We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bairro Alto Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Reviews (1,417)
    Filter reviews
    1,417 results
    Traveller rating
    1,011
    321
    60
    16
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,011
    321
    60
    16
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrooftop barbairro altocamoes squareleading hotels of the worldboutique hotelbusy squareoverlooking the squareperfect locationhotel guestssuperior roomoutstanding hotelrooms are smallbars and restaurantstagus rivertop floora wonderful staybreakfast was delicious
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    853 - 858 of 1,417 reviews
    Reviewed 25 April 2011

    Other folk have said it all on location - easy walking to the Bairro Alto restaurants (altough the hotel's food is great too), to shopping, trams and the metro (get yourself a Lisbon Card to get about with). The service was really friendly and helpful. Quibbles? Well the room was a bit on the small side (but beautifully furnished) and it isn't cheap but for a first timer in Lisbon, I'd say never mind the expense give yourself a real haven where you can collapse after a hectic day's sight seeing or whatever. (The terrace bar with its views across the Tagus river is perfect for this but does get crowded.

    • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JohnWully
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 April 2011

    The hotel is very centrally located with key tourist tram lines running right in front of it. It's easy to walk places from it - the location really is excellent. The buffet breakfasts were good enough, and service was very polite and efficient. The room was comfortable enough and the bathroom was a very good size, with nice amenities. The most memorable thing about the hotel though was the rooftop bar with amazing views over Lisbon, some excellent light meals and a really relaxed, cool vibe. It was the highlight of our stay. Can also highly recommend the masseuse the hotel called in - she was excellent and came in at short notice.

    Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    Thank HotelEnthusiast09
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 April 2011

    the hotel is very well situated and is close to all day time sights and night time activities. the rooms are very comfortable, showers are fantastic and the staff are very helpful. my only negative comment would be in relation to the charge for internet access. i think it is unreasonable for any hotel, never mind a 5 star, to charge guests for access to the internet.

    • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Anne-MarieC1971
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 March 2011

    We loved this hotel! The service was absolutely wonderful. The concierge was so friendly and helpful; truly, the entire staff was friendly, helpful and polite. The terrace is gorgeous, though it does fill quickly, often with people not staying in the hotel.

    We traveled with our young daughter and the hotel provided babysitting. Usually I'm a little apprehensive about leaving my child with a stranger, but the concierge (several of them, in fact) said that I had nothing to worry about, that Fatima was wonderful. And she was wonderful; we felt very comfortable with her.

    The location cannot be beat, the room and bath were immaculate and the breakfast was delicious. Staying in this hotel really made our trip.

    • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 333eloise
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 March 2011

    This is a great hotel. Well situated for traveling on trains, trams or by taxi. Surrounded by good restaurants. We found the hotel staff very helpful, efficient and friendly. Would certainly stay here again.

    • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Vjskel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews