We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bairro Alto Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
1,011
321
60
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
321
60
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbairro altocamoes squareleading hotels of the worldboutique hotelbusy squareoverlooking the squareperfect locationhotel guestssuperior roomoutstanding hotelrooms are smallbars and restaurantstagus rivertop floora wonderful staybreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
804 - 809 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel but visited the rooftop bar on a number of occasions, amazing views, shade from the sun & good caipirhinas!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingmcmillans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Newly renovated boutique hotel ideally located for the Bairro nighlife, the Chiado shopping heaven and those wonderful trams that can take you to the Castle and Alfama district. Helpful and enthusiastic young staff who dont get this attentive by chance; there's a brilliant organisation behind the facade. Superb basement bar. Lively and distinctive. Outstanding top floor terrace bar with breathtaking views over the harbour & River Tagus. Breakfast on the ground floor is personal and high quality. The bedroom has all the modern features you need with superb triple glazzing so the noise of the city never enters. Next time back in Lisbon we wont waste time looking around for where to stay. Its the Bairro Hotel for sure

Room Tip: Side street in preference to main square
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crosshousemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Crosshousemeadow,

Feedback like yours makes us all feel very fortunate to work in such a great hotel, great city and great country! Thank you for being so kind. It is quite easier, and could not call it "work" to welcome visitors like you.

On behalf of my entire team and miself: thank you.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme and Bairro Alto Hotel's team.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed two nights in March of 2012 th my 15 year old. Although the hotel common areas are nicely appointed; our room was so small as to be oppressive. I booked on-line through the hotel website before my trip. The full charge was processed to my credit card more than 10 days before arrival. I booked a mid priced room; not a suite, not the cheapest category. Room was so tight that a second suitcase could not be opened anywhere except on the floor or the bed, which then had to be closed and moved if you needed to move around on the room. No closet in the room; an armoire that served as shelf, closet, safe, rod for a few garments. Bathroom even smaller...shower curtain sticks to you when showering. Fan/air vent ran loudly and constantly-had to keep bathroom door closed. Front desk could not accommodate our request for a room change or the fan shut off. I did not find the accommodations those of an upscale boutique hotel. Bottom line: for my money, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBH603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear MBH603,

First of all let me thank you for sharing your feedback and your concerns.

We truly believe it will help us to grow and ultimately and in time, to improve hotel facilities, quality of service and attitude.

All in all we are sad with your comments and ofcourse we are sorry for your disapointment, as it is also our disapointment, namely with the size of your bedroom, besides this information is totally available in our website, it was not as you expected and we could have make it clear.

Please be informed that regarding the early charge on your credit card, it was due to an "Advance Purchase" type of rate you got from us and agreed with us.

Other issues are being properly addressed. Some of them with easy solutions.

Sorry once again for your insatisfaction. We are happy you have found alternative accommodations in this marvellous city.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have been wanting to travel to Portugal for years. I went with my 19 year old son who is living in Paris for a week's trip. The Bairro Alto Hotel was wonderful. The staff were polite and extremely helpful, and rooms are comfortable and well positioned; each with an individual design. The roof terrace is perfect for a drink or coffee, just to admire the view. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would avoid facing the square as it can become quite noisy, especially between thursday and sunday.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidgaguinesaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Mr. Davidgaguinesaul,

Thank you for your preference and for recommending the Bairro Alto Hotel to the tripadvisor community.

We are very happy we had positively contributed for a great family trip. Specially when you live so far away from Portugal and from your son.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great location. We look forward to our return to Lisbon at which time we will certainly stay at the Bairro Alto Hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have balcony which add to the ambiance of space.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilemma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Lilemma11,

Thank for having post your great feedback. We are also hoping to welcome you once again in Lisbon.

Thank you specially for the room tip !

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews