a great bathtub. Right on the Expo lands for a nice walk on the waterfront.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank MariaVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The hotel is well located in the new area of the city around the expo and about 5 minutes from the metro station that will take you into the centre in about 15 minutes. Plenty of places to eat nearby and a shopping centre just a few minutes walk away. The hotel was clean and well equipped and the only complaint I have relates to the difficulty in ordering room service. After ringing the number about 5 times, then calling reception to place the order - they rang about an hour after I had initially tried to order and asked me to confirm the order saying it would take 10-15 minutes more at which point I told them not to bother. The hotel apologised and treated us to breakfast to compensate. Probably a one-off type of issue and all staff were pleasant - for the price it was decent value and I'll certainly look it up the next time I'm going there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramareste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Not only the look & Feel is old Fashion (but some could like it)
But they charge you 24€ for 24h of Internet .... and they do provide Wifi only at reception
In add their is 6 railways just behind with train all night long
A nightmare
I had 2 night and just resign after the first one
The place to avoid

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filip_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#85 of 254 in Lisbon
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#102 of 254 in Lisbon
3,726 reviews
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Arts Hotel

Address: Lt 1.17.02 Avenida Dom Joao II 18 | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-084, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £33 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel VIP Executive Arts is a modern 4 star hotel with 300 rooms (including 11 suites), which combines design, hospitality and a good quality service, in order to meet its guests needs of comfort and wellbeing. Featuring eight meeting rooms and a modern auditorium, the Hotel also offers a full range of restaurants and parking for over 500 cars. Hotel VIP Executive Arts is situated in the Parque das Nações quater, the new business centre of Lisbon. In a dynamic and modern urban centre, you can find, within walking distance of the hotel, the Congress Centre of Lisbon (FIL), a vast network of recreational services, as well as privileged access to Lisbon International Airport and an extensive transport network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Executive Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Executive Arts Lisbon
Vip Executive Arts Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing