We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value comfortable hotel”
Review of Turim Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turim Europa Hotel
Ranked #130 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed for a week during Rotary convention , comfortable quiet room , hotel in quiet location but near to good transport links.
Probably more three star than the rated four but very good value compared to other hotels of comparable price.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waterheating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is given a 4 star rating but I believe it is more like 3 star.
We had just two nights here and generally found it all we needed but NOT all we expected.
But the location, the cost, the convenience of local transport and the short distance to the airport are all in its favour. The bedroom was comfortable but "compact! but given that we were out all day exploring that was certainly no issue. Comments re the breakfast are varied from previous reviewers but we found the food to be MORE than adequate with a fine and wide choice of Continental style although it also included scrambled eggs and (local style) sausages. On both occasions we left the dining room feeling very satisfied and full. I don't think I would personally return to this hotel but it most certainly has much going for it....3* or 4*

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasg0wJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. 1st night we discovered the fridge was not working, the bath tub drain is blocked but it was 2AM so we decided to report to the reception in the following morning.
The reception helped us to change to another room (coz of the fridge) on the 2nd night and the bath tub is sort of blocked again, I guess it might be a common thing in this hotel, and the basin drain is blocked too. GOSH.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLeoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel didn't raise any special positive feelings, it was very basic.

Room was clean, bathroom was clean, the cleaning was done accurately every day. The room was quite basic and small. Bed was a trampoline so not the best. We had some issues with the air conditioner to adjust the temperature.

Staff of the place was ok. Didn't raise any feelings. They didn't speak anything extra, they just did their job but did it ok.

The location of the hotel was good. We were able to work to the city center but could also take a metro (several lines close).

The only thing that made me mad every day was the breakfast. We choose the hotel according that we would have the breakfast included to the price as need to eat well every morning. Many other people had thought the same.
Every morning it was a big huzzle: no plates, no glasses, no eggs, no bread, no seat to take. You just come angry when you were going to have a slow breakfast to start the day but you end up running for getting a plate etc... Not nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

To get from the airport to the hotel was easy and quick. With regards to the city centre it was only 10 minutes walking to all the hop on hop off buses that are available. Close to some very good local restaurants that are worth visiting. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff could not have been more friendly especially the barman. Unfortunately breakfast time was worse than a motorway café on a bad day. Not enough crockery and cutlery. Only one salt cellar in the restaurant.. You had to search for it. No staff managing the top up of the buffet so constantly running out of food and you had to wait until it one of the staff noticed. Total lack of management. Stock answer by the staff "one moment". Can only blame the management as staff running around like headless chickens.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanieRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

To get to the hotel from the airport was very easy, there are multiple options on how to get there we took the metro straight from the airport (aeroporto stop on the red line) and got off at Saldahna to switch the yellow line in the direction of Rato to get off at the next stop Picoas, then it's less than 5 minutes/300m to the hotel.

Look out for the building covered in large graffiti to know you are close! No need to change if you are fine with walking to the hotel from Saldahna, it's about 900m from the hotel. You could also get a 738 bus from the airport that stops very close to the hotel. With the metro it takes around 35-45 minutes and the bus takes around 30 minutes to get to the hotel.

Hotel itself, very quick check in and we were in our room within 10 minutes which was very welcomed being very late. Room was adequate for our needs, clean and safe and in a good area to get to the sights. This is a great hotel if you only need somewhere to sleep & rest etc. Room had a large bed, tv, hair dryer, fridge (not empty but enough spare room for a couple of your own drinks), magnified mirror. Bed was comfortable, too many pillows but too many rather than too little is better! They also have a small notice saying other amenities are available from reception.

Breakfast was good, selection of different meats, cheese & spreads, pastries, breads, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, traditional portugese cakes/tarts and some hot items. Not sure why most hotels use a watery squash and call it orange juice, one can hope this changes one day without having to stay in a plush 5* hotel.

Location wise I can't understand anyone's gripes with it being far, it took maybe 5/10 minutes by bus to get back to the hotel at the end of the day and it has a great amount of restaurants right nearby, do go to Costelao Gaucho, as you exit the hotel go straight ahead and it is 1 minute from the hotel, really can't miss it. For €12.50pp you get an abundance of 14 different barbecued meats & unlimited salads, starters & accompaniments. We also went to Sakura which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and does a all you can order buffet of sushi & other japanese items for €16.90pp. We seemed to realise that people in Lisbon have their dinner a little later, so if you are wondering if the restaurant is crap because it's empty, both these places were busy after 9pm.

As we were leaving on a very early flight the hotel was kind enough to arrange a taxi for us and a lunch box as we'd miss breakfast which was all adhered to on time which we were thankful for.

Only gripe with the hotel is the bar waiter, talk about grumpy pants. Not sure what his problem was, but I don't expect scowls when I ask for some ice or having full blown arguments on his mobile phone.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel & return if visiting Lisbon.

If you liked my review or tips, please click on the helpful review button below :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Reensx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We chosed this hotel for 8-day stay in Lisbon based on earlier reviews of this hotel. First of all, thestaff of the hotel is excellent. Very helpful, and trying to fulfill all your wishes. But the room we entered was relatively spacious but it was dark having only small window to patio direction. there were not enough lightning in the room. Soon we also found out that aircondition wasn't working. Bathroom door wasn't opening well because of bidee was behind the door. In batroom the ceiling looked suspicious and there was definitely moisture problem, possibly mold.

With AC we tried different settings but the room stayed very humid and warm. When we complained about this issue, there was a mechanic sent within couple of hours. Well, it didn't help. So, when telling the situation to the staff we got a new room. At the same time we complained about darkness. New room was much lighter and it was just above the main entrance. the room had also bigger bathroom. Well the AC didn't work either in this room, it was giving some error code. We didn' want to move again and also there was bigger window which could be opened so well that the room was possible to ventilate. There was free WiFi, but it was very slow and wasn't working very well at least in our room.

Daily cleaning was done in late afternoon and it was done very well. All the interiors were nice and in good condition. Bed was also good.

Otherwise the hotel location was quite ok, I wouldn't say excellent, about one kilometer to M.Pombal and Saldanha, nearest metro station was within 500m. There were several nice restaurants nearby. Also supermarket was within reasonable distance.

The breakfast was really good, fresh fruit salad, bacon and scrambled eggs served daily, altough the coffee was quite terrible. There were a lot of staff and they were very friendly and effective. The bar was quite nice but very expensive.

I would check in advance the aircondition in the middle of summer.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vesku S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.8 mi away
Turim Iberia Hotel
Turim Iberia Hotel
#139 of 255 in Lisbon
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turim Saldanha Hotel
Turim Saldanha Hotel
#70 of 255 in Lisbon
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turim Alameda Hotel
Turim Alameda Hotel
#174 of 255 in Lisbon
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Turim Lisboa Hotel
Turim Lisboa Hotel
#142 of 255 in Lisbon
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#127 of 255 in Lisbon
1,334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Europa Hotel

Address: Rua Sao Sebastiao da Pedreira 17 19, Lisbon 1050-206, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#97 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £47 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turim Europa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Turim Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turim Europa Lisbon
Hotel Turim Europa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing