We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location and service you get in Lisbon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #17 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best location and service you get in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Bairro Alto Hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. The location is suberb - Praca Luis de Camoes is located a couple of blocks from Cafe A Brasileira and Chiado neighborhood (lots of restaurants and clubs you can enjoy).
The breakfast and rooms are really perfect - I really recommend it if you can afford a little bit pricey rate since it worth every penny.
They have an incredible bar at the terrace - you have to go there, have a drink and enjoy the beatiful view if the Rio Tejo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAlegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    269
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
152
644
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

I spent only 2 nights in this hotel but this was such a beautiful experience. The terace put you directly in the feeling you are cruising Lisbon in a luxury boat. Not only the service at any place of the hotel is a mix of high efficiency and friendly attitude, but I cannot imagine the standard of this hotel can deceive anybody who is sensible to good and inventive food at the flores restaurant, to the frienship of the barman at the lounge (and of each person working at the hotel), or to so many complex details everywhere you go that will let you understand that nothing is ignored to let you feel as well as you can be. I warmly and highly recommend this hotel not only for the place itself but for the wonderful team working there. Many thanks for this. Many thanks to the team.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

The Bairro Alto was a perfect choice for my partner and I. We spent a week and would highly recommend this hotel. The service was great and the entire staff, especially Paulo at the front desk, were friendly and helpful. The hotel's location could not be better. Really centrally located and extremely convenient. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Our only complaint would be the 20€ charge per day for wifi. A hotel of this stature should provide wifi without such a high fee.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyackduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We satyed one night in this hotel and it allowed us to have the true touristic experience in Lisbon since it is located right in Praça Luís de Camões, one of the most emblematic touritic spots in Lisbon. The staff was very polite and friendly and the rooms are beautifuly decorated. Since it is a boutique hotel it has a very cozy environment. The view in the terrace is absolutly stunning. It has great restaurants nearby. Ask the hotel for their recommendations and they will do the reservation for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiAgRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Very good location and a very nice hotel, great breakfast and really excellent staff who have good restaurant recommendations. Very nice top level bar area with fantastic views. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fafe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Good hotel, loud AC, good breakfast, awesome location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ze_miguel_mendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco di Baviera
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We were in Lisbon for 4 days. I have booked a relaxe package. It was included: one dinner, two massages and the transfer from the airport to the hotel and back. Service was really nice. We enjoyed the dinner. My husband doesn´t like massages, so I took both massages. I really loved them!!!!! The view from the 6th floor is really exciting. I suggest evryone to go up there and have a drink on the terrace. We spent a lot of time there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momaMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing