We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fine hotel”
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #18 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Wayland MA, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very fine hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a not-cheap hotel, modern and comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff. My room looked out on a busy praça but the double-glazed windows made it a quite stay. Wired internet with an option to pay for wireless. Minor problems: during my stay the hot water fluctuated (a notice sent to the rooms said it would be fixed soon) and an elevator was out, but there was another... Very friedly staff. Excellent location with a #28 tram stop almost in front and a connection to the metro that is in the lower part of town without having to walk all the way down or up hill.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Mr. Jim H,

Thank you for your great feedback and comments.

The issues you experienced regarding water supply were also mentioned by other guests in tripadvisor. Thank you for finding and referring those "as minor problems". We have taken the appropriate decisions so we would never experience that situation again.

Kind regards,

Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    282
    54
    13
    8
See reviews for
167
694
83
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilbarchan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Came for 3 nights on a business trip. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, setting is excellent, and the terrace bar a great place to relax. I had a 3rd floor room overlooking the Luís de Camoes Square; the room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, and quiet due to the double glazed floor to ceiling windows. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Mrs. Lindsay E,

We hope it was the very first fo many visits to Lisbon or Portugal.
We thank you a lot for your preference and great feedback.

Thank you for the room tip and for the review regarding the hotel's Rooftop terrace Bar!
Now, during Spring, the view on Lisbon and the tiver Tagus is even greater!

Kind regards,

Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just came back from 6 nights at this hotel. The front desk and service staff was among the best we have experienced from luxury hotels around the world. The rooms are small and some are dark but very clean, modern and with some charm. Small bathroom but well equipped. I would not call the hotel luxurious just very nice and well located.

Room Tip: Ask for a lighter colored room. The rooms painted dark seem much smaller and depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbaraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear JCCGW,

Hello from Lisbon.

I've passed your review onto my staff. They are indeed very proud about your great feedback by referring their service as the very best you have experienced.

We do hope next time you can try our great Deluxe, Prestige or Suites. As I'm sure you could think somewhat different regarding our bedrooms...Being an historical building, size, shape, decor and "atmosphere" do change from bedroom to bedroom.

Kind regards to Washington.
All the best to you.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on a Relax package with my best friend. Breakfast was included as were our transfers from the airport. We also had a free massage each (1 hour) which was wonderful. Also a free evening meal - everything was included - aperitif, 3 courses and all the wine you could drink. Food was very good.
The staff were wonderful - very attentive and very friendly - always joking.
The rooftop bar was a real bonus - fab views and the food is very good especially the salads for lunch. We were told it is the 4th best rooftop bar in the world for views.
We were upgraded to a better room and, yes, it can be a bit noisy in the evenings because the square is very popular as a meeting place. We didn't really mind as we were so central for all the things to see.
Breakfast is excellent and you can order eggs cooked any which way, although they don't tell you that!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lullabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Mrs. Lullabella,

Thank you once again for your preference on a 5 night stay stay.
We do appreciate your great comments and it makes all of us very proud.

Thank you for your comments also on Lisbon's attractions (I also find Pavilhao Chines weird, wacky, but a really wonderful place).

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme - General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel but visited the rooftop bar on a number of occasions, amazing views, shade from the sun & good caipirhinas!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingmcmillans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Newly renovated boutique hotel ideally located for the Bairro nighlife, the Chiado shopping heaven and those wonderful trams that can take you to the Castle and Alfama district. Helpful and enthusiastic young staff who dont get this attentive by chance; there's a brilliant organisation behind the facade. Superb basement bar. Lively and distinctive. Outstanding top floor terrace bar with breathtaking views over the harbour & River Tagus. Breakfast on the ground floor is personal and high quality. The bedroom has all the modern features you need with superb triple glazzing so the noise of the city never enters. Next time back in Lisbon we wont waste time looking around for where to stay. Its the Bairro Hotel for sure

Room Tip: Side street in preference to main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crosshousemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Crosshousemeadow,

Feedback like yours makes us all feel very fortunate to work in such a great hotel, great city and great country! Thank you for being so kind. It is quite easier, and could not call it "work" to welcome visitors like you.

On behalf of my entire team and miself: thank you.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme and Bairro Alto Hotel's team.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed two nights in March of 2012 th my 15 year old. Although the hotel common areas are nicely appointed; our room was so small as to be oppressive. I booked on-line through the hotel website before my trip. The full charge was processed to my credit card more than 10 days before arrival. I booked a mid priced room; not a suite, not the cheapest category. Room was so tight that a second suitcase could not be opened anywhere except on the floor or the bed, which then had to be closed and moved if you needed to move around on the room. No closet in the room; an armoire that served as shelf, closet, safe, rod for a few garments. Bathroom even smaller...shower curtain sticks to you when showering. Fan/air vent ran loudly and constantly-had to keep bathroom door closed. Front desk could not accommodate our request for a room change or the fan shut off. I did not find the accommodations those of an upscale boutique hotel. Bottom line: for my money, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBH603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear MBH603,

First of all let me thank you for sharing your feedback and your concerns.

We truly believe it will help us to grow and ultimately and in time, to improve hotel facilities, quality of service and attitude.

All in all we are sad with your comments and ofcourse we are sorry for your disapointment, as it is also our disapointment, namely with the size of your bedroom, besides this information is totally available in our website, it was not as you expected and we could have make it clear.

Please be informed that regarding the early charge on your credit card, it was due to an "Advance Purchase" type of rate you got from us and agreed with us.

Other issues are being properly addressed. Some of them with easy solutions.

Sorry once again for your insatisfaction. We are happy you have found alternative accommodations in this marvellous city.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,657 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
1,015 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing