We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Ambience”
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #22 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Having stayed at the Heritage Avenida Liberade last month, I kept comparing this hotel to my stay at the Heritage, which I absolutely loved (and reviewed).

Positives about the Bairro Alto Hotel:
1. Location is fantastic -- Right at the crossroads of Chiado, Bairro Alto and Baixa. You can walk to every place -- even Principe Real, which I highly recommend (though that walk is all uphill).

2. Rooftop terrace has a fantastic view and the drinks/wines are excellent -- though you pay a higher price for being there. It also gets very busy, and hotel guests don't get any preference.

3. Breakfast is included and excellent -- juices, coffee, baked goods, yogurt, cheese, cereals, meats, eggs -- really fantastic!

4. Amenities in the room are great -- from I-Pod docking station to bathroom products.

5. Decor and ambience have a really glam and luxury feel.

6. Staff are very friendly.

Two things that I was particularly disappointed about with this property were:

1. The bed was not comfortable. For the price one pays, they need to have better beds. AND a queen bed is not two single beds joined together!

2. While the staff are really friendly and helpful, as a third-time visitor to Lisbon, I was quite surprised at the limited knowledge about restaurants, independent boutique shops, timings for popular venues and so forth that they had. I found myself often telling them about places I felt they should have known about...some right around the corner from the hotel.

In terms of the type of room I had, it was a Mansard Room, which was perfect as I was by myself. It might be on the small side for two people, unless you don't mind "cosy."

Final word, stay here if you can get an advance booking special or a promotional rate. Otherwise, I don't think it is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel is the diamond of the city! In the heart of Lisbon this 5* hotel is close to perfection!
Great atmosphere, one of the world's most beautiful terrace, a bar I wish I could have!
The rooms are small but extremely pretty and there is a great sense attached to details.
Despite being in the heart of the vibrant city the rooms are VERY quiet.

I also HIGHLY recommend the restaurant Flores and particularly the Sardines for starter!

Just go for it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malvina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed at the Bairro Alto for 3 nights on a girls trip to Lisbon. The location can't be beat! Right in the heart of shopping and restaurants/bars. And an easy train ride/walking distance to almost everything else. The hotel staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and quick to offer suggestions.

The bar at top is a must. The view is to die for. We sat up there for hours drinking wine and enjoying some light apps. The place is very tiny and open to people not staying at the hotel so you need to get up there before 5ish in order to not have to wait for a table. The first night we were there we couldn't get a table so we ended up walking to a great little wine/tapas bar around the corner called Fabulas, which I would recommend if you find yourself in the same situation.

The breakfast in the morning was great. They had a nice variety and would make you something else if you wanted.

The only issue we had was our shower didn't drain properly so there was a mini bathroom flood on our first night there. They were able to fix it the next day, but it would have been nice had they caught it prior to us arriving as we had to forgo showers that night and the next morning. Also I believe it is a little overpriced for what it is.... but I suppose you are paying for the location more than anything else.

Overall, I would stay here again (if I was feeling rich) and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Kristin C,

The Staff of the Bairro Alto Hotel thanks you for your review. We hope you and your friends will visit us again in a near future.

Thank you for your preference.
Have a great Summer.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We thought nothing could exceed our wonderful experiences in Portugal - until we stayed at this hotel. The staff was phenomenal, the room truly a 5 star, the location perfect. We ended our three weeks at this hotel and it was a perfect closing that was memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear NYC - Chicago,

We are all truly happy we have contributed quite positively to those memorable times you passed in your 3 week trip to Portugal!

"Memorable" is indeed a great word we like to see often used by our guests/friends. Thank you.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but the Terrace bar is superb. Great views over the rooftops and river, very attentive service and good food and cocktails. We went for a salad and a glass of wine and stayed for 4 hours! It's not huge so book if you can (we didn't), or be prepared to wait for one of the tables along the edge. I imagine it's lovely in the evening as well.

My girlfriend said, "this is perfect. Don't tell everyone", so consider this a public service...

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick21Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Nick21Brussels,

Greetings from Lisboa!

Thank you so much for your "public service". On behalf of the Bairro Alto Hotel team and specially the Terrace team, I thank you for your very positive remarks. I'm going to make sure they all read your review.

Next time I'm sure you will stay for more than 4 hours and eventually watch the sundown which even for me, being a "local", it is still a great joy and peace of mind to experience.

For other tripadvisor readers: we actually do not accept reservations for that outlet. First come, first served basis.

Have a great summer.
Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very nice personnel. People are so very nice in general in Lisbon.
Rooms a bit small given the old, albeit nicely remodeled, building.
Great view from the terrace bar- nice mojitos. Good luck finding a spot if you don't make it before 8pm.
Restaurant food also good.
Great location.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank YvonneR492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Yvonne R,

Greetings from Lisboa.
Thank you for your review and for having contributed to share comments and with other travellers, namely the tripadvisor community.

For other travellers: please be informed we do have 6 type of bedroom categories in total, from smaller to larger bedrooms, as the Bairro Alto Hotel was a former early XIX century building converted into a modern boutique hotel....some bedrooms are available with connecting doors - for families with children.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We just returned from Lisbon and we loved the Bairro Alto Hotel. The staff was so friendly, the rooms very spacious (Priviledge Room), great location and lovely rooft op terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKW-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear MKW - AZ,

On behalf of the Bairro Alto Hotel team, I send you the very best regards to Tuscson - Arizona.

Thank you for sharing your comments and essentialy your suggestion regarding the bedroom. In fact the "Prestige" bedroom is one of the best rooms we have. It is a corner bedroom, spacious and facing the great "Luis de Camões" Square. The neighbour square is the meeting point in Lisbon for locals and for anyone wanting to experience the best of Lisbon.

This square is an homage to Portugal's greatest poet which lived in the XVI century. I'm suspicious but I would put him side by side with W. Shakespeare.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,931 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Convento do Salvador
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £36 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing