We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay when in Lisbon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #17 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best place to stay when in Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Cannot compliment this hotel enough.
1) Location - right smack in the centre of Bairro Alto area of Lisbon so you can easily walk to everything. Eat, drink, shop, sight-see all within steps of the hotel. Also, located in a lively area but hotel and rooms remain quiet and peaceful.

2) Service - Nuno was extremely friendly and helpful and made sure we were well looked after! Hugo helped us with making reservations the providing general information. The whole front desk staff were great.

3) Quality - It's not super luxury but it's what you would expect from Leading Hotels, clean, reliable, and comfortable.

I would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: Booked off the LHW website, so check for packages or deals. Hotel was fully booked so we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear ukcurtisnish,

Greetings from Lisbon, Bairro Alto.
Thank you for your very honest review. I made sure all the staff saw it, so we all know we are on the right path.

Looking forward to welcome you in Lisbon again...for sure you have not seen everything this hip city can offer you!!

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
Bairro Alto Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    269
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
152
644
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week on vacation. I don’t hesitate to recommend this hotel. Yes, as some reviewers have suggested, by most international standards, this is probably closer to a 4- than a 5-star hotel, but one of the very best in Lisbon and a member of The Leading Hotels of the World. The bathroom has been modernized and the room overall was quite clean and pleasant. As some have noted, the mattress is very firm (not unusual in Europe), but be prepared. If I find myself spending a lot of time in my room rather than wandering around the city, I’m doing something wrong. What it may lack in terms of the most posh décor, it more than makes up for in excellent service and location.

The hotel is very easy to access from the airport. Just take the only line that terminates within the airport (Red) and take it 9 stops to Alameda. Transfer to the Green Line and take it 6 stops to Baixa/Chaido. You can do all this for a mere EUR 1.25. I recommend buying the refillable “zapping” card for an additional EUR 0.50. It also works on all the trams, buses and commuter trains. Exit nearest the plaza Largo Camoes, walk less than 100 yards/meters toward the square with the statue and the hotel is across the street on the left. It is in the popular club, bar and restaurant neighborhood of Bairro Alto and adjacent to the upscale shopping district of Chiado. Proximity to the Metro and the tram, makes exploring Lisbon a breeze - we never even used a taxi. Modern, tightly-sealed double sets of windows with insulated glass shielded us from the night life – well, all except the loudest of Celtic football fans.

It would be difficult to find a friendlier, more enthusiastic staff anywhere. Most of the staff were young, but that didn’t mean inexperienced. They helped us on numerous occasions with directions, reservations and suggestions. And, they were always quick to help with a door or bags. They were, without exception, friendly, patient and professional. Language was not a problem – they are very proficient at many. The same was true of the bar staff. The hotel offers a non-smoking quiet upstairs level with sofas, TV and reading lights and a livelier downstairs level with a fairly restrained DJ. Weather permitting, I highly recommend the 6th floor roof terrace for great views and drinks. The Portuguese wine is inexpensive and delicious.

A newspaper of my choice was delivered to my door daily (even the weekend edition). My only complaint is that while plugging into the internet with a cord is free, WiFi costs EUR 5 for an hour and several times that for the day. Since I was traveling with only my iPad, plugging in was a problem.

We booked a room with breakfast included. Breakfast was quite good. And, if you ask, they’ll custom cook your eggs poached, fried or in an omelet in case you prefer that to the scrambled eggs in the steamer tray. Even those were fresh and nice. The same room becomes the Flores restaurant for dinner. While I normally avoid hotel restaurants, this one was outstanding (reviewed separately). It serves what I’d describe as International style cuisine rather than emphasizing Portuguese food. Prices were moderate by hotel restaurant standards.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Equities4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Equities4me,

Wow! Thank you for your kindness towards Bairro Alto Hotel's team and the service we struggle to deliver to our guests and friends.

I'm also sure your tip's will be appreciated by other travellers.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
Bairro Alto Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable, happy, and enjoying every moment of Lisbon. As world travelers, to this day we talk about the attentive service and fabulous decor at Bairro Alto. The roof terrace was a dream, the room was spacious and elegant, the dining chic and delicious. Only complaint would be the lack of free WI-FI that we have come to expect at hotels of this caliber. Luckily the friendly front desk agents waived the fee for us. Over all, a magical experience in such a great city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear cbroundtheworld,

Thank you for your review.
The title you gave is short but it is what we seek, every day!

Kind Regards from you the Bairro Alto Hotel's team.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager
Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and it was one of the friendliest and happy places we have ever stayed in. The Terrace Bar was a lovely place to have sundowners, or a light meal, after a busy day of sightseeing and the Restaurant was great for breakfast and dining at night. The service was excellent and the food was superb and the rooms were very clean compfortable and well appointed. We were made to feel special and we like that!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear RKROB,

Thank you for your kind commentaire.
On behalf of the Bairro Alto Hotel team, I wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Travelled to Lisbon on business and stayed at this hotel. The office had booked a suite which was spacious, well-designed and featured tall corner windows overlooking Camoes Square. It had a separate sitting room which could be closed off. The bathrooms were well-proportioned, with good water pressure and nice amenities. This was one of the nicest accommodations i have stayed in and i would definitely return and request the same room. Breakfast featured a very good selection of breads and pastries, hot dishes and real fresh juices and the service was also very good. . At night the breakfast area becomes their restaurant, Flores, where i dined on my last night was one of the best food i had in Lisbon. Service was friendly and professional. The waiter urged me to try a glass of port with chocolate pralines to end my meal and it proved to be a great recommendation. What really set the Bairro Alto Hotel apart was the staff. I have no hesitation in suggesting this hotel to other fellow travellers

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear DelhiGlobeTrotter,

For sure you have picked one of the best Suites in Portugal!!
Thank you for sharing this with the tripadvisor community.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Staff perfeito!!!..em tudo!..honesto, com muita simpatia e carisma! Parabéns a toda a equipe!!! A localização para mim é a melhor!!! Adorei tudo!!!!

Staff perfect!! .. Everything! .. Honest, with great sympathy and charisma! Congratulations to the team!!
The location is the best for me!!
I loved everything!!
Saudades...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Google Translation
Prezada Andreia M,

Partilhei com todo o staff o seu comentário.
Muito Obrigado pelo seu carinho e simpatia para com o seu Bairro Alto Hotel.

Os melhores cumprimentos para Curitiba.
Jorge Cosme
Gerente Geral - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I don't typically comment on hotel experiences. This hotel is, as other travelers have mentioned, in a great location with very comfortable rooms. However, the distinguishing feature of this hotel is the excellent service they deliver at every step: Excellent reception, excellent and invisible housekeeping, wonderful breakfast, terrific restaurant for dinner and relaxing rooftop terrace, courtesy at every step. I cannot think of anything they could have delivered better. We felt welcomed and embraced. The service received here was exceptional.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the square are bright and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole6860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Carole6860,

We all feel very happy with your GREAT feedback.
Thank you for mentioning the majority of all the teams envolved, namely housekeeping, wich stay often in the shadow of other teams much more "visible".

We hope we can welcome you in this lovely city once again, your Lisbon.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme
General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing