We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect central location, surprisingly nice room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #16 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect central location, surprisingly nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I'd been expecting to be underwhelmed by the size of our room, based on reviews here, but our superior room was actually a fine size for our four-night stay, plus it was nicely decorated and extremely clean. The room was surprisingly and blissfully quiet given the hotel's location right on the busy square (we actually faced the side street Flores ). The bathroom was large and featured beautiful yellow marble. There should have been more bathroom storage space, however.

The hotel's location is outstanding, especially if you plan on spending time in Bairro Alto and/or Chiado, which are pretty central for most tourists. Service was great, and the front-desk guys were jovial and fun. We used the ground-floor restaurant for breakfast only, which was fine but nothing spectacular. Didn't make it to the rooftop bar. The ground-floor bar has an odd split-level layout (which resulted in a bartender assuring us that he'd bring drinks to us upstairs and then forgetting us for a half-hour).

There were a handful of other minor service hiccups, plus the lobby is quite small and the check-in desk is tucked back in a corner hallway. But those are minor issues. We'd definitely stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denver_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    268
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
152
642
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Örebro
Level Contributor
256 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Go up to the roof terrass on this hotel and you get a great wiew over Lissabon and the harbor. Nice place to take a coffe or a drink. Even good food. Open from 12.30. The facilitys of the hotel is great. Even the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokkaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for a weekend in October and enjoyed the proximity to Lisbon's best stores, restaurants and some of the better sights as well. The hotel staff was extremely gracious and tried to help whenever they could. They upgraded us from the standard queen to a superior which was very nice. The room was a nice size and had a bit of a view of the river. The gym was only OK but you don't expect much from a boutique hotel. The bar on the rooftop was also really cool and quite popular. Our one major complaint is that the hotel was very noisy. I am not talking about outside noise as we understand we are in a party neighborhood. Internally there were doors constantly slamming and things rattling that woke us. We think this may have been because we were next to the service room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the three nights that we stayed here. The rooms have everything you need. Our room had a large bathroom which included a lovely free standing bath. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which was good and the breakfast each morning was lovely. Plenty of options and enough to keep you going for many hours. The hotel itself is in a great location. Funky bar downstairs, scenic rooftop bar upstairs, narrow winding streets and a couple of lovely churches right across the square. All of this is complemented by great staff. They were all really friendly and helpful. Vidal and Paulo were particularly great and we were happy to take up Vidal's recommendations for local pastries in Sitria. All and all we would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPhilipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Bairro Alto for 5 days. Our superior room was very comfortable; though small, it had all facilities. Hotels in the centres of cities are often noisy, but although our room overlooked a busy street the double glazing was extremely efficient at keeping out the noise.

Many of the sights are within walking distance, but the No 28 tram, which winds a scenic route through the centre and past the cathedral, stops a few yards from the hotel entrance; otherwise the staff will hail you a taxi.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food, and freshly squeezed orange juice. We didn't otherwise eat in the restaurant as we went out each evening but we did try the rooftop bar, which is very popular and has a fantastic view down to the river Tagus.

The staff were friendly, happy and helpful. All in all this is an excellent hotel from which to explore one of Europe's lesser-known capital cities. The only small quibble is internet access; it's free from the business centre (only one terminal) but room access is charged for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placida, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a boutique hotel in the best location in Lisbon I can think of. Our views were of a lovely square with a statue and a view of Tram 28. The rooms have high ceilings and very nice amenities. Beautiful open terrace on the roof (when weather permits), wonderful view of the entire city. The service is spot on - always ready to be accommodating. Breakfast was very nice. And if you book through a Virtuoso travel agent, you have some wonderful perks. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lisbon - close to wonderful shops, restaurants and walking distance to the water.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiteeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed there for 5 days and enjoyed very much. Hotel is in perfect location in the middle of Bairro Alto – few minutes’ walk from some of the best Lisbon restaurants, sightseeing spots (Santa Justa, Restauradores, Chiado ...) and the famous tram 28 stops just in front. Excellent breakfast, nice rooms, but most of all is the hotel staff that makes difference - all of them, without exception, are really friendly and helpful and made our stay memorable.
I maybe expected a bit larger room for the price (but the hotel was fully booked so probably the price was right). Anyway, next time in Lisbon I will for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: we asked for the room with the view on Praca Luis de Camoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agabr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing